We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pumphouse

€€ - €€€, British,
Pump House Quay | Maritime Quarter, Swansea SA1 1TT, Wales
+44 1792 651080
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent27%
  • Very good21%
  • Average17%
  • Poor16%
  • Terrible19%
Travellers talk about
“ribs” (5 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Grill, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Pump House Quay | Maritime Quarter, Swansea SA1 1TT, Wales
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (417)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 411 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Today I visited the pumphouse for both food and drink, the weather was lovely so we decided to sit outside in the lovely outside area. We visited in the afternoon and the establishment was very busy. Despite the busyness of the restaurant we were still...More

Thank Angela1456
Pumphouse S, Manager at Pumphouse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review, look forward to seeing you again.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stopped in for a drink and something to eat on Saturday 7th October. One of us has to eat gluten free so ordered the gf soup and was offered a bread roll which he was twice assured was also gf. It was such a...More

Thank Nicola P
Pumphouse S, Manager at Pumphouse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review, we are really sorry for the confusion with the bread, we had a new menu on the 4th October which meant new allergens data sheets staff are just getting their heads around them and not yet fully understanding them. We...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

I ordered a vegetarian meal for my wife, along with a ginger beer and lime. Also ordered food and drink for myself. The barman said we only have a certain ginger beer available, and failed to mention that it contains alcohol, which I only realised...More

Thank MinkySpinky
Pumphouse S, Manager at Pumphouse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Doctor A Robertshaw, Firstly I would like to thank you for review, email and Facebook post. I can assure you once I was made aware of the situation the staff member in question was spoken to and we have organised additional training in order...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited the Pumphouse on Wednesday and was delighted to be told that there was a new menu that had just be launched that day. I have always had a great experience at the Pumphouse but was now even more excited to try the new menu....More

Thank Joshua H
Pumphouse S, Manager at Pumphouse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review, amazing detail and information I will be passing your comments on to the team which will be well received. Thanks Mike

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

It was a quiet Sunday night. We ordered some drinks and food at the bar. For starters, the blanchbait were clumped together. The chicken wings were ok. We had chili enchilada and chilli bean burger as mains. The chilli enchilada was hard. The bean burger...More

Thank MummyYap
Pumphouse S, Manager at Pumphouse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review sorry to hear about the pour quality food you received and the customer service you received, we will be fully discussing the issues raised with both department and making sure things will be rectified. We did have a new menu...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visited for lunch with my wife and a family friend. Ordered drinks at the bar, and subsequently ordered our meals. After almost half an hour we enquired from a member of staff when our meals would be served? Within a couple of minutes they we...More

Thank MillfieldPobble
Pumphouse S, Manager at Pumphouse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review sorry about the pour quality of food you received, we have spoken to the kitchen about the quality and hopefully it has been resolved. We also changed the menu on the 4th October which has seen a change to the...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Interesting location on the edge of the harbour to sit outside on a sunny afternoon. Fantastic selection of Gin served with great attention to detail. Although it was probably the most expensive g&t I've ever had!More

Thank Catherine B
Pumphouse S, Manager at Pumphouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review lovely to see you like the location, sorry about the price of the G&T as a manager it is out of my control on the pricing but I will pass you expressions on to Head office. Again I thank you...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Visited this place for the second time, thinking the poor service was a one off originally. The second visit wasn't any better if anything was worse ! We paid for extra sides that came inconsistent, we asked for condiments that came without a serving spoon...More

Thank Comet1073
Pumphouse S, Manager at Pumphouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review sorry it was not a good experience with us at the Pump House, we always listen and take feed back on board s0 we can train and improve the customer experience and with your comments I will be addressing the...More

Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile

Attended with my daughter for lunch. Both ordered the gammon which were ok albeit over cooked, as were the poached eggs I ordered. The tables had not been cleaned since the previous diners. One positive was a very professional and welcoming barman who apologised when...More

Thank Alun L
Pumphouse S, Manager at Pumphouse, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Thank you for your review, really sorry to hear it was not the best experience you received at the Pump House, I will discus your issues with the relevant departments in my team to hopefully stop these type of things happen again. If you need...More

Reviewed 28 August 2017 via mobile

Came here on bank holiday Monday for a lunch with friends. Placed our orders at the same time and was told there would be an hours wait and in fairness it came within 40 minutes. However service timing was awful, 2 of my friends had...More

Thank Zoe J
Pumphouse S, Manager at Pumphouse, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Thank you for your review. We are sorry that your experience with us was not up to the standards we like to deliver here at The Pump House. We have taken on board all the points made and immediate action is taking place in order...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Gigi Gao's Favourite Authentic Chinese
530 reviews
.18 km away
Jamaican Jills
257 reviews
.24 km away
The Smoke Haus
693 reviews
.30 km away
Ocean Oriental Cuisine
95 reviews
.28 km away
Nearby Attractions
Oxwich Bay
771 reviews
.31 km away
The LC
1,250 reviews
.23 km away
National Waterfront Museum
423 reviews
.15 km away
Swansea Museum
165 reviews
.22 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
mandanorman
17 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Pumphouse S | Property representative |
Bar: Monday - Thursday 11:30 - 23:00 Bar: Friday - Saturday 11:30 - 00:00 Bar: Sunday 11:30 - 22:00 Kitchen: Monday - Saturday 12:00 - 22:00 Kitchen: Sunday 12:00 - 21:00
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$7 - US$28
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Grill, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Drinks, Lunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, View, Bar Scene, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 - 23:00
Monday
11:30 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:30 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:30 - 23:00
Thursday
11:30 - 23:00
Friday
11:30 - 23:00
Saturday
11:30 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Pump House Quay | Maritime Quarter, Swansea SA1 1TT, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  Southern Wales  >  Swansea County  >  Swansea
  • Phone Number: +44 1792 651080
  • E-mail
Description
As a key part of the new marina area of Swansea, and being close by to the SA1 development, we aim to be the ‘community bar’ for everyone in the local area. We are a premium bar with our own style and atmosphere, indulgent premium drinks brands and fantastic food. We also pride ourselves on our range of cask ale, and this combines with our maritime design features to ensure that we keep in touch with our roots. We have a nice upstairs area that can be hired for private use, and our outdoor areas sit right next to the lock gates – a great waterfront location.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing