We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Auctioneer

) #77 of 592 Restaurants in Blackpool , British,
235-237 Lytham Road | South Shore, Blackpool FY1 6ET, England
+44 1253 346412
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent49%
  • Very good39%
  • Average9%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“mixed grill” (6 reviews)
“steak” (13 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
235-237 Lytham Road | South Shore, Blackpool FY1 6ET, England
Write a Review
Reviews (202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Decided on a weekend away to not so sunny blackpool. weather terrible. raining drove us into the Auctioneer pub. ordered a pint and bacon cheese burger. absolutely yummy. also wanted to point out how clean were the toilets. brand spanking new. really impressed with the...More

Thank CYMRU-DRAGONS
AuctioneerBlackpool, Manager at The Auctioneer, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

So glad the rain bought you here and you enjoyed your experience with us hope the rest of your weekend was not a wash out please come again soon hopefully the weather will be better as we have a sun trap beer garden for you...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

What a difference a year makes last year we ate here and we wasn't impressed but we went on Saturday evening and WOW the food was excellent, they've got a reduced menu and it's now first class food and still cheap drink prices so I...More

Thank paulandsarah2014
AuctioneerBlackpool, Public Relations Manager at The Auctioneer, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for such a lovely review of the Auctioneer last year we had just been taken over and was in a bit of a dilemma as to where we wanted to take the pub, we are so pleased we took it the right way...More

Reviewed 19 May 2017 via mobile

We visited over easter weekend a few times as we're around for 3 days and for a family you get good food and drinks at good value for money. 2 adults and 1 teenager. We ate and drank for about £30. Our last night we...More

Thank aidy-p p
AuctioneerBlackpool, Manager at The Auctioneer, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for reviewing our pub its lovely to get customer feedback and I am sorry you had to wait so long for your meal. I am glad that you felt the situation was dealt with and you were satisfied and will revisit us again...More

Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

Had a couple of pints of john smiths here early doors, good value in a clean and well organised spoons

Thank werw
AuctioneerBlackpool, Manager at The Auctioneer, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hi I am so glad you enjoyed your John Smiths and thank you for sharing your experience with us we hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 8 April 2017 via mobile

We ate here a couple of years ago and it was really nice, however this time it was really bad . We went on a Monday night, I should have realised something was wrong when we were the only ones in to eat. 2 other...More

Thank James C
AuctioneerBlackpool, Manager at The Auctioneer, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2017

I am so sorry you had a bad experience here there was an incident at the time and unfortunately the staff let you the customer down. Please don't think it is always like that we do pride ourselves on good customer service so please do...More

Reviewed 5 April 2017

We've been coming to this pub for several years. It's no longer a Spoons, but that's no problem - it's still a great pub. Good beers, good gins, great prices, friendly staff, and a great atmosphere.

1  Thank Ian T
AuctioneerBlackpool, Manager at The Auctioneer, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2017

Thank you for writing such a great review were so glad you have stayed with us through the change over its the support of our regulars like yourself that make this such a success and pleasure to run.

Reviewed 6 March 2017

not a spoons anymore but have retained some of the traditions---really good selection of ales and two traditional ciders---not as busy as before but trying to build a loyal customer base----lets see what the summer brings.

1  Thank jeffhutchy
AuctioneerBlackpool, Manager at The Auctioneer, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2017

Thank you for your review, we have kept customer focus on our guest ale and ciders as its a passion of ours. Hope you will be returning soon look forward to seeing you.

Reviewed 17 February 2017

poor food and greasy menus.staff talking behind bar.you could hear everythig.chef behind bar when he could be cleaning kitchen.i presume they dont have a kp.good job we only went in for breakfast.wouldnt entertain going in for a proper meal.will travel the extra mile to go...More

1  Thank davidcheetham1996
AuctioneerBlackpool, Manager at The Auctioneer, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2017

Let me apologise if you were not happy with your recent visit to us we always pride ourselves on good customer care and good food so obviously something was not right on that particular day. If there is a problem with the food always let...More

Reviewed 15 February 2017

I did not realise that this had been sold to another business, so I went in expecting Wetherspoon quality and service. What a let down, very poor customer interaction, the standard breakfast was ordered and although we were the only people who had ordered food,...More

1  Thank Graham B
AuctioneerBlackpool, Manager at The Auctioneer, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2017

I am so sorry you had a bad experience here I wish you had said something on your check back so we could of rectified the situation as we do not like any customer to leave unsatisfied, please do pop in and give us another...More

Reviewed 5 February 2017

Was a Wetherspoon pub ; not sure who has taken over but the improvements to the WC are noticeable. The fire and other features have been retained - still good value for money, Still worth a visit if you are South Promenade area.Didnt eat on...More

Thank Michael T
AuctioneerBlackpool, Manager at The Auctioneer, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2017

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and so glad you enjoyed it and your popping back hopefully to eat, we will look forward to your visit.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Taj Mahal Blackpool
635 reviews
.02 km away
Morgans
179 reviews
.29 km away
Tea Pot Cafe
19 reviews
.06 km away
Nearby Attractions
Blackpool Tramway
6,152 reviews
.87 km away
Sandcastle Waterpark
3,360 reviews
.79 km away
Paris Casino
92 reviews
.62 km away
Carneskys Ghost Train
50 reviews
.17 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
noddySheffield
when did this pub change hands?
5 October 2016|
Answer Show all 3 answers
Response from Lianne S | Reviewed this property |
It was earlier this year February time I think the hotel owner told me where I was staying
0
Votes
bennygirrl
Is the Auctioneer still going to close
1 February 2016|
Answer Show all 2 answers
Response from daz T |
No it isn't a new company has taken over
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Waitstaff
Good for
Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 00:00
Monday
08:00 - 00:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 00:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 00:00
Thursday
08:00 - 00:00
Friday
08:00 - 00:00
Saturday
08:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 235-237 Lytham Road | South Shore, Blackpool FY1 6ET, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Lancashire  >  Blackpool
  • Phone Number: +44 1253 346412
  • E-mail
Description
pub well known for our vast range of cask ales background music an interactive quiz on Wednesday evenings from 9pm opening hours Monday - Sunday 9am till midnight Food Served 9am - 9pm Daily. Children until 9.30pm Guide dogs only.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing