We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Riverside

) #14,994 of 18,176 Restaurants in London €€ - €€€ , British,
5 St. George Wharf | Hamilton House, London SW8 2LE, England
+44 20 7735 8129
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Overview
  • Excellent14%
  • Very good28%
  • Average19%
  • Poor23%
  • Terrible16%
Travellers talk about
“venison pie” (2 reviews)
“fish platter” (2 reviews)
“poached eggs” (3 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
5 St. George Wharf | Hamilton House, London SW8 2LE, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 190 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

Very nice location along the river. Food is tasty and comes in large portions. Had the fish and chips which was quite good.

Thank WvHmmngbrd
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lovely venue right on the river, it was warm and sunny so sat outside. Staff helpful and friendly and we ordered drinks and burgers. Food tastes good and really big portion sizes.... Great place for an impromptu meal and a few wines.More

Thank Amy H
Hannah S, Sales & marketing at The Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Amy Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your time with us and i will be sure to pass over your comments to the rest of the team. We look forward...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited on admittedly on a hot summer evening, but a 20 minute wait at the bar where the staff the staff who weren't scruffy were engaged in serving anyone but those standing at the bar, unless you were a personal acquaintance when miraculously instant service...More

Thank James O
Hannah S, Sales & marketing at The Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi James Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate all our customer feedback good or bad. I would like to apologies that you felt let down by the standard of our service. I would like to discuss this with...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Went for a drink on a sunny Wednesday evening. Venue is modern and in a great spot on the river. Reserved a table for two online but when I arrived, the only member of staff outside didn't know what system for reservations operated, but to...More

Thank Norbertarthur
Hannah S, Sales & marketing at The Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Norbert Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate all our customer feedback good or bad. I would like to apologies that you felt let down by the standard of our service. I would like to discuss this with...More

Reviewed 20 June 2017 via mobile

Lovely setting, even if you can't really see the river from the majority of outside seats. Hugely overpriced drinks even by London standards and even by riverside pub standards. Lack of bar staff didn't help ease the financial burden. On the plus side....lovely clean toilets!!More

Thank richard s
Hannah S, Sales & marketing at The Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hi Richard Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I sincerely apologise that your experience was not up to standard on your last visit to us. We are currently in the process of recruiting so our speed of service is on...More

Reviewed 12 June 2017

We stopped for a late lunch at The Riverside after completing a Lambeth riverside walk. There were six in our group and it was no problem accommodating us in this spacious and modern pub. The views of the Thames are lovely and the food is...More

Thank Norman S
.Riverside V, Sales & marketing at The Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2017

Hi Norman Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and with such wonderful comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit to us and that we could help end your day on a good note. I will be sure to...More

Reviewed 4 June 2017

This restaurant is in a lovely location with views of the river, not far from Vauxhall bridge. We visited after a day of cricket at The Oval as it's very close. Our waitress Laura was lovely but unfortunately they'd run out of my choice of...More

Thank Wendy H
.Riverside V, Sales & marketing at The Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2017

Hi Wendy Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I do apologise that we had ran out of your first choice in dishes. We do freshly prepare our meals on the day, so on unexpectedly busy days it is possible that...More

Reviewed 4 June 2017 via mobile

We have been coming here for years for the roasts which are usually very good.....but today we were very dissapointed! The food is usually well seasoned with huge portions and lots of veg, bread sauce and stuffing with the chicken...today the portion was much smaller...More

Thank jjthefoodie
.Riverside V, Sales & marketing at The Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2017

Hello JJ Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate all our customer feedback good or bad. I would like to apologies that you felt let down by the standard of our food on this occasion. I would like to...More

Reviewed 1 June 2017 via mobile

Watching cricket through the restaurant window is definitely the best approach and then a short stroll on to the shelve to take in some fresh air and the excitement of over 600 walks

Thank A1n2thony
Reviewed 23 May 2017

My friend and I visited the Riverside for a Sunday roast last weekend as I had heard rave reviews from a couple of colleagues. I’m so pleased we chose to go the day we did as not only was the food and the service fantastic,...More

Thank Kacey H
.Riverside V, Sales & marketing at The Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Hi Kacey Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review. I must admit we do love our Sunday roasts as well! :) We are glad you had a wonderful time on your visit to us and we look forward to...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Kennington Lane Cafe
268 reviews
.40 km away
Pop Art Sushi
351 reviews
.13 km away
Mumbai Delight
285 reviews
.42 km away
Pico Bar & Grill
252 reviews
.34 km away
Nearby Attractions
Tate Britain
2,787 reviews
.58 km away
Pimlico
78 reviews
.59 km away
Whistle Punks Urban Axe Throwing
45 reviews
.26 km away
Above The Stag Theatre
19 reviews
.36 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Riverside staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$39 - US$65
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Television, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, View, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 00:00
Monday
10:00 - 00:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 00:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 00:00
Thursday
10:00 - 00:00
Friday
10:00 - 00:00
Saturday
10:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 5 St. George Wharf | Hamilton House, London SW8 2LE, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  London
  • Phone Number: +44 20 7735 8129
  • E-mail
Description
An eclectic British pub, The Riverside offers a modern British menu, showcasing the best in seasonal produce. Hearty mains and wholesome weekend brunches are bolstered by a menu of old school desserts, while the bar at The Riverside offers the stock of real ales Young's pubs have become famous for. Chunky wood tables and a spirit and pump-lined bar make this a popular spot for relaxed and informal all-day dining.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing