We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Sailmakers Pub and Restaurant

€€ - €€€, British,
St. Andrews Quay, Kingston-upon-Hull HU3 4SA, England
+44 1482 610921
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent31%
  • Very good23%
  • Average11%
  • Poor13%
  • Terrible22%
Travellers talk about
“sundae” (5 reviews)
“mash” (9 reviews)
“pie” (7 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
St. Andrews Quay, Kingston-upon-Hull HU3 4SA, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (368)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

301 - 310 of 368 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

We visit here quite often as the deals are unbelievable but recently it has gone ridiculously downhill to the point of us complaining a couple of times. Our most recent visit has really taken the proverbial and I feel it necessary to review on here....More

2  Thank Legion77
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at The Sailmakers Pub and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dear Legion77, thank you for your recent feedback on Trip Advisor. Your comments were a concern to hear and I would like to investigate your visit further with the Management Team of the pub. I have sent you a direct message to discuss this further...More

Reviewed 6 October 2013

Understaffed, terrible service waited over an hour for poor food. We knew when we went in that it was only 'pub grub' but expect it to be edible and served in a timely fashion. It portrays itself as a place to get a reasonably priced...More

1  Thank FirstLadyNI
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Understaffed (however pleasant) waited 45 mins for main meal after starter (then it was a tiny piece of gammon - sent it back) sat and ate mine on my own. Food was tasty though!! was offered a complimentary drink but only just bought one. Plenty...More

Thank Sooz3852
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at The Sailmakers Pub and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Dear Sooz3852 Thank for taking the time to provide us with your review. I would like to apologise that we failed to meet your expectations at the Sailmakers n regards to the service you received. I can confirm that I have passed on your concerns...More

Reviewed 18 September 2013

I visit here often with my partner was really pleases with the first few visits, the food was really well cooked and very tasteful but the last few times have been appalling. The food has come cold, over cooked and the staff are not very...More

Thank kateben2013
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at The Sailmakers Pub and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Dear kateben2013 Thank for taking the time to provide us with your review. I would like to apologise that we failed to meet your expectations at the Sailmakers in regards to the service you received. I can confirm that I have passed on your concerns...More

Reviewed 17 September 2013

me and my hole family went out to sailmakers for my dads birthday to start the staff where not helpful as there was a lot of us and they told us to just push tables together the meal was cold my dad had a peace...More

1  Thank gemma f
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at The Sailmakers Pub and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Dear gemma f Thank for taking the time to provide us with your review. I would like to apologise that we failed to meet your expectations at the Sailmakers in regards to the service you received. I can confirm that I have passed on your...More

Reviewed 14 September 2013

We ordered our food at the bar and I had to order the sauces on the side of our starter due to allergies (was sharing) this was no problem and came really presentable. I had the veggie toad in the hole, only thing I would...More

Thank j4mmyjess
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We went here last year for lunch and it met our expectations for a Fayre and Square two for £5 (all the decent food much pricier). The trouble is my daughter loved the vegetarian toad in the hole and badgered us into going back for...More

4  Thank Brian M
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at The Sailmakers Pub and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Dear Brian M, thank you for your recent feedback on Trip Advisor. Your comments were a concern to hear and I would like to investigate your visit further with the Management Team of the pub. I have sent you a direct message to discuss this...More

Reviewed 28 August 2013

Handily situated in St Andrews Quay and overlooking the river Humber, this 'gastro-pub' offers excellent food at very good prices. The two of us had the steak pie each with coffee. Or should I say we had a square steak pie with lovely soft butter...More

Thank Steve K
Reviewed 27 August 2013

After a previous poor experience at a Fayre & Square pub/restaurant I would not have chosen to eat at another, however they had sent us some vouchers as an apology so we popped in for a bite to eat on a weekday lunchtime. My partner...More

Thank Natalie F
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Myself and my family are great fans of the fair and square food pub chains but this place is by far the worst we have ver been to. Staff are rude lazy and not in the mood to deal with the general public thats generally...More

4  Thank kirbyfamile
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 20 hotels in Kingston-upon-Hull
Vale Guest House
73 reviews
1.89 km away
Village Hotel Club Hull
1,662 reviews
2.38 km away
Ibis Hull
903 reviews
2.61 km away
Gilson Hotel
452 reviews
2.63 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Red Sails
584 reviews
.27 km away
Frankie & Benny's
417 reviews
.08 km away
Annika's Kitchen
19 reviews
1.09 km away
Mollones Molly
20 reviews
.89 km away
Nearby Attractions
Hull Marina
471 reviews
2.70 km away
The KC Stadium
190 reviews
1.89 km away
Hull Tourist Information Centre
85 reviews
2.70 km away
The Spurn Lightship
25 reviews
2.71 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Sailmakers Pub and Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Free Wifi, Reservations, Free Off-Street Parking, Digital Payments, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
View, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 22:00
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:00
Saturday
10:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: St. Andrews Quay, Kingston-upon-Hull HU3 4SA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  East Riding of Yorkshire  >  Kingston-upon-Hull
  • Phone Number: +44 1482 610921
  • E-mail
Description
Situated on the banks of the Humber Estuary the view from The Sailmakers is unparalleled. The building is rustic and unique with many of the buildings original features still in place. The Sailmakers comprises of a light open plan restaurant that overlooks the river with a large bar and separate drinking area, complete with pool table, gaming machines and a large screen television for non‐diners. Next door to the restaurant area is our Wacky Corner, a soft play area with ball pool, slide and separate toddler section. Outside are two good sized seating areas both overlooking the river and great views of the Humber Bridge. The Sailmakers is located on a large retail park just off the A63.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing