We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Anton's Bistrot

) #24 of 68 Restaurants in Wells €€ - €€€ , British, Mediterranean
Market Place | Market Place, Wells BA5 2RP, England
+44 1749 673457
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent31%
  • Very good38%
  • Average16%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (25 reviews)
“pate” (7 reviews)
“sea bass” (8 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Mediterranean, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Market Place | Market Place, Wells BA5 2RP, England
Write a Review
Reviews (290)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 279 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago

My husband and I had a lovely candlelit evening meal here over the May bank holiday, atmosphere and food excellent. Good value too. Can recommend.

Thank CherubDog
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at Anton's Bistrot, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you for your review. Great to hear you enjoyed your meal with us and thanks for recommending us.

Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited twice while visiting Wells at the end of May. I was dubious at first as it looked like an obvious tourist trap being a stone's throw from the cathedral - how wrong I was. We had a sharing platter and a couple of...More

Thank jackiem
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at Anton's Bistrot, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Super review, thank you so much. We're so pleased you gave us a chance and were pleasantly surprised.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were staying overnight at the Crown so decided to dine in the Bistro and we were looking forward to it. We had reserved a table and it didn't seem too busy at 7.30pm when we arrived but we were surprised that our meal wasn't...More

Thank mercuryderbyshire
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at Anton's Bistrot, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your comments. You're right, we were extremely busy that evening and you should have had this explained to you. We are very sorry.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

On a walk in basis we were seated quickly and without hassle. Food was truly delightful, we had the chicken and beef blade, wonderful. Only issue with the whole experience was the speed of table service, after we had eaten our main our plates sat...More

Thank Ldouglas85
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at Anton's Bistrot, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for such a generous review. We are sorry the service on this occasion was not as it should be and it will be so much better when you return. Many thanks for your recommendation.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was meant to be a Bistro experience with a Bistro Menu and an atmosphere to suit. However, the dining room had noisy background piped music, noisy pub clientele eating their pub-grub from the Pub Grub Bar menu and poorly trained waiting staff. Nothing wrong...More

Thank Stephen C
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at Anton's Bistrot, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We are very sorry for the wait for your food and that the seared tuna steak had to be returned to the kitchen. We apologised at the time too, of course. With regards to your other, we consider somewhat unkind, remarks. Music at The Crown...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very attentive and friendly staff. The food was absolutely delicious, I had the blade of beef which was cooked to perfection and my husband had the sirloin steak which was also cooked as requested and was also delicious. The restaurant is separated into two rooms,...More

Thank Diane A
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at Anton's Bistrot, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Such a lovely review, thank you so much. It's a real pleasure to hear how much you enjoyed your meal with us.

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This was my first visit to the Crown and I wasn't disappointed. I was initially attracted because it is dog friendly and I had Jack, my springer with me. Good friendly service and reasonable value. I had the Tai green curry which was delicious. I...More

Thank Themikel47
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at Anton's Bistrot, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for such a delightful review. It's great to hear you enjoyed your first meal with us and look forward to welcoming you and Jack back before too long. Please be sure to remind us he's there for dog biscuits.

Reviewed 13 May 2017

We were staying near Wells in our motorhome, accompanied by our Border Collie and were pleased to find the Crown accepted dogs in the bar. We received a nice welcome and good service from the young barman. Monty enjoyed his free dog biscuits while we...More

Thank Marian1990
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at Anton's Bistrot, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2017

Thank you for a super review. We're pleased to hear you and Monty enjoyed your visit to The Crown.

Reviewed 6 May 2017 via mobile

Nice place, nice wait staff, clean, prompt service. Inside the Crown, of the Simon Peggy /Nick Frost movie fame -"Hot Fuzz". Pictures on the wall and the sort. Good food, good beer. Not the typical english pub atmosphere, but still enjoyable. Definitely worth a visit.

Thank davidrogers1
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at Anton's Bistrot, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

Such a super review, thank you so much. We're delighted you enjoyed your meal with us and appreciate you taking the time to share with others.

Reviewed 4 May 2017

We were a party of over 15 people, we had not pre-ordered but the service was quick and efficient. Friendly staff. Reasonable prices.

Thank Richard C
CrownAtWells, Public Relations Manager at Anton's Bistrot, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

We're so pleased you enjoyed your meal with us and thank you for taking the time to write such a super review.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Square Edge Cafe
231 reviews
.03 km away
The Courtyard Restaurant
406 reviews
.11 km away
Goodfellows
470 reviews
.05 km away
Rugantino Restaurant
392 reviews
.09 km away
Nearby Attractions
Wells Cathedral
2,363 reviews
.09 km away
The Bishop's Palace and Gardens
974 reviews
.22 km away
Vicar's Close
633 reviews
.22 km away
St Cuthbert's parish Church
66 reviews
.39 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Anton's Bistrot staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$16 - US$41
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Romantic
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Market Place | Market Place, Wells BA5 2RP, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Somerset  >  Wells
  • Phone Number: +44 1749 673457
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing