We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Chequers

€€ - €€€, European, British
50 Rivers Street, Bath BA1 2QA, England
+44 1225 360017
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent68%
  • Very good22%
  • Average6%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
Open Now
12:00 - 22:30All hours
CUISINES
Bar, European, British, Pub, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
50 Rivers Street, Bath BA1 2QA, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (1,120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

261 - 270 of 1,103 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2016

This gastropub was a great little find! The food was amazing and our waitress was very friendly and attentive. I had the guinea fowl poached in milk and this was really, really delicious. The desserts, which we tried, the passionfruit brule and the white chocolate,...More

Thank l0ris93
Lianne C, Manager at The Chequers, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2016

Dear I0ris93, We here at the Chequers pride ourselves on using the finest seasonal produce to create exciting, innovative dishes coupled with friendly, attentive service in a relaxed and comfortable atmosphere. We are thrilled your comments reflect this and we can't wait to welcome you...More

Reviewed 30 July 2016

The Chequers is a 'posh pub'. Went with a friend to celebrate our ** birthday! We had the 7 course tasting menu and the wine flight. All was ready when we arrived and we were made extremely welcome. The staff all seem to be young...More

Thank SCHOxfordshire
Reviewed 25 July 2016

Our second visit here with friends, wished we had checked the menu for Sundays as it is much reduced from the normal fare, which was a shame as we had been looking forward to the options previously enjoyed The food we had was great thou!...More

Thank 21Timbo
Lianne C, Manager at The Chequers, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2016

Dear 21Timbo, I'm glad you enjoyed your visit even though the menu was not the full a la carte menu. We have found from previous experience that there is a huge demand for a Sunday evening roast that is prepared fresh for the evening service....More

Reviewed 23 July 2016

Loved the high end of quality of food. very delicious. fantastic generous portions with modern presentation... loved it !!! and absolutely welcoming and friendly service.

Thank BeachBumSummer2014
Lianne C, Manager at The Chequers, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2016

Dear BeachBumSummer2014, We are thrilled to read you loved your dining experience as much as we love hosting such enthusiastic guests as yourselves. We can't wait to welcome you back in the not too distant future. Many thanks Ben Reeves Assistant manager

Reviewed 23 July 2016

Came to bath for my partners birthday and wanted a lovely meal after a day of relaxing in the thermae spa. We booked weeks in advance after looking at the trip advisor reviews. All I can say is I must have been somewhere else! The...More

Thank Louise M
Lianne C, Manager at The Chequers, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2016

Hi Louise M, As a small business it is so important for us to react and respond to guest feedback; our vast number of excellent reviews and excellent reputation as a food-pub give us a lot of pride in what we do but it's experiences...More

Reviewed 22 July 2016

Firstly, you can park outside for up to 2 hours…3 if you have the first drinks outside and keep an eye out for the wardens. Beer - lovely Bath Ales. Wines - extensive and not overpriced Service- warm, lovely and perfect Food - Excellent. Mixture...More

Thank len c
Lianne C, Manager at The Chequers, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2016

Dear len c, Thank you for your kind words. Here at The Chequers we pride ourselves on AA rosette standard seasonal dishes with first class service and we are thrilled to read this has been delivered. We look forward to welcoming you back in the...More

Reviewed 21 July 2016

I've been here three times. The first time for a Saturday lunch which was delicious and I had no complaints. The second time for a Sunday roast with friends, again really delicious, although the starters didn't seem to change. And the third time, after stating...More

1  Thank lucyloooooo
Lianne C, General Manager at The Chequers, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2016

Hi Lucyloooooo, I was sorry to have read your account of your last visit to us and it seems you left us feeling disappointed as you had enjoyed your previous two visits so much. For us, consistency is so important and upholding a high standard...More

Reviewed 18 July 2016 via mobile

Friends took us to dinner here last week. The service was faultless and the food was better than anything I've had in Bath for a long time (& we eat out a bit). I can't recommend this place highly enough. The Chilled Tomato Summer soup...More

Thank mrsdijon
Lianne C, Manager at The Chequers, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2016

Dear mrsdijon, Thank you for such a glowing review. We are thrilled you had a lovely evening and look forward to welcoming you back (although hopefully there will be no need to scramble for a table!!) Ben Reeves Assistant manager

Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

Booked for 4 x lunch on a Sunday. Arrived and was shown to a table upstairs in their (overly warm and stuffy) dining room next to a huge table clearly a family party of some sort. Asked to be seated downstairs/ outside (away from this...More

Thank Rose D
Lianne C, General Manager at The Chequers, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2016

Dear RoseD. Thank you for your comments regarding your experience for Sunday lunch. First off, please let me apologise that you left feeling you weren't welcome and unsatisfied with your experience. We always try to deliver the highest possible service standards and strive to make...More

Reviewed 13 July 2016 via mobile

We ate in the upstairs room which had very uninspiring decor. You can see into the kitchen which was a bit odd & didn't add to the experience. The menus are a bit strange as well. One has a very fancy choice of dishes and...More

Thank Ros223
Lianne C, General Manager at The Chequers, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2016

We were sorry to hear that The Chequers failed to impress you and that our style of decor & menu were not to your personal preference. As a food-led venue we acknowledge that despite Chef's talent for modern, elevated fine food there has always been...More

PreviousNext
12526272829111
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 34 hotels in Bath
Queensberry Hotel
1,447 reviews
.14 km away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
948 reviews
.20 km away
The Lansdown Grove Hotel
749 reviews
.35 km away
Travelodge Bath Central
862 reviews
.40 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Circus Restaurant
1,963 reviews
.17 km away
Clayton's Kitchen
1,537 reviews
.35 km away
The Olive Tree
975 reviews
.16 km away
Rustico Bistro
699 reviews
.14 km away
Nearby Attractions
No. 1 Royal Crescent
2,174 reviews
.20 km away
Royal Crescent
3,042 reviews
.22 km away
Fashion Museum Bath
1,265 reviews
.22 km away
The Circus
1,941 reviews
.19 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
sarahBath
7 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Lianne C | Property representative |
Hi, thank you for your question. All of our food is prepared on the premises. Most of our meat dishes are cooked sous vide and the finished in a pan to order.This means that dishes such as the venison cannot be served as... More
1
Vote
Lamelia1992
30 October 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from rkyme | Reviewed this property |
I have seen dogs in the pub I believe, best to telephone first.
0
Votes
PreviousNext
12
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$25 - US$30
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:30
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 50 Rivers Street, Bath BA1 2QA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Somerset  >  Bath
  • Phone Number: +44 1225 360017
  • E-mail
Description
A landmark dining destination in the historic town of Bath, The Chequers is a beautifully restored gastropub on Rivers Street that has been serving customers since 1776. Offering a slice of local living to visitors from out of town, The Chequers is an elegant escape from the city’s bustling boutiques and is only a short walk from the Circus and the Royal Crescent. Serving a menu of home cooked, local & seasonal food alongside a premium selection of wines, local ciders and real ales, this is a fantastic place to spend an evening over a bottle or two with friends and family. On the menu you’ll find gastropub fare unrivalled in Bath with old pub favourites including their award winning Sunday lunch given a classy makeover. The Chequers restaurant also caters for business meetings and private parties.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing