We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ruby Cantonese Restaurant

29 St. John Street, Lichfield WS13 6NU, England
+44 1543 251144
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent40%
  • Very good21%
  • Average14%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible15%
Travellers talk about
“sizzling beef” (3 reviews)
“ice cream” (6 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Chinese, Asian, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
29 St. John Street, Lichfield WS13 6NU, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (300)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 299 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This place never fails, we come here as a couple and as a family group. The food is always proper tasty, hot and comes out quick even when busy. The staff and the owner ( I think ) are brilliant.

Thank markferguson66
Norreena H, Owner at Ruby Cantonese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you so much for your lovely review very much appreciated 👋hope to see you & your family again soon

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I have visited this restaurant a few times a year.the buffet is not help yourself anymore depending on how many in your group you order so many starters cooked fresh.when you have eaten those starters you can order more.main meals the same. Food always good.still...More

Thank Maria B
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My friend came here for a buffet and was quite positive with his feedback so thought I’d try a takeaway. It took 25 minutes from ordering online (longer for delivery). The standard of the food was really good we had sweet and sour prawn and...More

Thank BevAlan
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A fairly regular takeaway for us. Always pretty good. The prawn toast is very good. Decent value and pretty quick service.

Thank Nate D
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The Ruby seem to have overhauled their menu and not in a good way. Our party of 10 was only allowed to order up to 6 different dishes which meant that some of us had to eat something not of their choice. The food when...More

Thank Tattyin
Reviewed 8 April 2018 via mobile

We have been to the ruby many times and always had a great experience. Tonight we took some friends along and were very disappointed. The food was good but everything else was externally poor. First of all the floor where we were seated was dirty...More

Thank AislinnandAndy
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Usually Carnt fault the food and staff but tonight was a totally different experience !! We arrived for food at 7.10pm to be seated in the room nearest the door, took 10 minutes for them to take our starters order with the food arriving @...More

Thank LISA T
Reviewed 1 April 2018

Attended a family party on a Saturday night, when Lichfield generally seems crammed with people in all bars and restaurants. There were several other parties in the restaurant at the same time, so very noisy and busy. However there was the normal wide choice of...More

Thank eurotrippers
Reviewed 24 March 2018 via mobile

Fab night! Will book next year for sure. Come here regularly. Staff, service, food and atmosphere great.

Thank Deryn M
Reviewed 15 March 2018

We had a Business Lunch - we all had ribs to start which were good but we also had chicken curry which as just reconstituted - very uninspiring. Wine was really expensive though and not particularly good. Wouldn't go back.

1  Thank suetongue
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 7 hotels in Lichfield
Best Western Lichfield City Centre The George Hotel
1,105 reviews
.21 km away
Premier Inn Lichfield City Centre Hotel
588 reviews
.29 km away
The Cathedral Hotel
430 reviews
.82 km away
Innkeeper's Lodge Lichfield
147 reviews
1.91 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Lal Bagh
843 reviews
.18 km away
The Angel Inn
97 reviews
.17 km away
Lime Pickle
56 reviews
.02 km away
Brewhouse & Kitchen Lichfield
189 reviews
.13 km away
Nearby Attractions
Lichfield Cathedral
1,593 reviews
.49 km away
Samuel Johnson Birthplace Museum
269 reviews
.25 km away
Beacon Park
263 reviews
.45 km away
Garrick Theatre
225 reviews
.16 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Mrs_ed90
25 May 2018|
Answer
Response from illoyduk | Reviewed this property |
I’d speak to restaurant to check if I were you .
0
Votes
James1539
8 July 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Norreena H | Property representative |
Hi James Thank you for your question However I consider all my waiters & waitresses to be top quality staff & it would be totally unfair of me as a boss to single any of them out on trip advisor who is better then who, Why... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Dinner, Lunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Delivery, Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 23:00
Monday
12:00 - 14:00
17:00 - 23:30
Tuesday
12:00 - 14:00
17:00 - 23:30
Wednesday
12:00 - 14:00
17:00 - 23:30
Thursday
12:00 - 14:00
17:00 - 23:30
Friday
12:00 - 14:00
17:00 - 00:00
Saturday
12:00 - 14:00
17:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 29 St. John Street, Lichfield WS13 6NU, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Staffordshire  >  Lichfield
  • Phone Number: +44 1543 251144
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;