We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Slug and Lettuce

) #14,543 of 18,151 Restaurants in London €€ - €€€ , British,
City of London 5 Fetter Lane, London EC4A 1BR, England
+44 845 126 2905
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Overview
  • Excellent29%
  • Very good36%
  • Average13%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible12%
23 Dec 2016
“Don't choose the Chicken strips or the skinny fries”
15 Nov 2016
“Good for lunch”
Open Now
10:00 - 22:00All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Brew Pub, Pub
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
City of London 5 Fetter Lane, London EC4A 1BR, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2017

I don't have the words to describe what a horrible experience this was. We will definitely NEVER visit this place ever.... We were a group of 6 and when we arrived the place was empty except for few folks drinking their lunch. We were never...More

Thank RicoRicky
slugfetterlane, Manager at The Slug and Lettuce, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2017

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback, I would like to apologise for the experience you had. Can you please email me and we can discuss the matter further. sales.s&lfetterlane@stonegatepubs.com

Reviewed 29 June 2017

A central London establishment would be conscious of the needs of clientele, you would think, but not here. We booked a table for 4 for 12.30pm, but were told on arrival to sit where we liked - in a standoffish way. So we did, and...More

Thank theholidayingsisters
slugfetterlane, Manager at The Slug and Lettuce, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2017

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback, I would like to apologise for the experience you had. Can you please email me and we can discuss the matter further. sales.s&lfetterlane@stonegatepubs.com

Reviewed 7 June 2017

Our tour co. Booked our pub dinner here. The tour guide gave the pub the food count and no. Of guests 24 hrs before our arrival. When our group of 75 arrived we found tables set up with mismatched chairs. It took 30 mins. For...More

1  Thank georwc
slugfetterlane, Manager at The Slug and Lettuce, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2017

Hi Georwc, Thank you for your feedback, and we apologise for any problems caused.

A TripAdvisor Member
4
Reviewed 28 April 2017 via mobile

Extremely packed restaurant/pub, if you can call it either of those. A nonplussed service all round and worse than average food. We took the liberty of renaming some of the dishes. Grilled chicken burger = fowl burger, bangers and mash = bangers and smash (if...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
slugfetterlane, Manager at The Slug and Lettuce, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2017

I am so sorry to hear of your unfortunate dining experience with us, we are in the process of menu change and staff recruitment within the kitchen and floor. In the next coming weeks we have a brand new menu, if you would like to...More

Reviewed 24 April 2017 via mobile

We went as part of a hen do for their cocktail making class. Didn't realise we would have the whole bar to ourselves!! It was super good value we got food, bubbles, we made our cocktail and a shot. The guys running it were very...More

1  Thank Hayley H
slugfetterlane, Director of Sales at The Slug and Lettuce, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2017

Thank you so much for complimenting our service and the masterclass! We're glad you had a lot of fun and the guys running the shift had a great time hosting you and your party!

Reviewed 21 April 2017

I went there with a group of friends on (Wine) Wednesday evening for birthday drinks. I phoned a week before to book an area and was told they would check and call me back. They did not so I called again and was told they...More

1  Thank Sharon W
slugfetterlane, Director of Sales at The Slug and Lettuce, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2017

I am sorry to hear of this unfortunate experience you had with us last week. Since your visit the start of this week has seen a growth in staff, with myself taking on bookings and sales management, the food ordering is now being managed and...More

Reviewed 4 April 2017 via mobile

Drinks good food awful as bit onto glass in my wrap. I gave my details to them but even after I contacted them to say I have a problem with my tooth they have not contacted me back. Very rude and will never go in...More

1  Thank lindjoy
slugfetterlane, Front Office Manager at The Slug and Lettuce, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2017

Hi, We are so sorry to hear that no one has got back to you! Could you please email us on slugandlettuce.fetterlane@stonegatepubs.com Thank you, Gemma Harris Sales & Events Manager

Reviewed 1 March 2017

I have visited the Slug and Lettuce in Fetter Lane on numerous occasions and found the food and service to be of an average level but thought it is what it is. We arranged a leaving lunch for 6 of us and thought that the...More

1  Thank VWA
slugfetterlane, Front Office Manager at The Slug and Lettuce, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2017

We're so sorry you had such a terrible experience. We would love it if you would come and book with us again, and i'll even throw in another complimentary bottle of prosecco :)

Reviewed 24 February 2017

We visited here for lunchtime drinks / food today. We waited ages before being even being offered a menu (which we had to ask for). The Menu seems to have reduced significantly since my last visit in December. Food took an age to arrive and...More

2  Thank clarabear91
slugfetterlane, Front Office Manager at The Slug and Lettuce, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2017

I am so sorry you had such a negative experience. We would love it if you would book with us again and ill throw in a complimentary bottle of prosecco :)

Reviewed 12 February 2017

It is rare that I am so negative about a place I visit but our experience here was very poor. We arrived in the afternoon to an empty pub. We counted just 7 other customers. We ordered our food and was told it would take...More

1  Thank Shipahoyahoy
Nearby
City of London
From its ancient past as a Roman trading outpost to
its 21st century status as the wealthiest square mile
in the world, the financial district known simply as
“The City” is one of London's most historic and
fascinating neighbourhoods. Here high rise office
towers such as Norman Foster’s Gherkin mingle with
Roman ruins and architectural marvels from virtually
every era in between, including Christopher Wren's
...More
Nearby Restaurants
Ye Olde Cheshire Cheese
1,415 reviews
.14 km away
Gaucho - Chancery Lane
383 reviews
.15 km away
Brasserie Blanc Chancery Lane
146 reviews
.14 km away
Cigalon
196 reviews
.15 km away
Nearby Attractions
Temple Church
440 reviews
.17 km away
Dr. Johnson's House
151 reviews
.11 km away
Middle Temple Hall
65 reviews
.27 km away
St Bride's
78 reviews
.15 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Slug and Lettuce staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$19 - US$21
Cuisine
Bar, British, Brew Pub, Pub
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Groups, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Monday
10:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 22:00
Thursday
10:00 - 23:00
Friday
10:00 - 01:00
Saturday
10:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: City of London 5 Fetter Lane, London EC4A 1BR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  London>  > City of London
  • Neighbourhood: City of London
  • Phone Number: +44 845 126 2905
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing