We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Browns Brasserie & Bar

€€ - €€€
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Orange Grove, Bath BA1 1LP, England
+44 1225 461199
Website
Today
09:00 - 23:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 09:00 - 22:30
Mon - Thu 09:00 - 23:00
Fri - Sat 09:00 - 00:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

885 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 866: English reviews
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW

We used to go to Browns offten in Brighton so when we saw there was one in Bath while we were there, we decided to eat there thinking we would get a good meal. When the food arrived the main course was more like a starter. I had five chips with mine. I also ordered a side salad which was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tracey B
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We visited last week and had cocktails at the bar before we ate. Being Coeliac I am always concerned over the choice of menu but there was a wide variety of gluten free choices. We had starters and mains but were too full for dessert which was a shame as there were plenty of delicious options to choose from. Our... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
melksham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Generally has a good buzz and a beautiful building near river and gardens, central to city. But service terrible. It was saturday lunch nit crowded and the meals and drinks took forever. Get your act together there are plenty of better places to eat in bath.s

Helpful?
Thank flora r
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Had a lovely brunch here yesterday with friends. Even though we arrived after noon, we could still order of the breakfast mean and all our food was delicious. Our waitress Yee Lin was extremely friendly and helpful, making our visit to brown's very enjoyable.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Browns_Bath_Team, Manager at Browns Brasserie & Bar, responded to this review

Hi there! Thank you for your review, it was truly a pleasure to read and we very much appreciate the time you have taken to leave such wonderful feedback (especially Yee Lin!!). We hope to see you again soon, Warm regards More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Came to Browns a few years ago and really enjoyed it. Sadly it's lost its attraction. The building and decor is tired and cheap, our meals were small and mediocre, the service was slow and slapdash. Given how many restaurants there are in Bath, I'd recommend you choose another one rather than be disappointed. Oh and the service charge is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Elaine L
Browns_Bath_Team, Manager at Browns Brasserie & Bar, responded to this review

Hi Elaine L, We are so sorry to hear about your experience with us. With regards to the décor, we are expecting a refurb later in the year. We are very sorry that you felt the addition of service charge was not worth it; it is an optional charge, only added to try and aid every member of our team... More 

Wellington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We decided to book a table at Browns prior to going to the theatre royal. We were able to take advantage of the early evening menu which had limited but suitable options at a reasonable price. The food was ok but nothing special, particularly as my wife ordered the chicken liver starter and although the quanity was good they were... More 

Helpful?
Thank ukc802875219
Browns_Bath_Team, Manager at Browns Brasserie & Bar, responded to this review

Hi ukc802875219, Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that our food did not exceed 'okay' as we do strive for better than that. Hopefully we can welcome you back soon and this time wow you! Warm regards More 

Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Terrible! Children's menu saw fish and chips covered in salt that they couldn't eat. Swapped it for a burger that caused upset as the difference in size between two burgers for two small boys was clearly 'so unfair!' Nicolas salad was so drenched in salt it also was inedible (the chef agreed and we weren't charged). My beetroot Quinou salad... More 

Helpful?
Thank SueLyle
Browns_Bath_Team, Manager at Browns Brasserie & Bar, responded to this review

Hi SueLyle We appreciate you taking the time to respond. The staff at Browns Bath take our reviews very seriously. I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your experience. I do hope that you can reconsider and visit Browns again. We would love to be able to welcome you back so you can experience our menu as it... More 

Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

I came here yesterday for a Valentine's date night with my boyfriend, and after having previously read such mixed reviews on Trip Advisor, I was a little concerned. As it was Valentine's evening I assumed that it would be very busy and would have expected some delays or slightly "rushed off their feet" waiting staff. However, this was anything but... More 

Helpful?
Thank Charlotte S
Browns_Bath_Team, Manager at Browns Brasserie & Bar, responded to this review

Hi Charlotte S, Thank you for taking the time to leave us this great review. Yee Lin is an absolute star and was very happy to read this, says she is so sorry she forgot your spoon! As it should have been provided with the tagliatelle. Thank you again, we hope to see you soon. Warm regards More 

1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Called in for moules and frites at lunchtime along with a couple of glasses of wine. Food was excellent, fresh moules cooked in cider were delicious. Very good service and pleasant atmosphere. Will be back.

Helpful?
Thank MDJohnson48
Browns_Bath_Team, Manager at Browns Brasserie & Bar, responded to this review

Hi MDJohnson48, Thank you so much for this wonderful review. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Warm regards More 

Thorpe le Soken, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Staff great on arrival, ordered wine and water, 15 minutes later told us still no wine or water, we were told they'd run out of our wine. Selected another one still no water so 20 minutes in no drinks.. finally drinks arrived tried to order food but out of pork, which we both wanted! Was disappointing but alternative choices were... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nicki J
Browns_Bath_Team, Manager at Browns Brasserie & Bar, responded to this review

Hi Nikki J, We are so sorry to hear that this happened. Having investigated the long wait for your drinks, it was due to the staff desperately looking for the bottle of wine you ordered. With regards to the food, it is very disappointing for us to hear you didn't get your first choice as well! Again, having investigated this,... More 

Travellers who viewed Browns Brasserie & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Browns Brasserie & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$16 - US$40
Cuisine
Bar, European, British, French, Contemporary, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Highchairs Available, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 22:30
Monday
09:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 23:00
Thursday
09:00 - 23:00
Friday
09:00 - 00:00
Saturday
09:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Orange Grove, Bath BA1 1LP, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Somerset  >  Bath
  • Phone Number: +44 1225 461199
Description
Blending European brasserie dishes and timelessly elegant surroundings, Browns Bar and Brasserie Bath champions an informal yet refined concept. Renowned for indulgent twists on classic comfort food recipes, Browns has offered trademark favourites since 1973, as well as choices from the specials board or the market fresh fish of the day. Showcasing striking design features and historic or listed buildings, Browns restaurants are a refined yet relaxed dining spot, at any time of the day.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Browns Brasserie & Bar and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Browns Brasserie & Bar staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?