We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Layton Rakes

17-25 Market Street, Blackpool FY1 1ET, England
+44 1253 743710
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent30%
  • Very good41%
  • Average12%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible9%
Travellers talk about
“burger” (21 reviews)
“curry” (7 reviews)
“roof terrace” (26 reviews)
Open Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Brew Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
17-25 Market Street, Blackpool FY1 1ET, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (402)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 400 reviews

Reviewed today via mobile

Came to have lunch at the Layton rakes for lunch! And as always the service is very quick and the food to a very good standard! Never been disappointed at any of my visits to this pub! Very a affordable and suitable for all ages...More

Thank barryn1980
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We visited on 9th june it was a lovely hot day but we decided to eat inside.What a let down !! I ordered garlic bread that came after we had eaten all our food, despite asking for it five times.Not much variety on the menu...More

Thank Jasnini
thelaytonrakes, Manager at The Layton Rakes, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Im sorry to hear your visit to our establishment wasn't up to our usual high standard and that you felt that we were understaffed to deal with your complaint. We take all complaints seriously and endeavor to resolve all to ensure you leave happy im...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Ordered small fish plate. Was lovely. Busy place however, service good and food arrived within 10 minutes as stated. Worth a trip xx

Thank Sue1775
thelaytonrakes, Manager at The Layton Rakes, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

thanks for your review and glad you enjoyed the fish and chips

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Fish chips Friday, nice piece of fish, chips, peas, really tasty Bread, very bright, cheerful roof terrace to enjoy the sun.

Thank airwavecomms
thelaytonrakes, Owner at The Layton Rakes, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

thanks for your review glad you enjoyed the fish and chips in the blackpool sunshine

Reviewed 7 May 2018

Always had great food and drinks at the wetherspoons pub. Until we came here. Ordered two steak and kidney pudding which where brown and well soggyand nastied foul called a member of staff to remove and replace instead he never returned. Had too find another...More

Thank cowlishaw
thelaytonrakes, Manager at The Layton Rakes, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We are sorry that the food did not meet your expectations. We would not serve food that doesn't look right to people who would appear to 'be drunk and not know the difference'. The meals had...More

Reviewed 5 May 2018

We were in Blackpool to celebrate my daughter's birthday, staying in a hotel on the seafront near to the Tower and other attractions. There were 6 of us in in our party and once we had checked into our hotel, we wanted to find somewhere...More

Thank valandkarl
thelaytonrakes, Manager at The Layton Rakes, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2018

Thank you for your lovely review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your visit and that we had been recommended to you! We hope to see you again in the future.

Reviewed 30 April 2018

Visited here with family whilst we were staying in Blackpool. Very cute and colourful roof terrace with plenty of seating, however I can imagine on a warm sunny day this place is popular! The staff were friendly. Would definitely try out the roof terrace on...More

Thank JULES4GEORGE
thelaytonrakes, Owner at The Layton Rakes, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Glad you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to seeing you again

Reviewed 24 April 2018 via mobile

No burger, no mayo, no Guiness, no pepper sauce, no rump steaks... Need I say more? Awful service, lipstick on the glasses, no one came to clear out table... loads of empty tables in a spoons at 12.30 speaks volumes!

Thank Caitlin C
Reviewed 16 April 2018 via mobile

Had a mixed grill possibly worst ive ever had really overcooked and looked like it had been sitting it the kitchen unused for sometime before being served tasteless and chewy peas were cold too dry meat wasn't nice

Thank Shaun T
Reviewed 8 April 2018 via mobile

Great atmosphere staff very nice. Good pint good food. Only little down side too cramped especially when busy.

Thank Zoe F
thelaytonrakes, Manager at The Layton Rakes, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Thank you for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your visit.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 73 hotels in Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
1,173 reviews
.09 km away
Grand Metropole Hotel
4,020 reviews
.27 km away
Melville Hotel
494 reviews
.35 km away
Adelaide House Hotel
337 reviews
.35 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Coffee Pot
143 reviews
.12 km away
Bella Italia Blackpool Church Street
828 reviews
.11 km away
Spice Lounge
101 reviews
.10 km away
Las Iguanas
669 reviews
.09 km away
Nearby Attractions
Comedy Carpet
1,530 reviews
.12 km away
Blackpool Tourist Information Centre
285 reviews
.11 km away
North Pier
905 reviews
.13 km away
Escape Room Centre
131 reviews
.12 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Lauren F
5 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Suffolkpool | Reviewed this property |
yes it does
0
Votes
vickiec1
31 August 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from thelaytonrakes | Property representative |
Afternoon, yes children are allowed on the roof terrace at night providing that they are supervised. The licencing hours for children are until 11pm Sunday-Thursday and 10pm Friday-Saturday
0
Votes
hartiat
15 March 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from thelaytonrakes | Property representative |
we do accept contacless on all 3 bars
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Groups, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 00:00
Monday
09:00 - 00:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 00:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 00:00
Thursday
09:00 - 00:00
Friday
09:00 - 01:00
Saturday
09:00 - 01:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 17-25 Market Street, Blackpool FY1 1ET, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Lancashire  >  Blackpool
  • Phone Number: +44 1253 743710
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;