We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Sportsman

€€ - €€€
Bar, British, Pub, International
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
57 Benty Lane, Sheffield S10 5NF, England
+44 114 268 8011
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

86 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 86: English reviews
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stopped going here as went down hill a little bit but the refurb has given it a new lift and the food was very good . May become our regular again.

Helpful?
Thank kayemontana2
General Manager A, Manager at The Sportsman, responded to this review

Dear Kaye, Thank you for spending your time writing a review for our pub. We are extremely pleased you like the refurb and enjoyed your food. Hope you visit us again soon Kind Regards The Sportsman Team More 

Derby
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Took elderly friend on first visit. Really good food and great service. Second visit yesterday with husband and grand daughter. Service not so good, but food very good. Would go again but they need to iron out inconcictencies in staff approach. Still a very nice place to be.

Helpful?
Thank sac27
General Manager A, Manager at The Sportsman, responded to this review

Dear Sac27, Thank you very much for your review on our pub. We take all feedback seriously and use it as a tool for further improvement. Thanks for highlighting this issue and be assured that I will speak to all of our team and ensure they all give the same high quality service we strive to deliver. Many thanks the... More 

Level Contributor
46 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

First impressions, lovely place but when we got to the bar to order Sunday lunch we were told sorry sold out of everything and there is a 45 minute delay. A place like this that runs out of food halfway through the day is shocking and the company should be ashamed of themselves. When advertising food served until 10pm and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Scott H
General Manager A, Manager at The Sportsman, responded to this review

Dear Scott, Firstly, can I thank you for taking your time to leave us feedback? We take all feedback seriously and use this as a training tool for further guest experience. We are sorry to hear that you had a bad experience on Sunday afternoon. We were extremely busy on Sunday this resulting in a being a delay on food,... More 

Level Contributor
65 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We came here last night for a family Saturday night get together. Most of the meals were ok but my dad had a steak which was awful, it was all fat and rubbery. He then had to wait for another one to be cooked and by the time that came out we had finished our meals. Disappointing when you expect... More 

Helpful?
Thank Charl F
General Manager A, Manager at The Sportsman, responded to this review

Dear Charl, Thank you for your review, we take all feedback seriously and use this as a tool for future reference. We are extremely sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your visit, unfortunately sometimes we cannot tell if a steak is not up to standard prior cooking. We did cook you a fresh steak but I understand it must of... More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

Firstly I want to say that the decor and atmosphere are great and the staff were helpful and efficient. My rating is in relation to the food. I appreciate we came in later in the evening on a Sunday for a roast but I wasn't expecting it to be so poor. The chicken was bone dry and very chewy and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jay B
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2017

Ember Inns have struck gold putting Ryan & Nicole at the helm of this newly refurbished pub .. prime location, looks the part and food that should be served in pubs! I have eaten here on numerous occasions in the past few months and pop in for a glass of vino now and again ... with 3 former members of... More 

Helpful?
Thank jenny2910
General Manager A, Manager at The Sportsman, responded to this review

Dear Jenny, Thank you for taking your time to write a review on our pub. We are thrilled that you enjoy spending time in our pub. We have recently employed some new staff to help ensure future success for the pub. We hope you come and visit us again soon. Many Thanks The Sportsman Team More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

Pub recently been refurbish, however rather slow with delivery of meals, there were 6 adults and 1 child. Food good, worth the wait and those in our party who ordered the Steak and Ale pie said they would have it again.

Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret S
General Manager A, Manager at The Sportsman, responded to this review

Dear Margaret, Thank you for taking time your time to review our pub. We appreciate all feedback as we use this as a tool for improvement. Firstly can I apologise for your long wait, we are currently in the process of training new team members both front and back of house so I would like to assure you the waiting... More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 March 2017

Noticed a Facebook post that brunch was being offered at the Sportsman and was open from half ten each day. I took a detour on the way to b&q and it was worth the trip! I had a full English breakfast and my partner had poached eggs for which we both shared some of each others food! The first to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paul M
Perry C, Manager at The Sportsman, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our pub. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your experience with us. We hope that you visit again soon. Kind Regards Ryan & Nicole Tissington Manager More 

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 20 February 2017 via mobile

Called into this pub for the first time a couple of weeks ago in the evening with my partner. There was another couple at the bar they looked friendly enough the bloke ordered drinks and said something along the lines of "Cheer up" to the barman who looked miserable as sin. His response was quite shocking he walked up to... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
sheffield
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2017 via mobile

I regularly use the Robin Hood in Sheffield and tend to eat the same things. So when I took my mother for a meal at the sportsman I was expecting the same standards. The food generally was ok but the pate starter was a real let down. It comes in a 1 ounce ramekin with usually a thin layer of... More 

Helpful?
Thank wanners
Perry C, General Manager at The Sportsman, responded to this review

Dear wanners, I am sorry that you did not enjoy your visit to the sportsman and that the pate was such a disappointment for yourself. As you know we are the same brand as the Robin Hood and have the same prep standards as they would. Mistakes do happen as we are human but I will ensure that this is... More 

Travellers who viewed The Sportsman also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to The Sportsman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, International
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 57 Benty Lane, Sheffield S10 5NF, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  South Yorkshire  >  Sheffield
  • Phone Number: +44 114 268 8011

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Sportsman staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?