We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Richard John Blackler

Central Liverpool
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Units 1&2 Charlotte Row | Great Charlotte Street, Liverpool L1 1QY, England
+44 151 709 4802
Website
Today
08:00 - 00:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 08:00 - 00:00
Mon - Wed 07:00 - 23:30
Thu 07:00 - 00:00
Fri 07:00 - 01:00
Sat 08:00 - 01:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

323 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 307: English reviews
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We visited here on a busy Sunday lunchtime but were extremely impressed with the service and food. Nothing was too much trouble. They cleared a table got us a high chair, opened the baby change facilities and checked our food was okay often without us even needing to ask. Would recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Sarah P
Rebecca D, Public Relations Manager at The Richard John Blackler, responded to this review

Hi, thank you for your comments, I am so glad that you had a lovely visit to us and our customer service was at a high standard :) we hope to see you return soon More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Called in for some lunch last week and had a reasonable meal with a nice drink, clean glass and no concerns really.. I sat down near to one of the windows and noticed my table was covered in grease and salt so i moved to the next one which was worse.. I eventually found a seat on a clean table... More 

Helpful?
Thank mikegregory2017
Rebecca D, Public Relations Manager at The Richard John Blackler, responded to this review

Hi I am really sorry about your visit, I am currently looking into this for you and will get back to you with a response shortly. More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I often spend an afternoon drinking in Liverpool and more often than not call in this particular Wetherspoons. We always find everyone to be friendly (usually the case in most Liverpool pubs). During our recent visit on Friday 10th February I noticed I had lost a bangle that had a lot of sentimental value. After a quick... More 

Helpful?
Thank CNancyRobinson
becky086, Public Relations Manager at The Richard John Blackler, responded to this review

Hiya :) I was in this day and I am so glad that we managed to find your bracelet, the manager that did was happy he found it for you too. I am glad not only did you manage to have a good end to your visit but you got something so important back. :) More 

St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I called in to this witherspoon because the standards are good however this one is bad the bar staff was to busy talking and the food when we got it it was warm welcome ask the girl about it she told me that she would put in the micro if I want and walked away so we left and when... More 

Helpful?
Thank gary b
becky086, Front Office Manager at The Richard John Blackler, responded to this review

Hi. Am really sorry to hear about your experience in our establishment, I would like to discuss this issue further, if could contact me on 0151 709 4802. Thanks More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Called in for lunch. Jacket potatoes. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Food came quickly, was nicely presented and tasty.

Helpful?
Thank Gingernut169
becky086, Public Relations Manager at The Richard John Blackler, responded to this review

hi, thanks for your comments, I am glad our staff were very helpful when you came in and you enjoyed your food. We hope you call again and enjoy the experience just as much :) More 

Widnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2017

we have eaten here before and they had a meal deal on for valentines night and as we where staying overnight in Liverpool we decided to have the meal which we enjoyed and as usual the service and food was up to their usual standard and we enjoyed our evening

Helpful?
Thank dave777qq
becky086, Public Relations Manager at The Richard John Blackler, responded to this review

I am glad you had a good visit to us on valentines night and hope you managed to make good with our offer we had on that night. I am glad you enjoyed the evening and service was of a good standard :) we hope to see you again More 

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
209 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2017

Myself and two friends attended the pub for a hungover breakfast after a rather lairy night out. The meal revitalised us for a long trip home from the poorest conditions we'd been in our lives

Helpful?
1 Thank Chris G
becky086, Public Relations Manager at The Richard John Blackler, responded to this review

Hi, am glad we managed to help with your hangovers and am glad that you had a great night out in Liverpool. Good thing is you know where to come too next time when you need revitalizing, thanks for your review :) More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2017

Value for money. Skinny chicken burger with salad and alcoholic drink £6.79. Worryingly the food arrived less than 10 minutes after it was ordered. The burger was very dry but the salad was very fresh. Staff always plesant. Very popular venue, sometimes difficult to locate a table. Always difficult to get served at the bar even though there are lots... More 

Helpful?
Thank FridayFoodie
becky086, Public Relations Manager at The Richard John Blackler, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for your review. Its not something to worry about if your food arrived within 10 minutes as that's what we aim for. I am going to look further why your burger was dry and will speak to the staff that was on that day.. I can only apologise at this. Am glad that when you visit our staff... More 

Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2017

A very busy city centre pub. we managed to find a table and order our food, Not expecting much we were pleasantly surprised when the food came. It was piping hot and looked good. We often find wetherspoons food is let down by not being very hot, but the food here broke that mould and was served very quickly considering... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank hcbradley
becky086, Public Relations Manager at The Richard John Blackler, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, I am glad you were pleasantly surprised when you came and enjoyed your food and drinks :) More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2017 via mobile

Lovely food ...lovely staff..very clean ..great for the money always pay a visit wen in liverpool ..fab place

Helpful?
1 Thank lesley d
becky086, Public Relations Manager at The Richard John Blackler, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. I am glad you always visit us when your in Liverpool and am glad you always have a fab time :) More 

Travellers who viewed The Richard John Blackler also viewed

Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 
Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 

Been to The Richard John Blackler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Child-friendly, Kids, Cheap Eats, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 00:00
Monday
07:00 - 23:30
Tuesday
07:00 - 23:30
Wednesday
07:00 - 23:30
Thursday
07:00 - 00:00
Friday
07:00 - 01:00
Saturday
08:00 - 01:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Units 1&2 Charlotte Row | Great Charlotte Street, Liverpool L1 1QY, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Merseyside  >  Liverpool>  > Central Liverpool
  • Neighbourhood: Central Liverpool
  • Phone Number: +44 151 709 4802

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Richard John Blackler and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Liverpool, United Kingdom

As a regular in the Richard John Blackler i have noticed that regularly at least once every 2 hours on week days, and at least once every hour on weekends when the pub is busy with stags and hens, that the pub is visited by 2 or 3 guys approaching customers offering to sell them what they describe as " Stolen Perfume ". As an ex police officer i suspect it is not stolen but counterfeit as they have far too much product and far too regularly.. I notice that they do very well targeting young women who have had a few to drink and their sales patter is convincing.. I would like to know why do the staff allow alleged stolen goods to be sold on the premises, and i am 100% certain they do allow it because i have noticed several staff members from the bar standing talking and laughing with them when they come in.. The pub is quick to eject beggars and the homeless asking for money, but there seems to be an exemption among staff for people selling goods dishonestly.. Why are staff and mangement allowing this to go on, it is certainly ILLETGAL to allow the sale of stolen or counterfeit goods and the good name of JD Wetherspoon is one day soon going to take a serious hit unless staff take the correct action which is to chase these people from the premises..If that doesnt happen it wont be long before a customer such as me arranges for a police visit when these people are plying their trade. I feel sorry for your poor customers also who are regularly being duped by these conmen.. Comments please..

1 month ago
Wigan, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Richard John Blackler staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?