We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Swan at Stoford

€€ - €€€
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Warminster Road | Stoford, Salisbury SP2 OPR, England
+44 1722 790236
Website
Today
11:00 - 23:30
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:00 - 23:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

224 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 215: English reviews
Girvan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Food was piping hot and tasty. They have just changed the menu and even for fussy eater I managed to find something I liked

Helpful?
Thank lamalu
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I am glad we could cater to your requirements. Liz More 

Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2016

It was disgusting cold so went bbc a k to the microwave to be heated again andcthecstaff clean rooms and toilets then Steve food (how lovely is that !!!!!!!)and award-winning outside in front of customers then going straight behind the bar to serve and no hand washing or freshening up again (how lovely!!!!!)

Helpful?
Thank briansuzie333
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. As per your review on our other site, the fairly new member of staff was trying to be helpful and ensure you did not wait for your food. I have fed back your comments to her, however, she had washed her hands beforehand. Thank you once again for bring the matter to my attention. Liz More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

We normally visit quite often but have now noticed a downward spiral on food and service. We visited on a Sunday at 1800 for a Sunday roast. The waitress asked the kitchen whether there was any left and we were told yes. We ordered and waited 35mins to find out that the order hadn't been put through correctly. We waited... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank NMestre
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our inn. I am extremely sorry that your experience was not up to our usual standard. Since your review we have a new head chef - Darren - and our new menu is being launched on 26th October. I hope you will come and try us again to see the changes. Liz More 

Didcot, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2016

As organisers of an annual European car touring event that was being hosted in the UK for the first time, we approached Liz and Dan at the Swan to see if they could host a lunch stop for over 150 people and 80 cars. They had made arrangements for an overflow car park if required, but their skills at guiding... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alan_Browse
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We really enjoyed having your large group of very nice cars visiting us. You were a great group, and it was a delight to host your event. Thank you. Liz More 

Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2016

I took friends there for lunch having been told it had a good reputation. Either an off day or something has changed. We ordered two ploughman salad - lots of lettuce, a small slice of ham and another of cheese chopped into tiny pieces and a bit of tomato with a slice of toasted bread. Not a ploughmans and it... More 

Helpful?
Thank Maureen C
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am very sorry you did not enjoy your meal, feedback has been given to the kitchen staff and the problem has been rectified. If you had complained at the time we would have gladly replaced your meal. I am glad you found the staff friendly. Liz More 

Westbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

Looking for a meal on our way to Salisbury we decided to stop off at the Swan, I have driven past it every work day for over 6 years and never stopped. But I will be stopping here again. We had a Beautifully spiced Korma that was great value for money and full of taste, a Stoford Chicken, which was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tim B
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review - I am glad you decided to stop this time and hope to welcome you back again soon. Liz More 

Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2016

I would definitely recommend this place. The service was really good, the south african waiter was so friendly and funny. I ordered the creamy garlic mushroom crostini starter which was lovely, followed by a massive slice of gammon. As is this wasn't enough to fill me up I then ordered the crumble, all of which was very delicious and of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Karen G
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review - I am delighted that you enjoyed your meal and that Craig looked after you well. The road is particularly busy this time of year, unfortunately, but we were here first as we have been trading since 1740 so there is not much we can do. I guess it was horse and carriages then. More 

1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2016

Nowadays people expect a little more. For £12.95 I do not expect to get served a nasty grey pre frozen burger! Should have been alerted when no option to say how I wanted it cooked. Lots of other local pubs serving delicious home made burgers. Chefs here need to up their game!

Helpful?
Thank Kim G
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

You don't say which one of burgers you sampled but I am sorry that you did not enjoy it, particularly as we generally get really good feedback on our range of burgers (especially the buffalo burgers - sourced locally). Please note that we do not offer how burgers are cooked as we follow the advice of the Food Standards Agency.... More 

Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2016 via mobile

I would recomend this place for an overnight stay a great dinner - menu caters for all, full breakfast included in the price. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Very clean rooms, beautiful settings and an old fashion bowling lane. My only negative is that the bed was a bit too soft for me, but everyone else loved their bed.... More 

Helpful?
Thank DaWombat
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our inn. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and can only apologise if the memory foam mattress was not to your liking. I am pleased you enjoyed the food and service and hope you visit again soon. Liz More 

Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2016

Dreadful service.Told I could not have a toasted sandwich as they dont have a grill.A large ciabbata arrived with greasy chips and manky salad.This with small glass of Pinot was £11.50 UGH!Terrible! Heavily tattood chef not interested. Do not go there.Dirty as well

Helpful?
1 Thank Heather186374
Liz P, Owner at The Swan at Stoford, responded to this review

Thank you for letting us know about your experience. I have spoken to the team and the person who took your order was new that day, we can only apologise if what you ordered was not what you were expecting. As the chef explained to you, we do not have an overhead grill, as we use chargrills in the kitchen.... More 

Travellers who viewed The Swan at Stoford also viewed

Salisbury, Wiltshire
Berwick St James, Salisbury
 
Winterbourne Stoke, Wiltshire
 
Quidhampton, Salisbury
 

Been to The Swan at Stoford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$14 - US$32
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, European, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Child-friendly, Business meetings, Groups, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 23:30
Monday
11:00 - 23:30
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:30
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:30
Thursday
11:00 - 23:30
Friday
11:00 - 23:30
Saturday
11:00 - 23:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Warminster Road | Stoford, Salisbury SP2 OPR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Wiltshire  >  Salisbury
  • Phone Number: +44 1722 790236
Description
The Swan at Stoford is a lovely historical coaching inn set in rural Wiltshire, yet very accessible on the A36. 6 miles from Salisbury, it is an ideal place to base yourself for tourist attractions in the area, including Stonehenge, Wilton House, Longleat, Old Sarum airfield and much more. With 9 letting rooms, a lovely restaurant, a spacious function room with a Skittles Alley, a cottage garden and a great riverside garden perfect for marquees, BBQs and outdoor parties. The Swan is a family run business with an emphasis on customer service and a guaranteed warm welcome.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Swan at Stoford staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?