We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Jugged Hare

#5,964 of 17,934 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
€€ - €€€
Neighbourhood:
Westminster
Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Get directions
172 Vauxhall Bridge Road | Victoria, London SW1V 1DX, England
+44 20 7828 1543
Website
Today
11:00 - 23:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 21:00
Mon - Sat 11:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

117 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 110: English reviews
Ramstein-Miesenbach, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The staff were very friendly and the food was good. I would recommend the pies as they are excellent.

Helpful?
Thank Shane S
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Today me and my friend had Sunday roast .This was my first Sunday Roast here and it did not disappoint!! The roast is huge so you are gonna have to come hungry or have stretchy trousers. The staff very friendly, polite and professional.Will come back to try the roast chicken with a bigger group .(hope they will have it)

Helpful?
Thank SmallWizard
Greater London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Popped in for lunch the other day, was chatting to Matt behind the bar, was really engaging with great knowledge of the beers. I had a stilton and sweet potato pie with mash, went down really well with a couple of pints. Great option for Lunch in the city.

Helpful?
1 Thank gkirby1291
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2017

Felt this pub had no atmosphere, food very disappointing, lady eventually brought meal after three attempts, she kept bringing other customers meals and there were just a few customers in the pub, the meal was not appetizing. Would not recommend this place, sorry to say, do not enjoy writing bad reviews !!!

Helpful?
Thank Jen C
thejuggedhare, General Manager at The Jugged Hare, responded to this review

Dear Jen, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are very sad to hear you did not enjoy your visit with us. We always try our best to make sure everyone enjoys their visit with us, however sometimes we do get things wrong. All feedbacks are taken on board and used to make our service... More 

Delft, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
559 reviews
387 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2017

We lunched here at 2 Jan and it was extremely cold, the pies were ok but not price winning as said on the menu (ah maybe according to UK standards, but not to continental standards), wine was good, the waittresss friendly.

Helpful?
Thank jooplent
thejuggedhare, General Manager at The Jugged Hare, responded to this review

Dear Jooplent, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Our AWARD-WINNING pie is the POSH STARGAZY which won the British Pie Awards in 2016, all of our pies are hand made and cooked in house. We also offer a selection of traditional dishes on our main menu which might be more to your taste. The next... More 

Level Contributor
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2016 via mobile

This wasn't the best experience. I visited this place with a team of 10, we did pre-booked, they were very unprepared for our booking We ordered food at 11:45 and had to prompt the waiter at 12:50 for the dishes, that came out minutes later ( I assume the waitress forgot about our food). 3 of us sent our food... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alicia L
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2016 via mobile

Sadly I have failed to eat at The Jugged Hare twice in the last six days despite making advanced bookings on both occasions. Last week I was called two and a half hours before my booking to cancel. Tonight I was called 15 minutes before to cancel my booking. We were already on our way. This lack of reliability over... More 

Helpful?
Thank Professortimmy
London
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2016

I won't go into great detail as I am of the same party of another recent review, however, I would highly recommend that this venue is avoided at all costs for events/parties bigger than 6-8 people. The management, staff and kitchen were unable to manage a large Christmas party booking (which had been booked, coordinated and planned with the venue... More 

Helpful?
Thank Liblet22
Level Contributor
129 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2016 via mobile

Popped in for lunch after work one Saturday as our local was full, so glad we gave it a punt. Really nice laid back atmosphere and happy to accommodate sports requests on the TVs. Although its famed for its pies, I went for Mac and cheese for lunch which was delicious! It came bubbling hot with a crispy cheese top... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ali_Royal_2015
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2016

We booked this venue to host a Christmas party for our work directorate; approx 60 people. A three course sit-down meal in a private area upstairs. They should never have accepted the booking as they've neither the space nor the manpower to serve a group of our size. We were told to arrive at 2.30pm promptly so that the starters... More 

Helpful?
Thank Carrera Leigh D

Travellers who viewed The Jugged Hare also viewed

 

Been to The Jugged Hare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Seating, Street Parking, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover, Reservations, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available
Good for
Bar Scene, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 21:00
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:00
Saturday
11:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 172 Vauxhall Bridge Road | Victoria, London SW1V 1DX, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  London>  > Westminster
  • Neighbourhood: Westminster
  • Phone Number: +44 20 7828 1543

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Jugged Hare and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Jugged Hare staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?

Staying in Westminster

Neighbourhood Profile
Westminster
If you only had an afternoon to experience London on a grand scale, Westminster would be a wise place to start. The ornate Houses of Parliament and Westminster Abbey sit adjacent at a corner of Parliament Square, and a short stroll along The Mall leads to Buckingham Palace. Trafalgar Square and Nelson's Column are just up the road as well. As captivating as the architecture is, the wonders of Mother Nature are highlights of the area too. St James's Park (arguably London's loveliest), the expansive Green Park, and pedestrian friendly tree lined paths along the river showcase the exquisite manicure provided by English gardeners. Just beyond the landmarks and the gorgeous outdoor spaces, quiet residential squares and age old local pubs offer a more subdued take on this global seat of power in the heart of London.
Explore this neighbourhood