We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Newton Arms

€€ - €€€, British,
Staining Road, Blackpool FY3 0AJ, England
+44 1253 397296
Website
Share
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent59%
  • Very good14%
  • Average8%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible12%
Travellers talk about
“surf and turf” (8 reviews)
“steak” (15 reviews)
“fajitas” (4 reviews)
Open Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, International, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Staining Road, Blackpool FY3 0AJ, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 249 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2018

Finally we have got someone who knows what they are doing. Although you cannot please everyone our new manager Aarron is proving to be one of the best and with his experience and his calmness to handle some of the issues hes had to face...More

Thank Laura C
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Newton Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Laura, Thank you for your very kind words, myself and the team will continue to work hard and comments like yours help keep us moving forward. We look forward to seeing you this weekend Kind Regards Aaron and Tori

Reviewed 24 September 2018 via mobile

Thank the Lord for the new manager and his positive attitude, his new chefs and a much much much improved pub, food is now less ‘chargrilled’ and more edible, staff can’t do enough for you - which is better than the previous ‘can’t do anything’...More

Thank Amanda C
GeneralManagerA765, Manager at The Newton Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2018

We are always more than happy to assist you if anything else comes up. Take care! Hi Amanda C, we are very happy to have provided you with such a positive experience!

Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

Came in with mate's drinks cheap staff great new landlord brilliant can't fxxxxxg knock it happy days.

Thank Phil R
GeneralManagerA765, Manager at The Newton Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2018

Hi Phil R, we are very happy to have provided you with such a positive experience! Thank you so much again for your feedback! We hope you have a great day!

Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

Major changes happening at this fab pub! Been through a bad spell but the new landlord and the team are already making great steps to bring back this wonderful place to what it once was! Go the Newton Arms!!!

Thank Lindsay H
General Manager A, Manager at The Newton Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2018

Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we did. We hope you have a great day! It means a lot to us your kind review we hope to see you again soon Aaron

Reviewed 21 August 2018 via mobile

Booked a table online but upon advising a surly-looking barman of this he turned to his manager who said he wasn’t aware we had booked. The manager said he’d clear a table...that was good of him, but no apology, mind. He looked harassed which may...More

Thank deannad2015
General Manager A, Manager at The Newton Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2018

Deannad2015, it's upsetting to hear that you did not receive the top-notch service we strive to provide. Our manager would really like to speak with you more regarding this matter. Please reach out to us at 01253 397296. We look forward to hearing from you.

Reviewed 20 August 2018

Used to be very good but since new management found it dirty feet sticking to the floor dirty tables not cleared even though not busy. Chef too busy on his phone and his apron was filthy. If I had seen the state of him before...More

Thank 302skye00
General Manager A, Manager at The Newton Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2018

302skye00, it's upsetting to hear that you did not receive the top-notch service we strive to provide. If you are willing to give us another chance, please reach out to us at 01253 397296 to speak to our manager directly.

Reviewed 18 August 2018 via mobile

3 of us went out for our tea it was very busy and we where told there was a 45 minute wait which was ok we just sat and had a few drinks two of us ordered Surf and Turf and my friend ordered the...More

Thank paulinepreston
General Manager A, Manager at The Newton Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2018

Paulinepreston, it's upsetting to hear that you did not receive the top-notch service we strive to provide. We hope to see you soon!

Reviewed 9 August 2018

husbands birthday booked a table for 6 30 no table for us when we did find a seat ordered food took two hours to arrive after complaining a dozen times ,the steak was like shoe leather burgers uneatable and my grandsons food did not arrive...More

Thank Sandra W
General Manager A, Manager at The Newton Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Hi Sandra W, we can assure you that we do not find this type of behavior acceptable, and we would like to address the situation you have described. We appreciate all reviews, and appreciate you giving us the chance to improve by providing us with...More

Reviewed 7 August 2018 via mobile

Went in on Sunday afternoon for a quick drink before heading home and the service was shocking. Guy who served me was evidently off his head on something and seemed agitated and pre-occupied. Came across as very rude and unpleasant. Not the kind of service...More

Thank 364philipsmith
General Manager A, Manager at The Newton Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Hi 364philipsmith, thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent experience. We are disappointed to hear that you are not satisfied with your visit. We can assure you that we do not find this type of behavior acceptable, and we...More

Reviewed 2 August 2018 via mobile

I wrote the exact same title for another sizzler close by a couple of days ago; it's however the oposite opinion. The outside/inside is very smart, clean and fills you with hope. However service is slow due to lack of staff to cope with the...More

Thank hancock444
General Manager A, Manager at The Newton Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

We're disappointed to hear of the negative experience you had at our location. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We will use your comments to refine our efforts to ensure this issue does not happen again. Kind regards Management

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 73 hotels in Blackpool
Village Hotel Blackpool
4,747 reviews
1.69 km away
The Beechfield Hotel
1,371 reviews
3.06 km away
Hotel Vienna
73 reviews
3.14 km away
Oak Lea Hotel
39 reviews
3.16 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Miller & Carter Poulton-le-Fylde
475 reviews
.95 km away
Bake 'n' Butties
14 reviews
.06 km away
Seniors Normoss
172 reviews
.08 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Pork Shop
129 reviews
2.33 km away
North Blackpool Pond Trail
11 reviews
1.88 km away
ThatchedHouse
75 reviews
2.42 km away
St Chads Church of England Church
24 reviews
2.38 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
karendownes59
20 July 2018|
Answer
Response from Amanda C | Reviewed this property |
I would give it another go if I were you, new landlord. Food was excellent when we visited last Friday, the place has changed in the last couple of months, we had stopped going, but had heard good things with the new manager... More
0
Votes
debkels
7 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from David H | Reviewed this property |
Yep!
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Groups, View
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 23:00
Monday
09:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 23:30
Wednesday
09:00 - 23:00
Thursday
09:00 - 00:00
Friday
09:00 - 00:00
Saturday
09:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Staining Road, Blackpool FY3 0AJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Lancashire  >  Blackpool
  • Phone Number: +44 1253 397296
  • E-mail
Description
The Newton Arms is a Sizzling Pub which is a brand that is owned and managed by Mitchells and Butlers LTD. We pride ourselves at being a local pub that offers value food and drink to all of our guests. We have a weekly quiz night on a Tuesday evening and also have monthly entertainment which could be a disco party night or solo singers, groups or bands. We can cater for all occasions - Birthdays, Christenings and Funeral Wakes. We have also hosted Wedding Receptions and can tailor all events to your personal needs.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing