We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The White Horse Inn

€€ - €€€
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
62 The Borough | Downton, Salisbury SP5 3LY, England
+44 1725 510408
Website
Today
00:00 - 23:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 00:00 - 22:00
Mon - Sat 00:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

99 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 98: English reviews
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This pub was without a landlord for quite a while, so at that time it was shut. Happily Cheryl and Clare have now taken over, refurbished and recruited a fine chef, Alex, who also makes fantastic hand-made chocolates which are on sale at the bar. Food here is always good and, as you'd expect in a pub, there's a wide... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank spielberg101
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

was lucky enough to be staying at the white horse over the coo coo fayre, the atmosphere in the pub was amazing, the white horse was well organised to cater hungry customers, and provided for ale and gin connoisseurs, the food was delicious, cook with a lot of "finesse", the chef Alex, definitely know is food very well, as well... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Perrin P
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Fresh home made food, even the bread ( Gluten free if requested ) and ice creams. staff knowledgeable and friendly. Service 10 out of 10. Food so far 10 out of 10. All in all a beautiful old English destination pub and Inn. I advise to book in advance for larger tables as I noticed space is gobbled up quickly.

Helpful?
1 Thank harknessfam
Ile-de-France, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We arrived a bit early today, before the Pub opened, on our way to the Salisbury Races. We have not been here for some years. Sadly the Roasts did not feel freshly cooked, maybe they were from the freezer and had been microwaved. They were not advertised as fresh cooked, and we could not smell cooking when we arrived. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank hilaryastone2009
Cheryl P, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review

We are very disappointed to see that you have chosen a public forum to air your displeasure. We always encourage our customers to bring up any problems they encounter with us at the time so we can try to rectify them to the best of our ability but the feedback I had from the members of your party I spoke... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We have just moved into the area and after unpacking, building and painting etc it has been wonderful to pop into a warm and welcoming local pub. We had three generations to visit over Easter and everyone loved it. We like that they have local beers on draught supporting the TWO breweries in the same village! Sunday lunch was amazing.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Zoe B
Cheryl P, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Welcome to the village! Thank you for your comments. We are glad that your experience with us was so positive and hope that we see you again soon. More 

Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 April 2017

I'm not one to complain, and said this at the time as the portions were tiny and so was then offered more veg and gravy and the lady was kind enough to explain a first day for the chef and apologise... but the plates were not hot, the nut roast was dry, the beef over cooked, the only veg was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank _njhayes67
Cheryl P, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review

We are very surprised to see this review as after a lengthy conversation with you I had believed that this matter had been resolved. We are very sorry to hear that your experience did not meet expectations however, I do feel that all possible steps were taken at the time to resolve any issues. We did have a relief chef... More 

1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2017

I honestly don't know where to begin; my husband and I held our wedding reception here on Saturday, and it was truly spectacular! Everything in the run up to the big day was relaxed and organised, Clare Povey, their events manager was an absolute star- fabulous at dealing with an anal bride. Clare helped me source a wicked and very... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Sam P
Cheryl P, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. It was an absolute privilege to host a special day for such a lovely couple. More 

1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 March 2017 via mobile

Visited Saturday 25th March 2017 for reunion of work colleagues. There were 13 of us in total who all ordered different meals. Food came out all together, it was hot and good sized portions. Food was delicious and the vegetables were fresh. The puddings are to die for - check out the latest flavours for the cheesecake 😊 definitely worth... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle T
Cheryl P, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely comments. I'm glad you enjoyed your meals especially our signature desserts! We hope to see you again soon. More 

Downton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 March 2017

I mean the fact this is my first ever review on TripAdvisor after being on here for years says it all really! After living in Downton for two years and seeing rave reviews since it came under new ownership, I finally came with my parents for a Sunday roast today. As a veggie, one of the most annoying things is... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah A
Cheryl P, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. As a vegetarian myself, I often face the same frustrations as you and am keen to offer quality and variety on our menu. Hopefully you will pop in and sample some of the other options we offer soon! More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2017 via mobile

Had a fantastic Sunday roast, moved in to downton the day before so we treated 10 family and friends and our dog to a cracking roast! Great value, food and great hospitality and very friendly staff. Been back a few times since!...

Helpful?
Thank Matthew P
Cheryl P, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Welcome to the village! Thank you for a lovely review. We hope to see you again very soon. More 

Travellers who viewed The White Horse Inn also viewed

 
Redlynch, New Forest National Park Wiltshire
Salisbury, Wiltshire
 

Been to The White Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$5 - US$23
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Waitstaff
Good for
Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
00:00 - 22:00
Monday
00:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
00:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
00:00 - 23:00
Thursday
00:00 - 23:00
Friday
00:00 - 23:00
Saturday
00:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 62 The Borough | Downton, Salisbury SP5 3LY, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Wiltshire  >  Salisbury
  • Phone Number: +44 1725 510408
Description
The White Horse Inn welcomes you and your family to our historic pub and gardens. Whether visiting Salisbury or heading to the New Forest or South Coast we are ideally situated. Serving delicious meals 7 days a week, with thirst quenching local ales and a varied wine list we have something for everyone here at The White Horse Inn.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The White Horse Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?