We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

the mill

€€ - €€€
Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
7 The Maltings, Salisbury SP1 1BD, England
+44 1722 412127
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

176 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 164: English reviews
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Dog friendly inside and out even supplied treats for the dogs. Staff friendly food was good. Very relaxing place to have a chat with great friends

Helpful?
Thank elaine l
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Quite simply the worst food in Salisbury. Been five times as its a nice location and each time the foods been bad but on the last visit had to get a refund as literally everything on the plate was cold or burnt. Staff unprofessional and yeah, without a doubt, forget MacDonald's... This has to be the worst food in Salisbury.

Helpful?
Thank Sean R
Salisbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2016 via mobile

Waited 15 mins to get served with a drink but left out of frustration. Disinterested staff couldn't care less. Don't waste your time

Helpful?
Thank Steve C
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2016

Very nice obliging staff but unfortunately the food did not match the service. I had a double burger, the burger itself was dry and tasteless. Looking for something to lubricate it I asked for some brown sauce, apparently this condiment was unavailable. I think £9.49 for a burger that was like chewing on flavored cardboard is a bit rich.

Helpful?
Thank Allotmantear
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2016

This is a Good place to go to for a Lunch or just a drink or two also night time it is popular here.

Helpful?
Thank Maureen H
Amesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2016 via mobile

To be quite honest why I spent money in here I don't know . The service is slow and staff uninterested. Food quality is of a burger van in a lay-by. I seriously have had better food in a lay-by food van. Total waste of money. Management need to dead wood in the kitchen to obtain a half decent standard... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank mrgrenade
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2016

Firstly let me explain that I am a 42 year old professional man, I work long shifts in law enforcement and rarely get a weekend off to enjoy. My partner is a 34 year old civil servant, so are most of her friends. We came in here for a few leaving drinks with her old colleagues. The pair of us... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank jez34140
Luke T, General Manager at the mill, responded to this review

Hi Jez, thank you for your review. I am sorry that you felt embarrassed by the actions of my team on duty that shift, however they have acted professionally and performed their legal duties. However I feel obliged to reply as your account of events is somewhat different from what actually happened. Firstly let me explain that your age and... More 

Portsmouth England
Level Contributor
81 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2016

Firstly, went there today not expecting anything special. But..........how pleasantly surprised we were. The location is in the centre of town but right by the river. I decided on a middle of the road scampi and chips. To be honest it was extremely good, best scampi I have had for many years, fresh, crispy with nice fries as well. If... More 

Helpful?
Thank sandybottom65
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2016

Called into the Old Mill on the off chance, pleasantly surprised with quality of food and good service - tables were cleared straight away and staff asked whether all was as it should be with our food. Our visit was on Wednesday when the weather was hot, outside was packed so we sat inside where there was plenty of food... More 

Helpful?
Thank Diane R
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2016

What a lovely setting in Salisbury next to the river Avon. The staff were wonderful and brought out a huge bowl of water for the dogs with complimentary dog biscuits......what a pleasant reception

Helpful?
Thank Pamela H

Travellers who viewed the mill also viewed

 
Salisbury, Wiltshire
 

Been to the mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Breakfast, Dinner
Restaurant features
Television, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Wheelchair Accessible, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Cheap Eats, Groups, View, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 7 The Maltings, Salisbury SP1 1BD, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Wiltshire  >  Salisbury
  • Phone Number: +44 1722 412127

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from the mill staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?