We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Britannia Inn

€€ - €€€, British,
London Road | Headington, Oxford OX3 7AA, England
+44 1865 760192
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent29%
  • Very good34%
  • Average13%
  • Poor13%
  • Terrible11%
Travellers talk about
“pie” (3 reviews)
“lamb” (3 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Grill, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
London Road | Headington, Oxford OX3 7AA, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 217 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Booked a Christmas buffet for 47 people, we had a lovely private room however there was not enough seating or cutlery when we arrived so we embarrassingly had tables and chairs bought in half way through our evening. The food came out before everyone had...More

Thank teganramsay1643
General Manager A, Manager at The Britannia Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hi Tegan We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your evening with us on Tuesday. A buffet is not intended to be a sit down meal but an accompaniment to you evening for you to enjoy alongside your drinks. The table was emptied...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We booked for family Sunday lunch and on arrival was greeted by the manager who had pink hair. There was also a small noisy child who was being extremely rude to this man and should of not been in the bar area. 3 of us...More

Thank Rowland N
General Manager A, Manager at The Britannia Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Rowland, I’m really sorry to hear about your experience. Because of our pricing levels we are unable to have the staffing levels to provide table service as you would have in a restaurant with higher prices. In regards to the child, we are a...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Friendly and welcoming service, especially loved the quinoa and beetroot burger. Amazing choice of desserts on the menu too.More

Thank HopkilnSmith
General Manager A, Manager at The Britannia Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Hopkiln, We're really glad you enjoyed your visit on Sunday, and we're glad to see you enjoyed one of our fantastic vegetarian options. Have you tried our sweet potato cottage pie? It's actually vegan and it packs in a lot of flavour! We hope...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My husband had bruch here. He said the service was good and the breakfast was yummy and reasonable priced.

Thank 123taz
General Manager A, Manager at The Britannia Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Many thanks for taking the time to review us. We appreciate your kind feedback about our brunch and hope that you visit us again soon Thanks again The Britannia

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Although management has changed hands several times, the Britannia is 'hands down' one of the brightest, friendliest and affordable dining establishments in Oxford. Gets a bit crowded at peak times but that is further evidence of the good food and ambiance...be it fireside or in...More

Thank Sunny V
General Manager A, Manager at The Britannia Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Sunny, Many thanks for your great review! We’ll make sure James gets recognition for his service! We look forward to seeing you again soon! We do still have availability on Christmas Eve so we hope you come and book with us again this year!...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We saw this had mixed reviews but we visited the inn for Brunch & Dinner and had quick ,efficient service on both occasions. The tables were cleaned as soon as someone left and our meals were very good value. There were a lot of people...More

Thank Joanne J
General Manager A, Manager at The Britannia Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Joanne, Thank you very much for your review, we’re really glad you enjoyed the service and the atmosphere here at the Britannia, and look forward to seeing you again soon! Why not try us on. Sunday for some great value roast dinners? Regards, The...More

Reviewed 4 November 2017 via mobile

We were here with my partner just for a drinks in evening hours. Place: nice typical bar atmosphere, very dirty tables and quite messy Staff: friendly and helpful Service: quick and punctual I would recommend this place for larger groups and people who like the...More

Thank MayaAngel13
General Manager A, Manager at The Britannia Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2017

Hi Maya, Many thanks for your review! We do apologise for the dirty tables, we are speaking to the team to ensure this does not happen again. We hope to see you again soon , so we can impress you with our usual standards. Regards,...More

Reviewed 25 October 2017

A friend and I took our disabled daughters here so they could meet up. We went in and the first thing you notice is how dirty the carpets are, we waited at the bar to be served and then notice how dirty the bottles and...More

Thank Sarah C
General Manager A, Manager at The Britannia Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2017

Hi Sarah, Firstly, I would like to apologise. We are actually due a refurbishment, and are looking into resolving the carpet situation. Secondly, the reason that bottom bar exists is so we can serve people who have difficulty managing the stairs in the bar area!...More

Reviewed 18 October 2017 via mobile

Visited on two separate occasions first visit was excellent, second visit steak was disgusting could not cut any of it very reluctant to complain however did and when the manager saw it even he said it was awful. They cooked a whole new meal for...More

Thank Jamaica2011_11
General Manager A, Manager at The Britannia Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Hi Jamaica2011_11, We would once again like to apologise about the poor steak. We hope that the replacement meal was better for you and look forward to seeing you again! We now have a new menu, and really recommend the beef on the rib. It’s...More

Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

Firstly I'd like to say the food was actually ok. The problem was the service. The staff were well mannered but the service was very bad. On arriving to the restaurant we were given a table that was cleared but not cleaned. I then had...More

1  Thank Thomas G
General Manager A, Manager at The Britannia Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Hi Thomas, Thanks for reviewing us. Firstly, I would like to apologise about the salt- we had an issue this weekend with our salt dispensers but this has since been resolved. also, I would like to apologise about the escaping cat- this is an unusual...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Buongiorno E Buonasera
79 reviews
.08 km away
Dragon Express
7 reviews
.11 km away
Caffe Nero
7 reviews
.19 km away
C.R.A.F.T Burger
98 reviews
.25 km away
Nearby Attractions
Holy Trinity Church Headington Quarry
10 reviews
1.03 km away
The Oxford Artisan Distillery
41 reviews
1.00 km away
Headington Shark
158 reviews
.06 km away
Coco Noir
42 reviews
.14 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Britannia Inn staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Grill, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Seating
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 00:00
Monday
11:00 - 00:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 00:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 00:00
Thursday
11:00 - 00:00
Friday
11:00 - 00:00
Saturday
10:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: London Road | Headington, Oxford OX3 7AA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Oxfordshire  >  Oxford
  • Phone Number: +44 1865 760192
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing