We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fox and Hounds

€€ - €€€, British,
Old Church Road | Whitchurch, Cardiff CF14 1AD, Wales
+44 29 2069 3377
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent33%
  • Very good22%
  • Average17%
  • Poor15%
  • Terrible13%
Travellers talk about
“mixed grill” (2 reviews)
“brains pub” (7 reviews)
Open Now
11:30 - 23:00All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Old Church Road | Whitchurch, Cardiff CF14 1AD, Wales
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had lunch today from the special lunch 2 course and it was excellent. Another had from the a la carte and that was really good as well. All served with a smile. Will visit again when that way.

Thank Madeleine L
Ben H, Manager at Fox and Hounds, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hi Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review, we really appreciate it. I'm so glad that you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon Kind regards Ben

Reviewed 1 week ago

Firstly had to have table cleaned, was sticky & unpleasant. Some cutlery then sprayed with cleaning fluid and left on table. Six of us there, two meals arrived after two of us had finished eating. Yorkshire puds hardly cooked,very soggy, veg generally not brilliant. Staff...More

Thank ged36mg
Ben H, Manager at Fox and Hounds, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Thank you for leaving us some feedback about your visit, and I'm extremely sorry that on this occasion it was a disappointing one. I'd really like to speak to you about this to get some further detail and also apologise in person, so please...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had dinner at the Fox and Hounds Friday evening and was disappointed with the quality of the food. The bangers and mash with caramelised onions with gravey I would rate as extremely poor. The food was luke warm after waiting more than 30 minutes...More

Thank Ian B
Ben H, Manager at Fox and Hounds, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Thank you for leaving feedback, and I can assure you that we take all comments from our guests very seriously. Please can I ask you to call me on 02920693377 at a convenient time for you so that we can discuss this matter further...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Visited here with my partner and daughter. Warm welcome at the door and seated promptly. We have been here quite a few times and always had good service form staff. Ordered drinks form Simon who on every occasion we have been here he has been...More

Thank Cardiff84
Ben H, Manager at Fox and Hounds, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi I believe that this review has been left on the wrong Fox and Hounds page, maybe you visited the Fox and Hounds in St Mellons? We have no staff here going by either of those names Many thanks Ben

Reviewed 3 November 2017 via mobile

We had a lovely meal at this welcoming pub great atmosphere reasonably priced food and great choice of menu . Would defiantly recommend if your in the area

Thank Debbie D
Ben H, Manager at Fox and Hounds, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2017

Hi Debbie Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review for us, it's great to know that our guests enjoy visiting us. We hope to see you again next time you're in the area Ben

Reviewed 1 November 2017

Went here with my wife and daughter. Took advantage of the 2 curries for £12 offer. You get a great size portion of curry decent size chunks of chicken. The Chicken Jafrezi was very tasty. Great service too. You won't be dissapointed

Thank Jeremy P
Ben H, Manager at Fox and Hounds, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

Hi Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review, and it's great to know that you enjoyed your visit so much! We hope to see you again soon Ben

Reviewed 29 October 2017 via mobile

Ate here on a sat eve. 2 meals ok, other 2 meals awful. Burgers burnt and dry. I asked for more sauce for burger as it was so dry. Waiter came back from kitchen and said "chef advises standard serving given, if I wanted more,...More

1  Thank Imelda m
Ben H, Manager at Fox and Hounds, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Good morning I never like hearing our customers having bad experiences and would like to show that the standards we set ourselves here are higher than the ones that you have witnessed. I'm so sorry for how your evening with us turned out and I...More

Reviewed 24 October 2017

Since the refurbishment the Fox and Hounds looks great, it’s a shame the food didn’t match the standard. Waited for nearly an hour for very poor quality food and it wasn’t even busy. Will not be back, shame, the food and service used to be...More

1  Thank Steve A
Ben H, Manager at Fox and Hounds, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Good morning, Thank you for the feedback about your recent visit, and please may I assure you that I'm extremely disappointed about the experience you had with us and I would really like to discuss this matter further.I never like hearing our customers having bad...More

Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile

Beautiful Food! I had a beef roast dinner, fab size portion, hot and tasty! My partner had the taverner's chicken which again was hot and a large portion he struggled to finish it. Following this we had chocolate fudge cake and the sticky toffee pudding,...More

Thank Kirsty W
Ben H, Manager at Fox and Hounds, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Hi Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review for us, we really appreciate it! We hope to see you again soon Ben

Reviewed 21 October 2017 via mobile

Have some lovely food today with the family, service was excellent and very quick! Would recommend people going for a very well priced meal for the quality of the food! Had a very good selection for local ale or beer. 10/10

Thank Curtis-lee C
Ben H, Manager at Fox and Hounds, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2017

Hi Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review, it's always good to know that our guests have enjoyed their visit. Hope to see you again soon

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Thai lounge
213 reviews
.48 km away
Sweet Cafe & Bakery
30 reviews
.43 km away
Victoria Fish Bar
25 reviews
.15 km away
Pizzeria Villaggio
82 reviews
.48 km away
Nearby Attractions
Saltmarshe Art Publishers
5 reviews
1.25 km away
The Play Loft
5 reviews
.38 km away
Aurora
135 reviews
1.17 km away
Siam Thai Spa & Beauty Centre
31 reviews
.33 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Fox and Hounds staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 - 23:00
Monday
11:30 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:30 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:30 - 23:00
Thursday
11:30 - 23:00
Friday
11:30 - 00:00
Saturday
11:30 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Old Church Road | Whitchurch, Cardiff CF14 1AD, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  Southern Wales  >  Cardiff
  • Phone Number: +44 29 2069 3377
  • E-mail
Description
Brains Pub
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing