We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Socially distanced dining tables
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
Read more
Updated 02/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 02/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
FEATURES
Takeout, Seating, Accepts Credit Cards, Gift Cards Available
View all details
features, about
Reviews (203)
Filter reviews
199 results
Traveller rating
176
17
2
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
176
17
2
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pastry bread cakes dulce de leche spinach roll cinnamon buns pitta quiche pizza penny lane albert dock great pastries amazing bakery belgian chocolate eat in or take away lovely coffee looked amazing
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Wow. Just wow. Rough Handmade really lives up to the hype. The dulce de leche croissant was heavenly and the hot chocolate was divine. The staff are welcoming with fantastic infection control. Well worth the queue, will be going again and highly recommend to everyone!

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
RoughHandMade, Owner at Rough Hand Made, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thanks for your lovely review! We are very happy you enjoyed your visit and hope you can come again soon.

Reviewed 1 week ago

Amazing bakery, fantastic croissants which are clearly hand made (in a good way!) - highly recommended.

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
RoughHandMade, Owner at Rough Hand Made, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you, we are very happy you enjoyed them!

Reviewed 22 March 2021 via mobile

Theirs customers service is against the law. The same low quality pastries - they were cold and not fresh . Dont recommend at all, waste of time and money .

Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?
RoughHandMade, Owner at Rough Hand Made, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2021

Thanks for your review. We are sorry you were disappointed with the pastries. Just to let you know, as we bake all our pastries the same day we do not reheat them.

Reviewed 10 January 2021 via mobile

I’ve visited this bakery twice now and have been really impressed with the quality of the pastries and coffee.

Date of visit: January 2021
Helpful?
RoughHandMade, Owner at Rough Hand Made, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2021

Thanks for your review, we appreciate it.

Reviewed 2 January 2021 via mobile

Couldn’t comment on the food, although the three items left looked nice... However, the staff literally need throwing in the Dock; Allowed over 30 people to queue up in 2 degree snow for 25minutes Never thought to tell us that there was 4 items remaining...When asked why they aren’t informing people there was nothing left, they replied “let them buy coffee” Persistently asked that we stayed behind the yellow line, but couldn’t remind freezing customers they had no food left... Don’t get it, part of me hopes the business flopsMore

Date of visit: January 2021
Helpful?
RoughHandMade, Owner at Rough Hand Made, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2021

Thanks for your review and for the time you took to write it. We apologise for the uncomfortable situation you found yourself in while visiting us and that you had to wait for so long in the queue only to find a few items left....More

Reviewed 15 December 2020

Wandered in after looking in window at fantastic cakes. Had a mushroom and onion quiche and hubby had a mini pizza. Wow! They were sensational. And so reasonable. Cakes looked amazing but too full. 🍰 I had the hot choc drink too - amazing.

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?
RoughHandMade, Owner at Rough Hand Made, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2021

Thanks for your review, we are very happy you enjoyed visiting us!

Reviewed 7 November 2020 via mobile

Really love this place, pastries are always amazing but queue is so painfully slow it’s starting to put me off. Been three times now and even with two at the till things move VERY slow.More

Date of visit: November 2020
Helpful?
RoughHandMade, Owner at Rough Hand Made, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2020

Thanks for your review. We are totally aware of the queue moving slowly and sincerely apologise for this. Due to social distancing we can only serve one customer at a time on one till and if this customer orders coffee, we ask him to wait...More

Reviewed 1 November 2020 via mobile

I tried rough hand made a few weeks back just wondering around the docks on my own. The caramel crossaint was lovely! I also got their pitta breads and wow...I loved them. So fresh. I now travel in from 10 miles away, just to get...pittas on a sunday! I did the same again today...love them.More

Date of visit: November 2020
Helpful?2  
RoughHandMade, Owner at Rough Hand Made, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2020

Thanks for your lovely review, we really appreciate the effort you make to come and buy our pitta bread! Hope you can visit again soon.

Reviewed 26 September 2020

I would highly recommend this bakery for breakfast! All the pastries are delicious (loved the chocolate croissant) and the coffee is pretty good too.

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
RoughHandMade, Owner at Rough Hand Made, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2020

Thanks for your lovely review, we are so happy you enjoyed your visit!

Reviewed 23 September 2020

Handmade pastry,pizza,,original hot chocolate,sweets!You have to try everything if you want your day to be happy !

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?1  
RoughHandMade, Owner at Rough Hand Made, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2020

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are so happy we made you happy!

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Premier Inn Liverpool City Centre (Albert Dock) Hotel
5,677 reviews
.05 km away
Holiday Inn Express Liverpool - Royal Albert Dock
2,004 reviews
.11 km away
Jurys Inn Liverpool
3,897 reviews
.21 km away
Staybridge Suites Liverpool
2,289 reviews
.30 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Floating Grace
991 reviews
.11 km away
Revolucion de Cuba Albert Dock
1,343 reviews
.10 km away
World Famous Docklands Fish & Chip Shop
804 reviews
.08 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
The Beatles Story
8,550 reviews
.07 km away
The Adventure Dock Co
48 reviews
.12 km away
A Case History
37 reviews
.07 km away
Slavery History Trail
30 reviews
.08 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Simon F
14 November 2020|
Answer
Response from Q1181HFshaunm | Reviewed this property |
Rough Hand Bakery was closed last Thursday with a sign in the window saying they were reorganising. No opening date mentioned
-1
Votes
Susan R
24 October 2019|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from RoughHandMade | Property representative |
Hello Susan, we are just a bakery shop so we do not have plates or cutlery. We sell pastries, bread, sandwiches and coffee.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Rough Hand Made

  • Yes, Rough Hand Made offers takeaway services.

  • Yes, Rough Hand Made offers delivery services.

  • Yes, Rough Hand Made is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

  • Rough Hand Made is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
    • Food: 5
    • Service: 5
    • Value: 5