We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Tea Set

24 High Street, Chipping Norton OX7 5AD, England
+44 1608 642233
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent66%
  • Very good19%
  • Average10%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“brunch” (5 reviews)
“scones” (23 reviews)
“cake” (17 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Cafe, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
LOCATION
24 High Street, Chipping Norton OX7 5AD, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

En route west, just pulled in and parked 30mins off Banbury Rd. Lovely stop, Earl grey in china pot and Americano (takeaway cup for me) with crumpets. Friendly team serving. Lunch menu looks good but we’re on our way now. Will come again!

Thank Iain R
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Came here on a Saturday lunch. I just had a decaf coffee & my wife had a lady grey tea & we had a carrot cake to share. My coffee was weak and insipid, my wife's tea wad made with tea bags! This is suppose...More

1  Thank Go814289
VRWills, Owner at The Tea Set, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We are so sorry you didn’t enjoy your visit to us yesterday. With regard to the decaf coffee, it is supplied to us in pods so isn’t as strong as normal coffee, however did you mention it to one of our team? Unfortunately we sell...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Called in for lunch nice premises but was very disappointed with food tea was fine but posh cheese on toast with salad and chutney consisted of a thin slice of bread with cheese mixed with ale and Worcester sauce, small pot of chutney and 3...More

Thank Alan J
VRWills, Owner at The Tea Set, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

So sorry you didn’t enjoy your visit, and really very disappointed about your review of our posh cheese, which is a firm favourite with our customers. We make the posh cheese and the apple chutney, we also make all our own scones and cakes and...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We discovered this tea shop on Wednesday and went back twice in the next three days! Friendly and welcoming staff, great tea and coffee, excellent sandwiches, cakes, scones, etc Very enjoyable

Thank GrahamCriddle
VRWills, Owner at The Tea Set, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

It was so lovely to meet you! We’re glad you enjoyed your visits

Reviewed 12 September 2018 via mobile

Had homemade mushroom soup and chocolate Guinness cake. Marvelous! Friendly atmosphere, lovely and relaxing cafe!

Thank Denise A
VRWills, Owner at The Tea Set, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2018

We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit! Our chocolate and Guinness cake is a firm favourite with our customers and the mushroom soup is a real hit too!

Reviewed 8 September 2018 via mobile

This is a nice stop for a coffee. Do a really nice bacon and brie sandwich. Also dog friendly. Worth a visit.

Thank 123taz
VRWills, Owner at The Tea Set, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2018

Thanks so much for taking the time to review us! We really appreciate your comments and feedback and hope to welcome you back again soon

Reviewed 25 August 2018

My Husband and I love to visit The Tea Set when we are in Chipping Norton. Always enjoy the delicious cakes and scones. The staff are friendly and helpful and they kindly lent us an umbrella on our visit today when the sky suddenly opened...More

Thank Sarah1983T
VRWills, Owner at The Tea Set, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2018

Thank you for your lovely review, glad we could help out! See you soon

Reviewed 21 August 2018 via mobile

Had a terrific visit to this little gem yesterday and it was marvellous!! warm welcome and staff could not do enough to help. I am coeliac and was delighted to be cared for in a considerate way! will definitely be back soon! 😊

Thank Jane A
VRWills, Owner at The Tea Set, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2018

We’re so pleased you enjoyed your visit! We always try to accommodate dietary requirements if we can.

Reviewed 14 August 2018

Just go there. Nice people, very accommodating,. Tea, scone and cakes selection should make most people very happy. You will leave there with a smile on your face.

Thank KPS426
VRWills, Owner at The Tea Set, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2018

Thank you so much for your review! We’re very pleased you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon

Reviewed 28 July 2018 via mobile

We visited this tea rooms because we'd read all the wonderful reviews on here. We hadn't booked and it was late in the day, but when we asked if we were too late for afternoon tea, they were more than happy to accommodate us. A...More

Thank Jaanpa
VRWills, Owner at The Tea Set, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2018

Thank you so much for your review! We’re pleased you enjoyed your visit and hope to welcome you back again soon

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 4 hotels in Chipping Norton
Crown and Cushion Hotel
804 reviews
.02 km away
The Fox
265 reviews
.20 km away
Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford
1,469 reviews
4.96 km away
Heythrop Park Resort
1,142 reviews
5.02 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Wild Thyme Restaurant and Rooms
566 reviews
.19 km away
Thai Shire
310 reviews
.07 km away
Whistlers
429 reviews
.03 km away
The Blue Boar
486 reviews
.03 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Chipping Norton Theatre
87 reviews
.07 km away
Station Mill Antiques Centre
60 reviews
.74 km away
The Lido
24 reviews
.46 km away
St Mary the Virgin
11 reviews
.23 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Tea Set staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 16:00
Monday
09:00 - 17:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 17:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 17:00
Thursday
09:00 - 17:00
Friday
09:00 - 17:00
Saturday
09:00 - 17:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 24 High Street, Chipping Norton OX7 5AD, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Oxfordshire  >  Chipping Norton
  • Phone Number: +44 1608 642233
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing