We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Cape of Good Hope

) #9 of 110 Restaurants in Warwick €€ - €€€ , British,
66 Lower Cape, Warwick CV34 5DP, England
+44 1926 498138
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent60%
  • Very good29%
  • Average6%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“scotch egg” (21 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
€€ - €€€
66 Lower Cape, Warwick CV34 5DP, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (375)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 370 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

We visited this restaurant as a group of 8 people. The food was presented very well and was delicious. The service was excellent. I would definitely recommend you eat here.

Thank ali561394
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Having navigated our way through the Hatton Flight as well as cycling for a couple of hours we felt we deserved a decent meal. We were not disappointed. Atmosphere was welcoming. Staff were friendly, helpful and informative. We booked a table which turned out to...More

Thank Harminfra
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

I'm local and I'm a big fan of this place. It's great in the summer for a pub lunch or just a quick pint outside by the canal.

Thank Luke A
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a table booked for 4pm. When we arrived it was very busy, we gave our name at the bar and got blanked looks, then a young girl came out and said yes our table was there in the Bar ! with the football...More

Thank CHobbs2014
Steve J, Owner at The Cape of Good Hope, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Your experience is unnacceptable and we sincerely apologise. We've had quite few new staff members lately (who incorrectly booked your table in on the wrong day & then got your order wrong) & also a few problems with our new kitchen. This is still no...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Just moved to the area and this is already our local - fab food - big portions - good prices. Friendly staff that have a sense of humour (YAYYY). Still to try the gin yet but sure it won't be a let down. Made our...More

1  Thank AngCoventry
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Went here with a friend as she lives in the area. It appears to be in the middle of a housing estate, but once you get to the front you see it's on the canal, You are able to sit outside, if the weather is...More

Thank pocahontis
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We do not get down to Warwick very often - it is an arduous journey by boat - comprising a long distance with many locks to the East, and the 21 locks of Hatton to the West, which deserves a wonderful meal at the end...More

1  Thank jcom26
Steve J, Owner at The Cape of Good Hope, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We're sorry for your experience, it is definitely not the norm. We have a few new staff members who obviously have a long way to go & in the middle of summer when we're busy it's not ideal. The time frame was definitely unacceptable. We...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Popped in sunday while in the area,as im not from warwick the place was heavingstaff very busy food was fantastic lovely made and displayed.. the staff were very busy but didnt falter in their service, the staff member I remember was (sam) blonde lady, constant...More

Thank Michelle P
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What sells this place is it's location - adjacent to the canal which is lovely on a sunny evening. Car parking is limited. When we attended we had to wait an hour for our meal as there was a problem with the fryer.Typical pub grub....More

Thank Setch
Steve J, Owner at The Cape of Good Hope, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We can only apologise we had a few issues with our new kitchen equipment after being closed for a full kitchen refurb. We don't think we serve typical pub grub, and are dissapointed you think so. All our fish arrives from Cornwall every day fresh,...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Booked on the day for dinner, but when we arrived they couldn't take our order due to a kitchen fault. Quite quickly they took our order and we expected it to be about 30min considering it was fresh. After about 45 mins we got an...More

Thank Ys2001
Steve J, Owner at The Cape of Good Hope, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for your review. On the day you came in our brand new kitchen (only a few days old) the gas went out, not enabling us to cook anything. The staff & our manager were running around trying to get this fixed as quickly as...More

Nearby Restaurants
La Mesa
272 reviews
1.20 km away
Tailors Restaurant
723 reviews
1.16 km away
838 reviews
1.23 km away
Nearby Attractions
Warwick Castle
10,950 reviews
1.43 km away
Lord Leycester Hospital
333 reviews
1.39 km away
Collegiate Church of St Mary's
365 reviews
1.23 km away
Hill Close Gardens
92 reviews
1.34 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Abi M
15 October 2016|
Response from Emmajury |
No sorry. Christmas Day we just open 12-2pm for drinks. Our staff need a well earned break that day.
Toff E
3 October 2016|
Response from Emmajury |
As all our food is prepared fresh on site our chefs can cook anything for you. Let us know when you book the table & we'll ensure you're suitably looked after
4 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Keith602015 | Reviewed this property |
Yes believe it is
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Takeout, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, View, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
11:00 - 00:00
11:00 - 23:00
11:00 - 23:00
11:00 - 23:00
11:00 - 23:00
11:00 - 01:00
11:00 - 01:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 66 Lower Cape, Warwick CV34 5DP, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Warwickshire  >  Warwick
  • Phone Number: +44 1926 498138
  • E-mail
Warwick's Best Kept Secret. A true canal side real ale pub. The water is a few feet from the front door, adjacent to Cape top lock on the Grand Union Canal. Open & Serving Food All Day Every day from 11am. We have 3 permanent real ales & 3 ever changing guest ales. We served Fresh Ingredients Real Food. Great food, Great beer, Great location.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing