We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Oak Room

) #13 of 78 Restaurants in Abergavenny €€ - €€€ British, European,
15 Cross Street | Angel Hotel, Abergavenny NP7 5EN, Wales
+44 1873 857121
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent62%
  • Very good20%
  • Average9%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
British, European, Welsh, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
15 Cross Street | Angel Hotel, Abergavenny NP7 5EN, Wales
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 209 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We've been to the angel multiple times and it's always been amazing today but today I was hugely disappointed. We waited 20 minutes for our coffees and I had to go to bar and wait another 5 mins to chase up my drink of elderflower...More

Thank Prabina P
Charlotte G, Manager at The Oak Room, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Guest, Thank you for feedback. I am naturally disappointed to learn the service you received did not live up to expectations. As you have been to us multiple times in the past, I am sure you are aware the management does not cut back...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I visited the Oak Room at the Angel for my birthday lunch on 8th June. The food was very good as usual until it came to the desserts which were inedible. We both had the same and had to send them back. We were compensated...More

Thank Elaine J
Charlotte G, Manager at The Oak Room, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Your husband send a message on 9th June which I responded on 10th June the following message regarding the dessert: Dear XX (surname left out intentionally), Thank you for your feedback. I am...More

Reviewed 4 June 2017

Booked table for four at 1.15. Arrived 10 minutes early. Over an hour later, at 2.15, still waiting for our lunch. When it finally arrived, it was luke warm. Expected much better from an establishment with a good reputation.More

Thank TerryS303
Charlotte G, Manager at The Oak Room, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your service in The Oak Room. We are naturally disappointed to see that your experience with us did not live up to your expectations. We take great pride in providing excellent food and service and...More

Reviewed 2 June 2017

Visited The Angel on the spur of the moment and was not disappointed. The food was excellent (I can highly recommend the mussels for starters and the hake for main course) and the service was really good. One of the best meals I've had in...More

1  Thank Simon S
Charlotte G, Manager at The Oak Room, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am delighted to read you found your meal excellent with really good service. We hope to welcome you back to The Angel again in the near future. Kind regards, Charlotte Griffiths

Reviewed 29 May 2017

I found it very welcoming and friendly, the meal was hot and cooked to our liking, nothing was too much trouble, the desert selection was extensive, and quote within our range for moneys worthMore

1  Thank Hilda W
Charlotte G, Manager at The Oak Room, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am delighted to read you enjoyed steak, chips and the dessert selection. It is also a further pleasure you found your experience welcoming and friendly. We hope to welcome you back to...More

Reviewed 11 May 2017

This is an excellent Restaurant, although the name The Oak Room' foxed me - maybe the oak i in the block flooring - anyway the room is stunning and delightfully appointed. The 3 course Table d'Hote has some good choices and the food and service...More

1  Thank Longey
Charlotte G, Manager at The Oak Room, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. I am delighted to read you enjoyed the Oak Room with good choices of food and excellent service. We hope to welcome you back to The Angel again in the near future. Kind...More

Reviewed 4 May 2017

Enjoyed our wedding anniversary meal here and once again I opted for the steak and chips plus trio of puddings. It's so convenient to have such a lovely hotel in our home town where service and quality is guaranteed. Everyone works so hard to make...More

1  Thank MumsTheWord57
Charlotte G, Manager at The Oak Room, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am delighted to read you enjoyed your wedding anniversary meal with us in the Oak Room. We hope to welcome you back to The Angel again in the near future. Kind regards,...More

Reviewed 29 April 2017

The next time we go to the Oak room it will be the 25th time. We have always had excellent service and excellent food. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff and the food is always cooked to the top standard. I have reviewed...More

1  Thank Timbo5447
Charlotte G, Manager at The Oak Room, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. I am very impressed you have been to the Oak Room 24 times! It is truly a pleasure to read you have had excellent service and food every time and nothing is too much trouble. We look forward...More

Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

I am a TripAdvisor virgin. Despite consulting it at least once a day, I have never had the audacity to post assuming that my musings on restaurants were not of interest to other users of the site. The abject dreadfulness of the experience at lunch...More

Thank Amy I
Charlotte G, Manager at The Oak Room, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am naturally disappointed to read your experience with us did not live up to your expectations. We take great pride in providing quality food and service in all areas of the hotel...More

Reviewed 12 April 2017 via mobile

We had a great treat dinner. Complimentary bread, olives and nuts were great! I had the trio of pork to start. The pork cheek was delicious, burnt apple sauce was good, as was the little pulled pork fritter, piece of pancetta was good too but...More

Thank Kirsty F
Charlotte G, Manager at The Oak Room, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. It is a pleasure to read you had a great dinner, the wait staff were attentive and you found the hotel immaculately clean. We hope to welcome you back to The Angel again...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Afternoon Tea at the Angel
412 reviews
.03 km away
Pizzorante
425 reviews
.16 km away
Cwtch Cafe
419 reviews
.06 km away
Cinnamon Tree
196 reviews
.09 km away
Nearby Attractions
Abergavenny Museum and Castle
228 reviews
.15 km away
The Tithe Barn, St Marys Church
119 reviews
.10 km away
Skirrid Fawr
16 reviews
.90 km away
Brecon Beacons Tourist Information
16 reviews
.12 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Oak Room staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 15 Cross Street | Angel Hotel, Abergavenny NP7 5EN, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  Southern Wales  >  Monmouthshire  >  Abergavenny
  • Phone Number: +44 1873 857121
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing