We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Thirty Six

#1,301 of 17,835 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
€€€€
Neighbourhood:
St. James's
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Get directions
Dukes Hotel | 35-36 Saint James's Place, London SW1A 1NY, England
+44 20 7491 4840
Website
Today
07:00 - 10:30
18:00 - 21:30
12:00 - 14:30
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 07:00 - 10:30
Mon - Sat 18:00 - 21:30
Tue - Sun 12:00 - 14:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

213 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 205: English reviews
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great central location. Great service. Good food. Full London pricing. A Tuesday night and reasonable number of covers hence great for my private Birthday dinner.

Helpful?
Thank Kathryn G
Kent
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

Afternoon tea at Dukes started with a glass of bubbly in a beautiful room with friendly service BUT the food was very disappointing. Dry sandwiches followed by dry, burnt scones. When replaced the next scones were dry but not burned. The teapot leaked and overall the tea was far from 5 star.

Helpful?
2 Thank LinnyA
André O, General Manager at Thirty Six, responded to this review

Dear LinnyA, Firstly may I thank you for taking the time to provide us your feedback in regards to your recent experience at DUKES LONDON. I am disappointed to read that you had a few issues that had affected your experience. Feedback such as yours is crucial for us to and of the highest importance in order to improve the... More 

Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
211 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2017

We had the Nigel Winter Menu which was £29 a head. Everything was delicious and beautifully laid out on the plate. My dietary requirements (gluten free and no mushrooms) were accommodated without fuss and the gluten free bread was warm and very nice. The service was prompt, friendly and helpful. The glass of wine which was included with the deal... More 

Helpful?
Thank Barbara V
André O, General Manager at Thirty Six, responded to this review

Dear Arctophile28, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at THIRTY SIX, I am delighted to know that you enjoyed most aspects of your dinner, your feedback is highly valued and appreciated. I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to THIRTY SIX on your next visit. Sincerely, Andre Oliveira Food & Beverage Manager DUKES... More 

Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2016

We really enjoyed the five course taster menu, expected the portion size to be very small. but it was just right. the food was delicious, and the waiting staff were very attentive. Perhaps the decor was a little dated, but this did not spoil the enjoyment. We had a drink in the bar first, very expensive, but excellent quality and... More 

Helpful?
Thank familymason
André O, General Manager at Thirty Six, responded to this review

Dear familymason, Thank you for sharing your review of THIRTY SIX Restaurant. It was a pleasure to read your compliments on our excellent food and service. I will pass on your great feedback to our team. Please allow me to inform you very earlier next year we will be taking a step forward into updating our venue which surely will... More 

San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2016

Lovely ambience and excellent food, as well as superb service. They know us, and always welcome us with great warmth.

Helpful?
Thank insearchoflight
André O, General Manager at Thirty Six, responded to this review

Dear insearchoflight, Thank you for sharing your review of THIRTY SIX Restaurant. It was a pleasure to read your compliments on our breakfast service namely the food and attentive staff. I will pass on your great feedback to the team and the executive chef. We look forward to welcoming you back soon, please don't hesitate to contact me for any... More 

Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2016

First time to Thirty Six and we were impressed. The food was of a very high standard and very well presented. All five courses were really excellent. We had scallop, ham hock, plaice, lamb and chocolate. The amuse bouche to start was also very tasty. Wines were really good. Staff were really friendly and attentive. It's a bit off the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tony P
André O, General Manager at Thirty Six, responded to this review

Dear Tony P, Thank you for sharing your review of THIRTY SIX Restaurant. It was a pleasure to read your compliments on our excellent food and service. The tasting menu has been carefully designed for this festive period. I will pass on your great feedback to our team. Please allow me to inform you of our awarded afternoon tea a... More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2016

Great restaurant with friendly helpful staff & delicious food. We had the tasting menu & it was very good.

Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
André O, General Manager at Thirty Six, responded to this review

Dear Sarah C, Thank you for sharing your review of THIRTY SIX Restaurant. It was a pleasure to read your compliments on our excellent food quality and service. I will pass on your great feedback to our team. Allow me to inform you of our one and only G&T afternoon tea in London a menu also design by Nigel Mendham... More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2016 via mobile

The restaurant is beautiful and the staff are very professional (especially kristina who gave a very touching speech and celebration plate after we got engaged in the hotel) the food is nice, not outstanding but very pleasant. The only down side is the the wait time between courses which are fairly long however the restaurant is very comfortable so we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Littlefoodies
André O, General Manager at Thirty Six, responded to this review

Dear Littlefoodies, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at THIRTY SIX, I am delighted to know that you enjoyed most aspects of your experience, your feedback is highly valued and appreciated and shall address with the team. I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to THIRTY SIX on your next visit. Sincerely, Andre... More 

Level Contributor
132 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2016

Eating off the Prix Fixe by special reservation and including the selected wines pairing was a lovely experience with very good if short of Tiptop food, still an overall truly excellent evening. In a special little private hotel, Dukes, with a very famous martini bar, we had a lovely, undisturbed evening with a friend with no rush or cramped character.... More 

Helpful?
Thank redanman
André O, General Manager at Thirty Six, responded to this review

Dear redanman, Thank you for sharing your review of THIRTY SIX Restaurant. It was a pleasure to read your compliments on our food and service. I will pass on your great feedback to the team. I would like leave a suggestion for your next visit, to experiment our Awarded Afternoon Tea, which will surely enhance your experience at our venue.... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2016

As a group of woman of a certain age we had started a tradition of celebrating our 50th birthdays at Dukes with their delicious afternoon tea. This was our 4th visit in 18 months. We were very much disappointed. The sandwiches were awful, we didn't get the delicious coronation chicken sandwiches. The bread was stale, the cucumber sandwiches were soggy.... More 

Helpful?
Thank AOEAOE
André O, General Manager at Thirty Six, responded to this review

Dear AOEAOE, Firstly may I thank you for taking the time to provide us your detailed feedback in regards to your recent stay at DUKES LONDON. I am disappointed to read that you had a few issues that had affected your experience. Feedback such as yours is crucial for us to and of the highest importance in order to improve... More 

Travellers who viewed Thirty Six also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Thirty Six? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
European, British, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Private Dining, Seating, Full Bar
Good for
Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Open Hours
Sunday
07:00 - 10:30
12:00 - 14:30
Monday
07:00 - 10:30
18:00 - 21:30
Tuesday
07:00 - 10:30
18:00 - 21:30
12:00 - 14:30
Wednesday
07:00 - 10:30
18:00 - 21:30
12:00 - 14:30
Thursday
07:00 - 10:30
18:00 - 21:30
12:00 - 14:30
Friday
07:00 - 10:30
18:00 - 21:30
12:00 - 14:30
Saturday
07:00 - 10:30
18:00 - 21:30
12:00 - 14:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Dukes Hotel | 35-36 Saint James's Place, London SW1A 1NY, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  London>  > St. James's
  • Neighbourhood: St. James's
  • Phone Number: +44 20 7491 4840
Description
In 2012 THIRTY-SIX was awarded three rosettes for culinary excellence. Indeed, Nigel's cuisine is some of the best modern British food you will find in the region. Interestingly, the secret of his excellence is the balance between classical flavours meticulously prepared, and a contemporary flair to produce both stunning presentation and taste.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Thirty Six and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Thirty Six staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?

Staying in St. James's

Neighbourhood Profile
St. James's
Perennially fashionable since the days of Henry VIII, the aristocratic “Clubland” of St James's is a premier destination for high end craft and bespoke design. Here you’ll lose count of the Royal Warrants (which indicate that the Royal Family patronizes the establishment) seen in shop front windows, even during a short stroll to bordering Green Park or St James’s Park. With the brightly lit and constantly buzzing junction of Piccadilly Circus at its northeast corner and none of Central London too far away, this is an surprisingly central and accessible part of town, especially given its prosperous demeanor.
Explore this neighbourhood