We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Pheasant Inn

) #6 of 93 Restaurants in Keswick €€ - €€€ , British,
Crosthwaite Road, Keswick CA12 5PP, England
+44 17687 72219
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent65%
  • Very good28%
  • Average5%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“beef pie” (36 reviews)
“lamb henry” (26 reviews)
“whitebait” (12 reviews)
Open Now
12:00 - 23:00All hours
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
€€ - €€€
Crosthwaite Road, Keswick CA12 5PP, England
Write a Review
Reviews (1,027)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

11 - 20 of 1,021 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good atmosphere as relatively small venue so recommend booking. Felt young despite being nearly 50. Locally sourced ingredients. Good sized portions of good quality food, left feeling full. Service was good and would certainly go back again to try another local dish.

Thank ctimes2
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Was excited to try this place after seeing positive reviews on Lake District forum. We were not let down. Waitress was charming and efficient. Food...oh the food. Our party of five ordered from both the specials and regular dinner menu. All of the meals, including...More

Thank Bruce M
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We ate at the Dog and Gun and The George as well as the Pheasant Inn - in the bar in all instances. All were good but the Pheasant Inn was head and shoulders above for food quality. It was an easy walk through the...More

2  Thank jrfish73
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A return visit to this pub and enjoyed excellent food and service once again Good to see standards are being maintained

Thank DougS152
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Been here before and was impressed so retuned this weekend and enjoyed the food,but had a complaint about one of the beers that was initially dealt with in a very off hand manner but then sorted by a more pleasant and aware lady . Would...More

Thank malcno
Christine B, Owner at The Pheasant Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

I am so sorry you had a problem with one of our ales, but due to poor service from our brewery we have had a problem in our cellar which after 3 visits was rectified yesterday. Can I apologise for the way your complaint was...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A second visit to The Pheasant.Had evening meal here with friends. Booking advisable as obviously popular. Friendly pub/restaurant serving excellent food. Staff helpful and friendly. Roadside parking

Thank Mrs Ann Valerie A
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

All good things to say. Wanted to visit for a while. Made a booking and went. Everything was spot on. Great Jennings beers, wonderful food and friendly staff. Certainly going to visit again. Well done.

Thank Jim_Oxford
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Decided to try this venue as the fish pie looked appetising. Parking is on the street which is a main road so not ideal. We got there at 5.45 as most places start filling around 6 & we didn't have a reservation. Bar was virtually...More

Thank donelgit
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Brilliant food, at a good price and staff who do a cracking job, good atmosphere, a mix of locals and tourists - great hearing the clink of dominoes !

Thank paddy5658
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is our second visit to The Pheasant and as previously the food was excellent. We both opted for the pork fillet from the specials board which proved to be a great choice. Booking is advisable as it gets busy. Dogs are allowed in the...More

Thank Kay T
Nearby Restaurants
Woodhouse Cafe Keswick Garden Centre
24 reviews
.22 km away
Bar Metro American Bar & Grill
459 reviews
.67 km away
The Kingfisher
357 reviews
.71 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Puzzling Place
1,038 reviews
.76 km away
Keswick Museum
169 reviews
.86 km away
Derwent Pencil Museum
751 reviews
.44 km away
Moot Hall - Keswick Information Centre
137 reviews
.85 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Gareth H
do you have wheelchair access
25 June 2017|
Response from Christine B | Property representative |
Yes we have in one of our dining rooms, we do need notice then if you are dining we can book you onto the table near the door.
Emily P
Do you allow dogs if they are well behaved?
24 September 2016|
Response from Christine B | Property representative |
We do
Hello - can you say if you have any gluten free options on your menu - many thanks
28 February 2016|
Answer Show all 2 answers
Response from Christine B | Property representative |
Hi yes we have quite a lot of gluten free.
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Average prices
US$13 - US$19
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Serves Alcohol, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Cash Only, Free Wifi
Good for
Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
12:00 - 23:00
12:00 - 23:00
12:00 - 23:00
12:00 - 23:00
12:00 - 23:00
12:00 - 23:00
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Crosthwaite Road, Keswick CA12 5PP, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cumbria  >  Lake District  >  Keswick
  • Phone Number: +44 17687 72219
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing