We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Castle Dairy

26 Wildman Street, Kendal LA9 6EN, England
+44 1539 814756
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent79%
  • Very good15%
  • Average3%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“tasting menu” (36 reviews)
“petit fours” (4 reviews)
“venison” (11 reviews)
Closed
All hours
CUISINES
British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
€€€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
26 Wildman Street, Kendal LA9 6EN, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (318)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 316 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Thank you for the most amazing meal and service. It was a real treat to visit and will be back and will recommend to others.

Thank Lakes81
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

We love coming here. Everything about it is enjoyable. We had the 11 course prestige menu and it was a delight. Every course was delicious but I especially enjoyed the ham hock pie, the pheasant and the Kendal mint desert. I also had the wine...More

Thank Eltelrowe
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

We visited tonight with family and all had the prestige menu. What a treat! The building is so beautiful. There was a fire in the grate of the range in the main dining room which together with the Xmas decorations really made the room. The...More

Thank SB M
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My husband and I had wanted to visit this restaurant for a long time, and I’m so happy we decided to go for it! We’d booked in for the tasting menu, and when we arrived we were greeted by a wonderful server called bex. She...More

1  Thank cjh375
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The online booking system invites you to review the meal. This review can only be seen by the restaurant. We had two disappointing experiences. I gave honest but constructive criticism. It is a training restaurant (with top notch professional prices) and they need feedback to...More

1  Thank Imp15
Jessica E, Manager at Castle Dairy, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Imp15 Thank you so much for your review, we sincerely appreciate you taking the time to give us feedback and we will work to rectify the points you have made. We will also look to respond to our in house reviews more in future....More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

we were celebrating a birthday, and had to travel a long distance after our meal so ate early. Our party of 4 included 2 vegetarians and we had advised the restaurant in advance. We had also requested the a la carte menu which had a...More

1  Thank Alison W
Jessica E, Manager at Castle Dairy, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Alison, Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are so pleased you thought our meals comparable to other excellent establishments. We are also happy to hear we could accommodate the vegetarians in your party so well. Our Chef has a 10-course vegetarian...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Visited this lovely restaurant for the taster menu. It was excellent. the food was innovative, cooked beautifully and looked stunning. This really is top notch food and is not far off other tasting menus we have enjoyed at Michelin Star restaurants. I wish we had...More

2  Thank JMH4
Jessica E, Manager at Castle Dairy, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear JMH4 Thank you so much for your recent review. We are so very pleased you enjoyed the tasting menu and ranked it so highly. We are lucky to have a fantastic wealth of young talent at the college to support us both front of...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This revived building following the disastrous floods in 2015 has been restored to great effect and the building seems to survive whatever has been thrown at it from centuries past as well as recently. The welcome is warm and although quiet on a Wednesday lunchtime,...More

Thank NickyCumbria
Jessica E, Manager at Castle Dairy, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Nicky Thank you so much for your recent review. We are so pleased that your enjoyed your meal and that our front of house apprentice Jordan looked after you so well. We look forward to welcoming you again soon Kind Regards The Castle Dairy...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

What an amazingly experience here at the Castle Dairy! I wasn’t sure what to expect as we arrived at this stunning (and very old) building but when we went it I knew we were in for a treat. The perfect atmosphere for a special meal...More

Thank LauraColuccio
Jessica E, Manager at Castle Dairy, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Laura, Thank you so much for taking the time to place your review. We are absolutely thrilled that you enjoyed your evening with us so much and we look forward to welcoming you again soon. Kind Regards The Castle Dairy Team

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The Dairy was half full on a Saturday, bad sign. All we heard was people trying to keep quiet! We selected the 'A la Carte' option for £45 but did not expect the courses to come from the £75, 7 course dinner. The bread was...More

Thank David R
Jessica E, Manager at Castle Dairy, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear David R Thank you for your review. I am saddened to hear you had such a disappointing experience with us. Having been open for 6 months we are constantly evaluating our product and we are continually looking at our pricing and have been recently...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Joshua Tree
183 reviews
.41 km away
Paulo Gianni's
752 reviews
.39 km away
Masons Yard 24
68 reviews
.38 km away
Nearby Attractions
Kendal Castle
354 reviews
.71 km away
Brewery Arts Centre
335 reviews
.88 km away
Museum of Lakeland Life & Industry
102 reviews
.92 km away
The Quaker Tapestry Exhibition Centre
136 reviews
.29 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Graham B
17 November 2016|
Answer
Response from Darryn V | Property representative |
Yes there is car parking off Beezon road.
-1
Votes
Patricia F
29 August 2015|
Answer
Response from Darryn V | Property representative |
Hi Patricia, You can use your taste card for the bar menu subject to availability, booking with a taste card is essential. Thank you Darryn
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$20 - US$80
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Free Wifi, Reservations, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Highchairs Available, Full Bar
Good for
Groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Wednesday
12:00 - 14:00
18:00 - 21:00
Thursday
12:00 - 14:00
18:00 - 21:00
Friday
18:00 - 21:00
13:00 - 16:00
Saturday
18:00 - 21:00
12:00 - 14:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 26 Wildman Street, Kendal LA9 6EN, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cumbria  >  Lake District  >  Kendal
  • Phone Number: +44 1539 814756
  • E-mail
Description
The Castle Dairy Restaurant and Art Gallery offers a unique dining experience in Kendal’s oldest inhabited building. Staffed by Kendal College apprentices and watched over by chef Chris O’Callaghan, the restaurant provides exceptional food, surrounded by local art work, in a truly unusual setting.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing