We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Pheasant

€€ - €€€, British,
Church Rd, Bridgend CF31 4LY, Wales
+44 1656 653614
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent39%
  • Very good30%
  • Average21%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“fajitas” (5 reviews)
“rack of ribs” (3 reviews)
“steak” (14 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Church Rd, Bridgend CF31 4LY, Wales
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (269)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 30 of 269 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2017 via mobile

Chicken pie was a joke, chips awful....rest was average. Onion rings ok, service decent by the waitress. Dont like handing over cards to be kept whilst eating although it was locked away

Thank WRC J
Management response:Responded 27 July 2017

Really sorry to hear that your experience wasn't what you expected. The card policy is only for opening up a tab and that is entirely customers discretion if you chose to do so. We hope to see you again soon

Reviewed 18 July 2017 via mobile

We have frequented this place several times before and always had really good service However on our recent return we were as the title says somewhat disappointed Although the service was good, the quality of the food was not as usual The steal my wife...More

Thank Kevin W
Management response:Responded 20 July 2017

We appreciate and take on board all of our customers feedback and comments. We do hope this doesn't take you away from visiting us again in the very near future and once again thank you for your feedback

Reviewed 15 July 2017 via mobile

A great place to catch up with old mate's. There s a playing field for the kids on a Sunday lunch time before having a pub lunch

Thank Andy B
Management response:Responded 20 July 2017

Thank you kindly for your feedback and comments

Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

Lovely food, great location, nice family pub. Good value meals, first class service. Will definitely visit again soon 😊

Thank Fiona G
Management response:Responded 12 July 2017

Thank you kindly for your lovely comments. See you soon

Reviewed 28 June 2017

Nice looking place. On outside, welcoming and friendly staff, food was lovely , service was slow tho,

Thank maggsWales
Reviewed 28 June 2017 via mobile

8 of us visited, not the best start the male taking our meal order was very rude, the young lady who brought our food out though was lovely and a credit to the place.

2  Thank Chaela31
Reviewed 25 June 2017 via mobile

However the inside has much to be improved on. It was dark and dingy to say the least and the hour wait for 10 pound burgers which were undercooked and tasted only of thick cheesy sauce was disappointing. Staff however were excellent and very friendly....More

Thank Jess L
Management response:Responded 26 June 2017

Thank you and we appreciate your feedback. We hope you would give us a try again and we hope to satisfy your needs much more on your next visit. Once again we apologise sincerely

Reviewed 18 June 2017 via mobile

I hadn't been here in years so decided to stop for lunch with my mum. We both had our usual fish and chips and it didn't disappoint. We ordered off the two for £12 menu so didn't expect much in the way of quantity but...More

Thank susaq12
Management response:Responded 20 June 2017

We thank you kindly for your lovely comments! Glad you enjoyed your visit and we hope to see you again very soon! Team Pheasant

Reviewed 4 June 2017

Another lovely meal here, the Beef Madras and Chicken Fajitas were lovely. Beautiful setting , best Brains pub locally . Bar staff especially Steff runs a good pub. Some younger waitresses not up to speed but will return . Plenty of choice as per usual...More

Thank Floyd1963
Management response:Responded 9 June 2017

Thank you so much for your beautiful comments/feedback! We look forward to your next visit.

Reviewed 4 June 2017

The menu was very varied and full of choice, the food was amazing but I didn't rate the waitress service. The waitress brought our food then didn't return at all to ask if everything was ok, which I thought was standard polite practice. The waitress...More

Thank tigs947
Management response:Responded 9 June 2017

We thank you kindly for your comments and feedback. All our feedback is fed back to our team for praise and to also let us improve on things you think we need to approve on. We hope to see you again very soon and our...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Poco Poco
503 reviews
.33 km away
Zia Nina
405 reviews
.32 km away
The Old Cottage
238 reviews
.40 km away
Corvo Lounge
58 reviews
.41 km away
Nearby Attractions
St John's House
12 reviews
.14 km away
Once upon a playtime
44 reviews
.53 km away
Nolton Corner
100 reviews
.51 km away
Bushcraft Bash
11 reviews
.55 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Sonia201059
31 January 2016|
Answer
Response from TheBeardedReviewer | Reviewed this property |
You should be able to view or download a menu through their website. You can then seen exactly what they serve, prices etc.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$7 - US$17
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Reservations, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 23:00
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 00:00
Saturday
11:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Church Rd, Bridgend CF31 4LY, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  Southern Wales  >  Vale of Glamorgan  >  Bridgend
  • Phone Number: +44 1656 653614
  • E-mail
Description
The Pheasant is a classic village pub located in Pen-y-Fai, Bridgend.We serve a big range of cask ales and premium wines, as well as home cooked food and daily specials.Our beer garden is huge and is a fantastic place to spend the summer months.And function room is the perfect size for meetings, dinner parties and larger events...opening out onto the beer garden.Opening HoursM: 11am to 11pmT: 11am to 11pmW: 11am to 11pmT: 11am to 11pmF: 11am to 12amS: 11am to 12amS: 11am to 11pm
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing