We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Kensington Place

#1,851 of 17,939 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Get directions
201-209 Kensington Church Street, London W8 7LX, England
+44 20 7727 3184
Website
Today
18:30 - 22:30
12:00 - 14:45
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 16:00
Mon - Thu 18:30 - 22:30
Tue - Sat 12:00 - 14:45
Fri - Sat 18:30 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

345 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 308: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

I booked the brunch offer because they had one of the nicest set menus online and the price was reasonable. When we walked in, they put our jackets away in the cloakroom and they took us to the table. I must admit that I was a bit concerned about the distance between us and the couple beside us, but once... More 

Helpful?
Thank LDM1989
Sundsvall, Sweden
Level Contributor
159 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

We had Sunday lunch here & ordered a selection of seafood with the bottomless Prosecco. The staff were friendly & very helpful, the food was good & seating & decor comfortable. We will definitely revisit this restaurant next time we are in London.

Helpful?
Thank Kieron L
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This restaurant has really gone down from a few years ago when there was a very good Chef. The food was not great, only the sea bream. The service was terrible. The young guys looked and walked like zombies and like they did not care. My son had no forks on his setting and nobody brought any after bringing the... More 

Helpful?
Thank anitaringsell
Trinidad and Tobago
Level Contributor
1,069 reviews
499 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 624 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

this place has undergone a few re-inventions and now its all fish - its a fish riven menue and this is a far cry from whrre it all began when i first visited in 1990. Food was good, tasty and nicely presented. Small dishes, though. nice to be back

Helpful?
Thank FOL-1003
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

After a pleasant late-night supper with my husband a week or two ago when we were almost the last customers in the restaurant (wonderful chips but fish slightly dried up in the batter), we were extremely depressed when the manager, who had taken our coats on arrival in exchange for a token, failed to find my much-loved down-filled black coat,... More 

Helpful?
Thank CJCazalet
Adam N, Manager at Kensington Place, responded to this review

Dear CJ Cazalet, First of all I wish to sincerely apologise that your coat was taken by another customer that evening. Unfortunately as we had one remaining coat left at the end of the night it is clear someone mistakenly took the wrong coat and sadly never returned to bring yours back and swap it with their own. This the... More 

Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
116 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The kitchen knows how to prepare fish! Simply done, roasted in our case, the fresh turbot and sole were spectacular. Wine list complements the fish menu. Prices are a good value. Starters were excellent. Spare, cool space on Kensington Church Street.

Helpful?
Thank Timothy C
Adam N, Manager at Kensington Place, responded to this review

Dear Timothy C, You clearly know us very well... We do pride ourselves on our fish dominated menu as we have our own fishmongers, so we are thrilled to hear you enjoyed the turbot & sole in particular! We look forward to welcoming you when next you return & thanks again for joining us. Kind regards, Adam Nash More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Hadn't been for years Limited menu-nothing wrong with that Reasonable choice semi sensible pricing Very small "portions " and took forever 1 hour and 45 minutes for 2 courses in a pretty empty restaurant Certainly won't be going again

Helpful?
Thank ar449150
Adam N, Manager at Kensington Place, responded to this review

Dear ar 449510 I am sorry to hear about your experience with us and wish to take this time to apologise for the wait on your food. We have many guests that dine at lunch or dinner who have limited time and we are able provide a quick service to ensure they are not delayed but am sorry this was... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our starters consisted out of the Tuna Tartare and an Eggs Royale. I know, I should keep to the fish theme for my started but boy, was this Eggs Royale the best I have ever tasted!!?? Hollandaise sauce was made to perfection and when the poached egg joined the party it was fantastic. Had to restrain myself not to lick... More 

Helpful?
Thank RonT65
Adam N, Manager at Kensington Place, responded to this review

Dear Ron T, Thank you so much for this wonderful review. We are known to provide some of the best fish in London and am glad to hear you enjoyed your Monkfish. The cod is also one of our most popular dishes and am thrilled to hear your wife enjoyed this too. To top it all off ‘the best Eggs... More 

2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had a meal here with my wife after looking up recommendations on various websites. We were disappointed with the overall experience. We had the set menu which was set at a very reasonable price and included a free prosecco. The starter and main were tasty but extremely small in portion size, my flat iron steak wasn't a steak it consisted... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nicholas C
Adam N, Manager at Kensington Place, responded to this review

Dear Nicholas, Thanks for taking the time to leave a review of your experience… I am sorry to hear we did not match your expectations and you were disappointed with your experience. Most of our guests find our set menu portions reasonable because of the very attractive price, but am disappointed to learn you weren’t satisfied. I really hope this... More 

London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Terrible service let down what was a very good meal.. the food was very good, but the standard of service was very poor, so much so that it ruined the experience

Helpful?
Thank Rupert B
Adam N, Manager at Kensington Place, responded to this review

Dear Rupert, I am pleased to hear you enjoyed our food but very disappointed you thought the service was poor. We pride ourselves on our vast number of returning - regular guests who visit us on a weekly (some daily) basis to interact with our friendly team. However, I am saddened to hear this was not the case with your... More 

Been to Kensington Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$40 - US$56
Cuisine
European, British, Soups, Seafood, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Highchairs Available
Good for
Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 16:00
Monday
18:30 - 22:30
Tuesday
18:30 - 22:30
12:00 - 14:45
Wednesday
18:30 - 22:30
12:00 - 14:45
Thursday
18:30 - 22:30
12:00 - 14:45
Friday
12:00 - 14:45
18:30 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 14:45
18:30 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 201-209 Kensington Church Street, London W8 7LX, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  London
  • Phone Number: +44 20 7727 3184
Description
Kensington Place remains one of London's iconic neighbourhood restaurants serving simple and stylish food in a relaxed atmosphere, surrounded by the buzz of Notting Hill. Dan Loftin's menu celebrates the best of British fish, as well as featuring classic brasserie dishes. All dishes are made using local ingredients and sustainably sourced fish from Billingsgate Market and the British coast. KP (as it is affectionately referred to by locals), also has an extensive wine list available both by the glass and bottle. Next door to the restaurant is The Fish Shop, offering a wide choice of fish and crustacea.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Kensington Place staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?