We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Portabello Restaurant Bar & Grill

€€ - €€€European, British,
7 South Parade | Summertown, Oxford OX2 7LJ, England
+44 1865 559653
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent44%
  • Very good33%
  • Average16%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (69 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
European, British, Grill, Contemporary, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
7 South Parade | Summertown, Oxford OX2 7LJ, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (437)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 427 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I visited for a family supper. I was very impressed by the standard of the service and the excellent food.

Thank Paul D
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We went here on a Saturday night and we're very impressed with the range of vegetarian options - a lot to choose from and not the usual selection you see on most menus. Service was very good. It was busy and we hadn't booked but...More

Thank Charlotte V
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Good food n service even if a little short staffed. Very fresh fish n excellent poached pear with white wine.

Thank 183cbc
Henrik A, General Manager at Portabello Restaurant Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your kind review. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Do you go to a restaurant for the event ot the food? If it's the former then Portabello is the place for you but I thought the food was a bit mass produced. The food is fine but lacks care and attention.More

1  Thank Cowshepard
Henrik A, General Manager at Portabello Restaurant Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello and thank you for your review, we are very happy that you like the restaurant and the team. I am sorry to hear you found the food mass produced as we get all our ingredients fresh, and all products including deserts are made in-house....More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A really good eating experience. They have a good menu but choosing the specials seemed a great choice. I thoroughly enjoyed the evening.

Thank 65plusonthemove
Henrik A, General Manager at Portabello Restaurant Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Good day and thank you for your review. We always do our best to give a good service and we look forward to doing it again for you. Kind regards,

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

When we entered Portobello we were greeted immediately in a friendly way and were offered a choice of a few tables. When the menus were presented I asked about gluten free options and the staff member went to check with the kitchen and then let...More

Thank LittlePix7
Henrik A, General Manager at Portabello Restaurant Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to write such detailed review. We are pleased that you had a nice evening. I am sorry you did not receive a check back on this occasion and your comment regarding the meal have been taken to heart. We...More

Reviewed 15 August 2017

Lovely setting and friendly waiters. My son enjoyed his veggie burger. We also had the salmon steak that was full of bones? Surely the chef could check for this before serving, I had the fishcake, lots of potato and not much fish. We had a...More

3  Thank helen r
Henrik A, General Manager at Portabello Restaurant Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Dear Helen, thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased to hear that your son enjoyed the Black bean burger. Unfortunately the classic cut of salmon steak does not allow for the bones to be removed. I am very sorry...More

Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

I live locally and have visited Portabello many times. It serves good food, with good service and has a great atmosphere. It is always reliable and friendly. My favourite restaurant in Oxford.

Thank Stephen M
Henrik A, General Manager at Portabello Restaurant Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Thank you! To be classed as your favourite is quite a compliment and heart warming. I hope we can continue to make you feel at home. See you soon. Kind regards,

Reviewed 12 August 2017

I like Portabello. It's a decent smart restaurant in the middle of Summertown and if you can negotiate the tight entrance there is usually plenty of parking. We were there recently for dinner with friends and it was as good as ever. There is a...More

Thank BrushM
Henrik A, General Manager at Portabello Restaurant Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Many thanks for your lovely review, we always thrive to keep our food and service consistent. And we look forward to doing it again for you in the near future. Kind regards,

Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

Came for breakfast, ordered an omlete. It was excellent and filling. Really enjoyed my visit, the waiting staff were very helpful and friendly even though I came in just as they opened, highly recommend visiting if you have never been before.

Thank Dominic L
Henrik A, General Manager at Portabello Restaurant Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2017

Thank you for your kind review. We are very happy you like our breakfast. Hope to see you again soon. Kind regards,

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Spice Lounge
495 reviews
.33 km away
The Oxford Kitchen
645 reviews
.24 km away
Mamma Mia Pizzeria
471 reviews
.01 km away
Joe's Bar & Grill
296 reviews
.16 km away
Nearby Attractions
Cutteslowe and Sunnymead Park
32 reviews
1.47 km away
Cherwell Boathouse
57 reviews
1.31 km away
Oxford Kayak Tours
36 reviews
.88 km away
The Oxford Wine Cafe - Summertown
39 reviews
.05 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Dana sophie H
4 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Julius s | Reviewed this property |
casual....and you will be very comfortable
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$8 - US$54
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Open Hours
Sunday
09:30 - 22:30
Monday
09:30 - 22:30
Tuesday
09:30 - 22:30
Wednesday
09:30 - 22:30
Thursday
09:30 - 22:30
Friday
09:30 - 22:30
Saturday
09:30 - 22:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 7 South Parade | Summertown, Oxford OX2 7LJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Oxfordshire  >  Oxford
  • Phone Number: +44 1865 559653
  • E-mail
Description
A chic, cosmopolitan British restaurant bar and grill open from 9:30am all day every day serving great steak, fish dishes, classic burgers and more. Our menus change regularly with the season with our fixed price lunch menu changing weekly. We serve freshly prepared food with great British flavours in casual and relaxed surroundings. You'll find us in South Parade, a gorgeous little side road in Summertown, amongst trendy boutiques, galleries, wine bars and the North Wall Theatre. Come along for 'the best breakfast in town' from 9:30am 7 days a week and on Sundays come and enjoy a great selection of traditional roasts and superb sharing plates. Join us for Happy hour every week daily from 5:00pm to 7pm when all cocktails and champagne are £5! Let us treat you to a great fixed price menu available lunchtimes Monday to Friday - just £10.95 For two courses and £13.95 For three courses. Our children's menu is available every day and we have child friendly facilities. We can cater for parties of up to 100 guests with menus to suit. An impressive upstairs private dining area is available for all of your special occasions. Guests also benefit from our restaurant car park. Feel free to drop in for a glass of wine, coffee or a sweet treat at the bar or on the terrace. Reservations are welcome for anytime.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing