We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Britannia Inn

€€ - €€€
Bar, British, Pub, Grill
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
London Road | Headington, Oxford OX3 7AA, England
+44 1865 760192
Website
Today
11:00 - 00:00
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Mon - Fri 11:00 - 00:00
Sat - Sun 10:00 - 00:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

162 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 155: English reviews
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We Have Been To This Pub Queit a Few Time In The Past Few Years But Sence it took over New management it has been a lot Better The Food highly recommended complements to the chief also the staff are very polite so thank you to the management and all staff we give 10 out of 10 xx kind regards... More 

Helpful?
Thank anneimback
general manager A, Manager at The Britannia Inn, responded to this review

Anneimback, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. It's lovely to receive a review like this, and it will be shared with the entire team. We look forward to seeing you soon! Nikki and the team More 

United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Friendly serving staff, reasonable priced drinks, children's menu is good value. However my dinner was very average.

Helpful?
Thank choccy77
general manager A, General Manager at The Britannia Inn, responded to this review

Hi Choccy77, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. I'm glad that you enjoyed the service and found us a good value. Hopefully next time you visit us, the food will wow you too! Nikki and the team More 

Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
542 reviews
395 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Visited today with a friend .Very busy given it was mid week . Food arrived quickly and the fish was great .

Helpful?
Thank coughandcath
Nikki D, General Manager at The Britannia Inn, responded to this review

Hi coughandcath, Thank you for your lovely review of The Britannia. Wednesday was a particularly busy night, but I'm glad you food was quick and you enjoyed the fish. We look forward to your next visit Nikki and the team More 

oxon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

After having recently visited this lovely pub I felt I must compliment the staff on there wonderful attention and the fabulous food we enjoyed here . The food was plentiful and tasty and I must say a great menu to choose from. The place has a lovely atmosphere and a friendly feel to it . Can't wait for my next... More 

Helpful?
Thank julesOxon
Nikki D, General Manager at The Britannia Inn, responded to this review

Hi julesOxon, Thanks for taking the time to write this lovely review. I will make sure your compliments are passed on to the team and we look forward to your next visit, Nikki and the team More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2016

Sat outside in garden. Lovely. Great choice of dishes friendly staff No hurry to move you on very relaxing

Helpful?
Thank Isabel E
Nikki D, General Manager at The Britannia Inn, responded to this review

Hi Isabel E, Thank you for writing us a review, we are glad that you loved our beer garden- and that you got to take advantage of it before the winter sets in! We look forward to your next visit, Nikki and the team More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2016

We ordered some tea. They used luke warm water on top of the coffee pot - it was really terrible. Surely any normal pub can make a half way decent cup of tea. Its not exactly rocket science - and not worth charging for.

Helpful?
Thank Mark L
Nikki D, General Manager at The Britannia Inn, responded to this review

Hi Mark L, What a shame that we have received such a negative review over a cup of tea! I'm sorry that you didn't enjoy your drink, if you had let us know we would have gladly rectified this for you. Please don't let this stop you from visiting us again, Nikki and the team More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2016

lovely, clean place. Popped in for a light lunch and a glass of wine. Had a chat and a laugh with the chappie on the bar. New menu is great. Will definitely keep going in and looking forward to a xmas meal there

Helpful?
Thank angiegriffiths7
Nikki D, General Manager at The Britannia Inn, responded to this review

Hi Angie, Thanks for your lovely review! We love the new menu too, especially our exciting Duck and Waffle (worth a try if you are feeling adventurous!) We look forward to seeing you at Christmas Nikki and the team More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2016

lovely, clean place. Popped in for a light lunch and a glass of wine. Had a chat and a laugh with the chappie on the bar. New menu is great. Will definitely keep going in and looking forward to a xmas meal there

Helpful?
Thank angiegriffiths7
Nikki D, General Manager at The Britannia Inn, responded to this review

Hi angiegriffiths7, Thanks for your lovely review, we are so glad that you enjoyed your visit so much that you are sharing Christmas with us! Look forward to seeing you soon, Nikki and the team More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2016

I went last week to order a burger to take away as my wife was at the hospital and she didn't want to eat the dinner from the hospital and she wanted to eat some beef. I ordered the burger and ask the guys to prepare it to take away and they told me they didn't serve to take away.... More 

Helpful?
Thank fjgr2
Nikki D, General Manager at The Britannia Inn, responded to this review

Hi fjrgr2, First of all, I hope your wife is well. Being so close to the hospital, food being taken out is a common request that we get and one that I will always accommodate. I am shocked to hear about this incident, as both me and my Assistant Manager Steph have not refused such a request. I need to... More 

rugeley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

Visit today. It was busy but not full. No one working front of house so I had to ask if we should seat ourselves. Went to order food. Stood at one of the bars for 20mins. The chap kept passing and ignoring me. After 20mins I stopped him and asked if anyone serves he said yes when they finished at... More 

Helpful?
Thank Linda W
Nikki D, General Manager at The Britannia Inn, responded to this review

Hi Linda W, I am so sorry that you felt ignored on Sunday. No customer should ever be left waiting, no matter how busy it is. Please give me a call to discuss on 01865760192 or email me at britanniainnheadington@emberinns.co.uk as I would appreciate getting some details from you to ensure that this never happens again, Thank you for your... More 

Travellers who viewed The Britannia Inn also viewed

Caversham, Reading
 
Banbury, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Britannia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Grill
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Seating
Good for
Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Kids, Cheap Eats
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 00:00
Monday
11:00 - 00:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 00:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 00:00
Thursday
11:00 - 00:00
Friday
11:00 - 00:00
Saturday
10:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: London Road | Headington, Oxford OX3 7AA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Oxfordshire  >  Oxford
  • Phone Number: +44 1865 760192

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Britannia Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?