We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Britannia Inn

€€ - €€€
Bar, British, Pub, Grill
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
London Road | Headington, Oxford OX3 7AA, England
+44 1865 760192
Today
11:00 - 00:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Fri 11:00 - 00:00
Sat - Sun 10:00 - 00:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

172 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 165: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Fairly large refurbished local pub. Can be quite busy and service often lacking. Good range of meals which are OK but not outstanding. Selection of real ales. Lacks any kind of personal welcome or attraction.

Helpful?
Thank Nigel M
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very good food and good customer service management was good an a nice restaurant lovely people fish pie was excellent very good chef's

Helpful?
Thank Kirk M
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Booked a table for 10 as a family meal, waited hour and half for our food, when the food came out it was cold, steaks were all fatty it was impossible to cut through. Pub itself was freezing cold, asked for the heating to be put on but still cold inside. Staff were very friendly and offered to change meals... More 

Helpful?
Thank HER1995
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Nice staff but steaks were terrible, freezing cold need to turn the heaters on, 10 of us went for a meal took 1hour 35mins for some of our mains to come out, 8 of our meals had to go back because the steaks were full of fat and gristle, 1st time I've been and not impressed at all unfortunately

Helpful?
Thank Michael A
general manager A, General Manager at The Britannia Inn, responded to this review

I'm so sorry that your food did not meet your expectations. Please call us on 01865760192 if you would like to discuss further. Thanks for your review. The Britannia More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Wot a lovely evening Bar staff and manageress were second to none servis A1 see you again and thankyou 4 a lovely evening

Helpful?
Thank Billy P
general manager A, General Manager at The Britannia Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed NYE! So did we, and the band was amazing. Looking forward to your next visit! Nikki and the team More 

Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went here with some friends a few months ago, and though the decor and staff were nice, the food was pretty terrible. The fried hallumi was not thinly sliced and delicately fried as we'd assumed it would be based on everywhere else we've ever had it, it was literally giant balls of cheese, battered and fried in essentially fish and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Felicity B
general manager A, Guest Relations Manager at The Britannia Inn, responded to this review

Hi Felicity, Thanks for your review of The Britannia. I'm sorry that the food did not meet your expectations. I agree that the halloumi is fried in far too big chunks- This is something that we will pass on to our menu developers, and hopefully this will be changed when our new menu is released in March. I can assure... More 

Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I ate Christmas lunch here with my family. I would definitely recommend. The staff were kind and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The food was well presented and well cooked and there was no hint of slowness. Well done to all xxxx :)

Helpful?
Thank Hugemack75
general manager A, Guest Relations Manager at The Britannia Inn, responded to this review

Hi Hugemack75, Thanks for your lovely review. We're so glad that we got your Christmas Day meal just right for you. It's so nice to receive a review like this and we look forward to your next visit! Nikki and the team More 

Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Pre booked food choices for 21 but had to ask who to speak to about cancellations and additional food, given confused information and waitress was rude when some meals didn't appear. Communication could of been better. Food was good and nice to have reserved area to ourselves.

Helpful?
Thank Angie A
general manager A, Guest Relations Manager at The Britannia Inn, responded to this review

Hi Angie A, I'm sorry that you found our service rude, it's a shame as we tried to accommodate your table when meals were taken off your pre order and the added back on again as the food was being served. We also did not forfeit any of the deposit for those that didn't show, and gave you their deposit... More 

Oxford
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We pre booked including food choices for 14 people for lunch last Sunday 18th December. The starters (for just 2 of our party) were brought out after an hour and the mains didn't arrive for another 45 minutes, so our one year old was pretty cranky after waiting nearly 2 hours for her food. When the mains arrived one was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jo A
general manager A, General Manager at The Britannia Inn, responded to this review

Hi Jo A I am so sorry that you experienced long wait times, as we were busy and understaffed. There is no excuse for the last meal coming out late and I apologise for this. If you would like to discuss this further please call me on 01865760192. Kind Regards, Nicola Devereux General Manager More 

Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had lunch here, very good value with a set menu available. Food was pleasant but did take an exceptionally long time to come and bar service also slow. Pleasant atmosphere and clean. Waitress was very pleasant.

Helpful?
Thank CT E
general manager A, Manager at The Britannia Inn, responded to this review

Ct E, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. I'm really sorry that you have experienced a long wait for the food. We have been a little busier that usual over the last few weeks, and it has impacted the kitchen. Service speed is something that we are striving to improve, and we hope that you will... More 

Travellers who viewed The Britannia Inn also viewed

Banbury, Oxfordshire
 
Caversham, Reading
 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Britannia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Grill
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Seating
Good for
Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 00:00
Monday
11:00 - 00:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 00:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 00:00
Thursday
11:00 - 00:00
Friday
11:00 - 00:00
Saturday
10:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: London Road | Headington, Oxford OX3 7AA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Oxfordshire  >  Oxford
  • Phone Number: +44 1865 760192

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Britannia Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?