We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Eagle

€€ - €€€, British,
33 Newmarket Road, Norwich NR2 2HN, England
+44 1603 624173
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent53%
  • Very good27%
  • Average9%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
33 Newmarket Road, Norwich NR2 2HN, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (237)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 233 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

Me my husband and son decided to try this restaurant on the off chance it was okay. We weren't disappointed it was more than okay. Me and hubby had the stew, it was lovely tender meat flavoursome gravy, delicious. The son had a burger with...More

Thank Gina D
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The decor here is nice and so are the beers, and flavours/food quality here are good. Ordered a Vegetable lasagne which said with salad but the salad was a small handful of lettuce leaves. However the lasagne itself was very nice. The issue comes with...More

1  Thank Cameron S
James L, Owner at The Eagle, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for your review... on Christmas Day. Sorry that it has taken some time to respond, we were enjoying Christmas, rather than being on Trip Advisor! We hope you had a good Christmas (on Trip Advisor) and New Year. The waitress was correct in that...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Really great service and food, thank you for a great start to the Christmas season. Would book again

Thank andrewA5833DE
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Low points of a large recent party: undetectable Binham Blue cheese in the sweet potato, Binham Blue, spinach wellington. Tiny portion of Norfolk Dapple cheddar (v. nice cheese) with three stale and dull Cream Crackers and margarine.More

2  Thank 799blank
James L, Owner at The Eagle, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Wow! We are really cheesing off the Keyboard Warriors this year! You would think that these comments are starting to grate on us or we would be getting (cheese) board of them! Of course not we just want people to have a Gouda time, you...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Another great Christmas works meal, great food , great service again loved every minute .Looking forward to next year 🙂🎄☃️❄️🍻 thanks to all!

1  Thank Simon H
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had our works Christmas bash here. It’s a good location with good parking. I went for 3 courses. The starter was a rather unusual smoked salmon parcel. Not unpleasant, the salmon was good although inside the parcel was a rather runny dip. The main...More

1  Thank ambarpete
James L, Owner at The Eagle, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your comments. We are glad that enjoyed your starter main. With regards to the cheese I would just like to point out a few things. Firstly, you didn't order a cheese board, as we do not offer one with our Christmas Menu....More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Booked a few weeks ago for a birthday meal and arrived to find no record of our booking but we did get seated although the staff behind the bar looked bored and miserable and didn't really care that we had booked. The birthday boy needs...More

3  Thank Stephen H
James L, Owner at The Eagle, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Stephen, I can only apologise. As you may read on here I will fight back against reviews that I feel are unjust or pointless. Your experience was completely unacceptable. I have spent today investigating what happened, and all those involved at least had the...More

Reviewed 14 December 2017 via mobile

I had the pork belly, the chef could have sliced up, I had a tough job cutting into it. They should have given me a steak knife. They also left the string on it. I ended up not eating much of it. What a waste.More

Thank Linda W
James L, Owner at The Eagle, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2017

Dear Linda, Thank you so much for your comments and thanks for saving them all for Trip Advisor. The Rolled Belly of Pork is one of our most popular dishes, and whilst served with different accompaniments it is the only dish which transcends the Main,...More

Reviewed 7 December 2017

Large Xmas group. Starters generous and tasty. Main courses rich and well presented, nice flavours. Cheese & biscuits - what a let down. Three cream crackers, a single finger of celery, a rather sweet tomato chutney and ONE thin slither of cheddar. Mine had white...More

Thank Liz H
James L, Owner at The Eagle, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

Thank you very much for your comments regarding the Christmas meal. I'm glad that you enjoyed that starters and mains. Just to address the issues with the cheese, as you have noted our portions are generous, and we feel that by the time you get...More

Reviewed 7 December 2017 via mobile

After a four hour trek, spotted The Eagle near my hotrl. The bar manger as most welcoming and helpful. I was able to sample brew from the revived Yarmouth Brewer Lacon great cosy atmosphere Very good if you're by yourself. The fish pie was the...More

1  Thank hickman j
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 50 hotels in Norwich
Best Western Annesley House Hotel
683 reviews
.17 km away
Best Western George Hotel
480 reviews
.24 km away
The Beeches Lodge
58 reviews
.65 km away
Travelodge Norwich Central
420 reviews
.70 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Goulash House
112 reviews
.48 km away
New Sole Plaice
134 reviews
.53 km away
Littlehaven Coffee Co
118 reviews
.48 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Plantation Garden
337 reviews
1.05 km away
Norwich Theatre Royal
665 reviews
.88 km away
The Forum
353 reviews
.97 km away
St Peter Mancroft
104 reviews
.89 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Jasmine S
7 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from James L | Property representative |
It sure does. There is a blackboard on the bar with the details on it.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$7 - US$28
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Child-friendly, Business meetings, Kids, Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:30
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:30
Saturday
10:00 - 23:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 33 Newmarket Road, Norwich NR2 2HN, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Norfolk  >  Norwich
  • Phone Number: +44 1603 624173
  • E-mail
Description
Set just outside of Norwich city centre. The Eagle is a stunning building with a large beautiful garden. We offer fresh locally sourced food and a selection of local ales, as well as wines and beers from around the world.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing