We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Royal Oak Keswick

€€ - €€€, British,
Main Street | The Royal Oak at Keswick, Keswick CA12 5HZ, England
+44 17687 74584
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent38%
  • Very good34%
  • Average12%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible9%
Travellers talk about
“burger” (49 reviews)
“lamb hotpot” (7 reviews)
Open Now
07:00 - 21:00 Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Grill, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Main Street | The Royal Oak at Keswick, Keswick CA12 5HZ, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (573)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 567 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

I am appalled at the general manager's response to a review my friend recently left. I am a member of the group of 9 who visited on Friday evening and cannot believe how the manager has tried to turn around and defend terrible customer service...More

1  Thank lawsonpj
Reviewed 4 days ago

We stumbled upon this place after being let down by other pubs who had stopped serving food by 7:45 PM. We were given a very warm welcome and knew straight away we had picked a good place to get some food and drinks for my...More

Thank ryanowalls
Chris L, General Manager at The Royal Oak Keswick, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Glad you enjoyed your visit to the Royal Oak and I’ll pass on your thanks to the guys.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

One of the worst meal experiences I've ever had and mainly due to one man (balding with grey hair & glasses, wearing a black shirt with pink flowers and pointed loud leather shoes). Judging from the other reviews we're not the only ones to receive...More

Thank Bluegiant30
Chris L, General Manager at The Royal Oak Keswick, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for bringing this to my attention, I’m the shorter, broader manager Chris, General Manager. I can only apologise for your treatment which is totally unacceptable and I assure you that this matter will be dealt with. Hopefully you’ll join us again for a...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

This time I had the Steak. And I think the manager served us. It was nice to think he mucks in with everyone else. The steak was cooked to perfection. Well Done to the chef please dont leave we will be back to try more...More

Thank lancashirejack
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We popped in today with our dog Megan for a hot coffee as it was a cold and blustery day. We saw a couple eating Battered fish and chips with mushy peas and it looked delicious...so much so that we ordered the same. The portion...More

Thank Andrew B
Reviewed 1 week ago

We didn't eat here but its always packed out with more people waiting. Menu appeared to be varied and interesting, but the big plus was the cheaper prices, quite significantly here, as against most of the other establishments in the town. Pretty much the only...More

Thank MikeStourbridge
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Fantastic pub, very clean, toilets were spotless and very modern, smelt lovely in the gents - a nice change for a proper pub. Had a Sunday dinner, was very busy so recommend booking, they got us a table for two straight away though. Food served...More

Thank Walker1687
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Popped in here for a pre dinner beer last Saturday. Nice and friendly mix of locals and tourists. Nice pint served with a smile. Can’t comment on food as I didn’t eat but it looked good from what I saw.

Thank Paul G
Chris L, General Manager at The Royal Oak Keswick, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Glad you enjoyed your beers and if you get the opportunity give our food a try as well, I think you’ll enjoy.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We enjoyed our evening dinner at the Royal Oak, it was absolutely packed and a tad warm in there but apart from that no complaints. We had steak and pork medallions respectively followed by nice puds and enjoyed it all. Its not fine dining but...More

Thank White-family
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Came to The Royal Oak on business and the manager Ross could not have been more obliging. Took care of us - nothing was too much. All staff were amazing. Rooms are stunning and the restaurant in so warm, inviting and beautifully presented. HIGHLY RECOMMEND....More

Thank EmNicko
Chris L, General Manager at The Royal Oak Keswick, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your kind review and we look forward to your return.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 23 hotels in Keswick
Inn on the Square
804 reviews
.09 km away
The Kings Arms Hotel
532 reviews
.09 km away
The Skiddaw Hotel
862 reviews
.12 km away
The Highfield Hotel
451 reviews
.26 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Square Orange Cafe Bar
1,040 reviews
.05 km away
eS Bar
491 reviews
.07 km away
Java Coffee Shop
494 reviews
.08 km away
Jasper's Coffee House
170 reviews
.07 km away
Nearby Attractions
Keswick Brewing Company
120 reviews
.17 km away
Hope Park
391 reviews
.11 km away
The Puzzling Place
1,262 reviews
.20 km away
Moot Hall - Keswick Information Centre
176 reviews
.01 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Passenger299923
11 April 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Chris L | Property representative |
We are totally dog friendly.
1
Vote
Denise O
22 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Ann L | Reviewed this property |
No you have to park in one of the car parks but there is a main one just behind the hotel
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$13 - US$66
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Grill, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Kids, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
07:00 - 21:00
Monday
07:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
07:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
07:00 - 22:00
Thursday
07:00 - 22:00
Friday
07:00 - 22:30
Saturday
07:00 - 22:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Main Street | The Royal Oak at Keswick, Keswick CA12 5HZ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cumbria  >  Lake District  >  Keswick
  • Phone Number: +44 17687 74584
  • E-mail
Description
In the beautiful, ever popular market town of Keswick, you'll find The Royal Oak at Keswick an 18th Century lodge. You can enjoy a stay where everything is done to ensure your stay is truly memorable. Our home away from home atmosphere makes us a popular hotel in Keswick. From the moment you step inside The Royal Oak at Keswick you'll be treated to the warmest of welcomes. The traditional coaching inn has lovely wooden floors throughout and roaring log fire - giving it a cosy yet rustic feel. Everyone is really welcome here, so whether you're a big group of walkers, a family with a whole brood or if you've brought your dog along for the trip, we do our very best to make you all feel really at home. Food here is simple, yet perfectly executed by our Chef, with menus inspired by the fresh, local in season produce sourced from trusted suppliers in the surrounding area. Everything is cooked from scratch and portions are big and hearty - perfect for setting you up for a full day of walking. And to wash down your delicious Cumbrian fayre, choose from a tempting array of Thwaites cask ales, seasonal guest ales and Signature Range. What's more, when you head upstairs, you'll find cosy and comfortable rooms with all the facilities you need to make your stay restful, including walking guides and books, flat screen TV and even a cushion for your pooch.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing