We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sumosan Twiga

#7,909 of 17,938 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
165 Sloane Street | Knightsbridge, London SW1X 9QB, England
+44 20 3096 0222
12:00 - 02:00
Open now
See all hours
Sun - Sat 12:00 - 02:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

205 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 167: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I went with two friends for a mid week dinner. We ordered among others the pasta with lamb Ragu which was exceptional, the black cod was phenomenal , the tofu was delicious , chicken teriyaki very tasty, along with some starters and salads. The food was fantastic and we were very happy ! The service could have been better. The... More 

Thank NatassaMarkopoulou
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I called three times trying to book for a party of 10 three weeks ahead and each time I was told they needed to speak to the manager and would call me back the next day to confirm. No one ever called me back. They either don't need my business or are very incompetent. Anyway, I booked somewhere else where... More 

2 Thank JM R
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The food is not as good as when they were in Mayfair, even the lobster salad which we always ordered is different, it's more Italian to me now then it's sushi, with the Italian menu, even the service is like an Italian restaurant service not a Japanese sushi top restaurant. Very loud music it's like a club or a bar.... More 

Thank ahmed m
Management response:

Dear Ahmed, I am very sorry you did not have a perfect experience. The new Sumosan is a joint venture with Twiga, and it is a different concept. We aim to create a lively, fun and casual atmosphere, different from any other restaurant London has ever seen. Please, come visit us again and have fun with us! Best regards Sumosan... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I would love to say that the food was great but we never got the chance to try it. They were so rude to us that I will never get the chance to try it since I'm never going back. Some friends were visiting from out of town and heard this place had a fun atmosphere. So I made a... More 

1 Thank tamsinash
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I was a big fan of Sumosan when it was on Albermarle street (Mayfair). They moved to Knightsbridge a few months ago. I visited today with my wife and the whole concept was unrecognisable. First of all, I was confused - is it a Japanese or Italian restaurant. When I opened the menu I actually saw both Italian and Japanese... More 

1 Thank Burssik B
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Definetely my worst experience ever in a restaurant. I have been there with my girlfriend for S.Valentine's day and there was nothing romantic except for some heart balloons in a small corner far away. We arrived there after having booked a table, and with the whole *empty* room, we have been given the seat at the only table that was... More 

1 Thank Arcangelo M
Management response:

Dear Arcangelo, we are extremely sorry to hear that your experience was not excellent and that you felt uncomfortable. We always try to provide a high end service, this is the reason why your water was quickly refilled and the order and the food came quickly. Again, very sorry about this situation. I hope you will try our restaurant again,... More 

1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The first time and the last time it will be in this restaurant,, worst service i saw in my live also i booked table and i wait for 1 hours and i am so an embarrassed form my friend bc what happen, furthermore the manager and employees. Thank ( Sumosan Twiga )

3 Thank saeed a
Management response:

Dear Saeed, I am very sorry to hear about your bad experience. Unluckly sometimes we do get very busy, and some tables get to wait a little bit before seating. I sincerely apoligize for that. I hope you will try our restaurant again. We will do our best not to disappoint you. Best regards Sumosan Twiga Team More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

First time impressions very important, Great food you can't make mistake socially with the signature Lobster Salad .

Thank Abdullah A
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2017 via mobile

We came to Sumosan Twiga on a Saturday night and had no idea what to expect. The restaurant is on two spacious floors upstairs and the kitchen is on the first floor so food had to be carried upstairs continuously. There is a bar area on each floor and we were seated on the first floor. The menu is a... More 

Thank Peter H
Valbonne, France
Level Contributor
131 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2017

So....we went for the early bird special...on a Friday night...my sister and I and a 7pm reservation...which we were very kindly asked to liberate within an hour and a half or otherwise we would have to sit upstairs....in the naughty corner? Sumosan Twiga feels like a restaurant in someone's house....the room actually feels like a big sitting room converted into... More 

1 Thank IntrepidTraveller06

Travellers who viewed Sumosan Twiga also viewed

London, England
London, England
London, England

Been to Sumosan Twiga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$81 - US$93
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Wheelchair Accessible, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Private Dining, Parking Available, Valet Parking, Free Wifi
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
Good for
Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
12:00 - 02:00
12:00 - 02:00
12:00 - 02:00
12:00 - 02:00
12:00 - 02:00
12:00 - 02:00
12:00 - 02:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 165 Sloane Street | Knightsbridge, London SW1X 9QB, England
  • Public Transportation: Green Park underground station
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  London>  > Belgravia
  • Neighbourhood: Belgravia
  • Phone Number: +44 20 3096 0222
Struggling to choose between Italian and Japanese? Well, at this restaurant, cocktail bar and late-night lounge, you don't have to. After 14 years on Albemarle Street, Sumosan's relocation to Knightsbridge brings with it a menu that splits itself right between both, as well as a new name (twiga is Swahili for 'giraffe'). Beyond the monochrome entrance hall lies a basement lounge, a first-floor restaurant and the bar above that, with room for 200 diners altogether. This newcomer retains the same dizzying levels of interior swank as Mayfair. It's a concoction of black, bronze, alabaster and dark wood, overseen by Italian design studio Michele Bönan. The huge site has been undertaken in partnership with Flavio Briatore (the former manager of the Benetton Formula 1 team) and there's room for 300 guests over two floors. Our advice? Don't miss the miso aubergine and spicy king crab dishes. The famously sublime sushi is now joined by the likes of lobster paccheri pasta, in a fresh tomato sauce. Yes, there's a Limoncello Wasabi cocktail on the list, but this is cuisine for the indecisive, not the fusion fan.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sumosan Twiga staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?

Staying in Belgravia

Neighbourhood Profile
Home to the vast majority of embassies and diplomatic residences in London, sophisticated and upscale Belgravia also boasts a wealth of luxury hotels, fine dining restaurants, and some of the city’s most stroll worthy lanes. While the prices here are high, taking a leisurely stroll through the streets of picturesque and elegant white stucco houses is free. Hyde Park and the Buckingham Palace Gardens are only a stone's throw away to the north, and some of Europe’s best shopping is nearby as well.
Explore this neighbourhood