We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Pheasant

€€ - €€€, British,
Church Rd, Bridgend CF31 4LY, Wales
+44 1656 653614
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent38%
  • Very good31%
  • Average22%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“fajitas” (5 reviews)
“rack of ribs” (3 reviews)
“steak” (12 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Church Rd, Bridgend CF31 4LY, Wales
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 254 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is a nice family pub with a good choice in menu. Hubby had the Madras curry which he said was not as hot as expected but very tasty & I had steak which was also really nice. The pub offers several meal deals during...More

1  Thank dee238_123
Management response:Responded 1 week ago

Thank you kindly for your lovely comments and we're really glad and happy that you enjoyed your visit with us. Look forward to seeing you again

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Ate here recently on a Friday night. We did book as it is quite busy. They do a 2 or 3 course offer. Good value for money. The food is always delicious and there is plenty on offer. They have a good beer garden and...More

Thank EdnaJ541
Management response:Responded 2 weeks ago

Thank you kindly for your lovely comments. Look forward to you visiting us again

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We came here after a friend recommended this pub for a Sunday roast and we wasn't disappointed. We arrived and there was plenty of parking available and good access to the pub.We were kindly greeted by two members of lady and gentleman staff and after...More

Thank Karan T
Management response:Responded 4 weeks ago

We are very pleased and happy we could accommodate your visit with us. We'll look forward to seeing you all again very soon and thank you again

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great sunday lunch for miles. Nothing too much bother , extra veg, gravy etc! Staff always very friendly and attentive. Best to book as always popular sundays but we are happy to eat in the bar as service just as good. Keep up the good...More

Thank Caroline B
Management response:Responded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your kind words and constant support. Look forward to seeing you again very soon

Reviewed 1 August 2017 via mobile

Called here for food on the way to our designation on Sunday and it was lovely. Even thought it was busy due to serving Sunday dinner they accommodated us in the bar area. Staff were friendly both on arrival and serving us. Food was lovely...More

Thank lorna d
Management response:Responded 2 August 2017

Thank you kindly for your lovely comments and hope to see you again soon

Reviewed 24 July 2017 via mobile

Chicken pie was a joke, chips awful....rest was average. Onion rings ok, service decent by the waitress. Dont like handing over cards to be kept whilst eating although it was locked away

Thank WRC J
Management response:Responded 27 July 2017

Really sorry to hear that your experience wasn't what you expected. The card policy is only for opening up a tab and that is entirely customers discretion if you chose to do so. We hope to see you again soon

Reviewed 18 July 2017 via mobile

We have frequented this place several times before and always had really good service However on our recent return we were as the title says somewhat disappointed Although the service was good, the quality of the food was not as usual The steal my wife...More

Thank Kevin W
Management response:Responded 20 July 2017

We appreciate and take on board all of our customers feedback and comments. We do hope this doesn't take you away from visiting us again in the very near future and once again thank you for your feedback

Reviewed 15 July 2017 via mobile

A great place to catch up with old mate's. There s a playing field for the kids on a Sunday lunch time before having a pub lunch

Thank Andy B
Management response:Responded 20 July 2017

Thank you kindly for your feedback and comments

Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

Lovely food, great location, nice family pub. Good value meals, first class service. Will definitely visit again soon 😊

Thank Fiona G
Management response:Responded 12 July 2017

Thank you kindly for your lovely comments. See you soon

Reviewed 28 June 2017

Nice looking place. On outside, welcoming and friendly staff, food was lovely , service was slow tho,

Thank maggsWales
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Zia Nina
382 reviews
.43 km away
The Old Cottage
227 reviews
.33 km away
Ashoka Indian restaurant
210 reviews
.27 km away
Corvo Lounge
27 reviews
.43 km away
Nearby Attractions
St John's House
12 reviews
.52 km away
Once upon a playtime
43 reviews
.69 km away
Nolton Corner
98 reviews
.42 km away
Bushcraft Bash
7 reviews
.40 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Sonia201059
31 January 2016|
Answer
Response from TheBeardedReviewer | Reviewed this property |
You should be able to view or download a menu through their website. You can then seen exactly what they serve, prices etc.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$7 - US$17
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 23:00
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 00:00
Saturday
11:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Church Rd, Bridgend CF31 4LY, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  Southern Wales  >  Vale of Glamorgan  >  Bridgend
  • Phone Number: +44 1656 653614
  • E-mail
Description
The Pheasant is a classic village pub located in Pen-y-Fai, Bridgend.We serve a big range of cask ales and premium wines, as well as home cooked food and daily specials.Our beer garden is huge and is a fantastic place to spend the summer months.And function room is the perfect size for meetings, dinner parties and larger events...opening out onto the beer garden.Opening HoursM: 11am to 11pmT: 11am to 11pmW: 11am to 11pmT: 11am to 11pmF: 11am to 12amS: 11am to 12amS: 11am to 11pm
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing