We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Mentioned in

  • The 7 Most Romantic Couple's Holidays In The UKalajode.com

Details

CUISINES
British, Welsh
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Reviews (575)
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
571 results
Traveller rating
456
76
20
11
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
456
76
20
11
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews scones mini cakes sausage rolls high tea lovely treat lovely afternoon celtic manor special occasion lovely atmosphere savouries
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 days ago

This treat was paid for by our daughter. Firstly the service is absolutely second to none. Attentive but not overpowering. This is a first class establishment and we feel that the staff care for their customers. In fact I made a small complaint a few...weeks ago and left an answer phone message. What other place would ring back and apologise and try to make amends? Afternoon tea is quite expensive but worth it. Everything was fresh and we were asked if we had any specific requests. The tea menu is huge. I didn't realise there was so much choice. Of course coffee and hot chocolate are also available. We couldn't eat it all and so everything we left was boxed to bring home. The hotel is spotless and we really felt that we had a couple of hours of luxury. Thank you.More

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The afternoon tea selection included sandwiches, savouries, cakes, scones and strawberries. Everything was of good quality and we couldn't fault the service.

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Wow what an experience. After visiting the Celtic Manor Olive Tree the week before for my wife's 50th birthday we were so disappointed we decided to try The Angel. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left was superb. Customer service was excellent,...our waiters were polite, informative and had great rapport with us and all the guests. We told them about our poor experience at the Olive Tree and they said they had heard this from a few other guests also. Our food was explained in full to us, our 50th birthday was acknowledged with a mini cake and candle and we were asked if we needed anything else or anymore drinks throughout our time, none of this happened the previous week. The dining room was superb, great ambiance and a lovely atmosphere. We will definitely be returning the The Angel for high tea very soon. Thank you.More

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Avoid!! Very poor quality and quantity for the price. For £88 for two people for afternoon tea I at least expected fresh bread and cakes. It was dry and stale. I wrote an email to The Angel - just to give them a chance -...and they had the audacity to reply to say that they don’t like to ‘overfill’ their sandwiches, which I find a bit insulting.More

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Charlotte G, Owner at Afternoon Tea at the Angel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry if £44 per person was shocking on the day, however we do openly advertise the pricing. All of our high tea items are prepared fresh each morning in preparation for the afternoon. I don't recall...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Absolutely lovely! Wonderful calm atmosphere and huge portions which is hard to find with afternoon tea! Everything delicious will definitely be back

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 19 March 2022 via mobile

My Daughter had given us a £40 voucher to attend here, so we did for Lunch on 19.3.22. The two starters of the pork dish could have fitted in your eye with room to spare! We went for the two aged sirloin steaks on the...bone. We asked for them to medium/well done. What came was two rare steaks, mine was disgusting, in some greasy sauce, the steak wasn't fresh it was tough, and full of gristle! I called the waiter and changed for battered haddock! The steak was priced at £32! Good job I wasn't paying! The waiter felt so guilty he fetched a complimentary pint of lager, which was awful tasting like Turkish Delight! To be frank for such a so called prestigious place I was disgusted with the meals and good job it only cost us £2 with the vouchers! Now I know why all the other Customers were just having sandwiches! If you ever go to Abergavenny make sure you give this place a wide berth!More

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Charlotte G, Owner at Afternoon Tea at the Angel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2022

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments. I do hope you made your server aware of your displeasure on the day instead of just writing your comments on Trip Advisor. Best wishes, Charlotte Griffiths

Reviewed 8 March 2022 via mobile

The whole experience was really lacking. The receptionist was surly, we were here fed through to the very packed and noisy room, completely airless and were shown to our table. Someone came with water and we were left for over half an hour. No one...cared, no one even apologised, it was embarrassing. I kept making eye contact and finally the chap took our drinks order. No one cared if it was a special occasion, no one asked. No one explained what to expect. Our booking was for 3:15 and after the drinks order was finally taken over 30 mins later, we were served...the cakes and sandwiches...At 5pm I had to go and ask for the scones as we had just been neglected, no one came back to check in or ask if we wanted them, or even just to bring them after all that time. High tea should naturally include scones, I don’t think you should be wondering if anyone will ever bring them. We ended up taking them home as we had such a bad experience we didn’t want to be there any longer. They were far too busy and we were invisible to them. The room was very cramped, airless and loud. I felt like cattle. They ruined our experience which should have been special for the family. They should not be charging that much money for this, we won’t be returning.More

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 11 September 2021

Fantastic no other words will cover our visit this afternoon. Firstly the service was of the highest quality from start to finish. Secondly the food was excellent. Thirdly the range of tea was outstanding. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 22 August 2021 via mobile

Delicious food and lovely setting. Plenty of refills on the hot drinks. Patrick and his team were excellent- nothing was too much trouble. Recommend the high tea with extra savouries inc warm sausage roll

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 9 July 2021

This is an experience not to be misses - this time we had High Tea. Food and service were excellent. As is the norm, we could not eat all the goodies so they box them to allow us to eat later....much later!!!!! Highly recommended -...lovely treat and not to be missed.More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Courtyard Guesthouse
14 reviews
.49 km away
The Clytha Arms
110 reviews
8.69 km away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel
682 reviews
9.80 km away
The Manor Hotel
947 reviews
10.12 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Anatolian Restaurant
167 reviews
.10 km away
Pizzorante
593 reviews
.17 km away
Cwtch Cafe
619 reviews
.06 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Abergavenny Museum and Castle
353 reviews
.19 km away
Craig y Ddinas
10 reviews
.62 km away
Linda Vista Gardens
42 reviews
.38 km away
The Tithe Barn, St Marys Church
145 reviews
.11 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
33skippy
25 June 2018|
Answer
Response from J4567DQmarkh | Reviewed this property |
10 out of 10
0
Votes
33skippy
25 June 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from J4567DQmarkh | Reviewed this property |
It sure but I would have no concerns whatsoever
1
Vote
Shepski
19 March 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Charlotte G | Property representative |
Our Vegan Tea would need to be pre booked 24 hours in advance. Savouries; Leek & potato pie, Red pepper & onion tart, Spiced butternut squash & tofu samosa, Coronation tofu on a bed of gem lettuce, Mixed veg & quinoa... More
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Afternoon Tea at the Angel

Afternoon Tea at the Angel is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5
  • Atmosphere: 4.5