We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Racing Greyhound

) #20 of 135 Restaurants in Ramsgate €€ - €€€ , British,
227 Hereson Road, Ramsgate CT11 7EX, England
+44 1843 593011
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent73%
  • Very good20%
  • Average1%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
Open Now
All hours
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
€€ - €€€
227 Hereson Road, Ramsgate CT11 7EX, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 151 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago

The staff catered for about 19 of us at very short notice. Our meals were all served together and as usual all cooked to perfection. We were celebrating my granddaughters 21st birthday. Really happy with our time spent there. Thank you Racing Greyhound. You did...More

Thank LindaB85
Reviewed 6 days ago

We gathered here, post funeral, for an arranged luncheon.... This Pub is very traditional and has a very good ambience to it - staff were all very friendly and fastidious, and the food provided for the gathering (which cost £200 pounds - based on the...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great family pub food is homemade and the prices are very reasonable the atmosphere is great for children and adults they have a function room also for party's and a bouncy castle in the garden for children and a play area service is spot on...More

Thank jessica louise r
jeff_0709, Manager at The Racing Greyhound, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your excellent review and we hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 5 July 2017 via mobile

This is the place to go for a great meal out that won't cost you the Earth. There is lots of choice on the menu that will suit most if not everyone. The prices are affordable and the meals are delicious.More

Thank Alexandra B
jeff_0709, Manager at The Racing Greyhound, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2017

Hello, thank you for your kind review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your meals with us. We try to cater to all tastes so it's great to see that we have more happy customers who enjoyed their visit with us. We hope...More

Reviewed 2 July 2017 via mobile

Amazing night at the Greyhound for live music. Great atmosphere, cocktails were a brilliant price. Staff really friendly and attentive when we had dinner before hand. We weren't planning to stay for the music but the whole evening just flowed together that we didn't want...More

Thank nea87
jeff_0709, Manager at The Racing Greyhound, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2017

Thank you for your review, we are happy to hear you had a great time with us and enjoyed our live music night and cocktails. Keep an eye out on our social media pages for our next music night, which will not disappoint Im sure.

Reviewed 2 July 2017 via mobile

Lovely pub, lovely people, both customers and most staff. But, what I witnessed on band night (June) was absolutely disgusting! I seen a girl asking a barmaid for a drink, just to be abused. The barmaid then stormed out of the pub, threatening the customer....More

Thank lelymae
jeff_0709, Manager at The Racing Greyhound, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2017

Dear Lely or ex employee and friends, as we are well aware who is behind this review. Thank you for taking time to review us again this week (aren't we a popular venue for you!). We would like to inform you that the reason your...More

Reviewed 25 June 2017 via mobile

Pub looked run down carpet was so old omg and pub very loud noisy and young staff don't have a clue how to speak to customersMore

Thank davidmememe
jeff_0709, Manager at The Racing Greyhound, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2017

Many thanks for your review. We are sorry you didn't enjoy your visit to us and I would like to address some of your issues. The carpet is tired, but we are too busy to shut for a refit, as we have functions every day....More

Reviewed 11 June 2017

Managed to book a table at this great pub, the chef does a great job, with the choice of meals on offer, good quality food and large portions for the man with a good appertite, nice deserts for the ladies, staff are on the case,...More

Thank jpradcon
jeff_0709, Manager at The Racing Greyhound, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2017

Many thanks for your lovely review, we are very lucky to have such a great set of chefs in our kitchen who can cater to everyones preferences. We hope to see you again.

Reviewed 10 June 2017

We had my husband's 70th birthday party last night and would like to say a big thank you the food was amazing the staff could not have been more helpful young and old had a amazing time ,the venue is perfect for parties etc

Thank Christina S
jeff_0709, Manager at The Racing Greyhound, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2017

Thank you so much for lovely review. We are so glad that your husband had a great birthday with us. I will share your review with my staff. Thank you again.

Reviewed 28 May 2017

My wife and I were near the pub and I wondered if we would get a Sunday lunch as booking is advisable. Good old Debbie found us a table with no fuss or bother but we could see how busy they were and thanked her...More

Thank Nick N
jeff_0709, Manager at The Racing Greyhound, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2017

Thank you for your wonderful review. We always try to find space for customers when busy, so we are happy to read that you were able to join us for lunch and had a great time too. We will see you soon, for either more...More

Nearby Restaurants
Il Tricolore
503 reviews
1.25 km away
The Yarrow Restaurant
80 reviews
1.26 km away
The Restaurant at East Kent College
43 reviews
1.18 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Micro Museum
162 reviews
1.27 km away
Dumpton Gap
97 reviews
.69 km away
King George VI Memorial Park
70 reviews
.21 km away
The Italianate Greenhouse
27 reviews
.03 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
In response to the 'managers' reply to my review. First off, I am no ex employee, nor a friend or family of an ex employee. Second. My first post was not slander, it is fact. Your staff can do& say what they like to the customers, and they have no consequences, unfortunately what consequences there are, fall on the customers, even when a customer is innocent. I say again, I saw what happened on band night. I saw a barmaid threaten a customer, I saw said barmaid put on her water works, and storm off, to the point she stalled her car 4/5 times out of anger. I also seen the so called owner of the pub abuse and pointing fingers into the customers face. I can name the barmaid for everyone to see if necessary? As well as the owner. I would also like to point out your last comment on my review. You say to return or not to return, you're happy to take my money. This is not a very mature comment at all, and if anything, proves to everyone that you have no concern for your customers. I'm glad you have posted a picture of my previous review, because people shall see how disappointing it is, that not only the staff think it's okay to abuse customers, but so do the owners.
16 July 2017|
Response from jeff_0709 | Property representative |
I have already responded to your last review. If we, as a business, had no concern for our customers, we wouldn't have a trip advisor page, and we wouldn't be responding to comments. You have made 2 reviews, both trying to... More
lionel p
5 November 2016|
Response from jeff_0709 | Property representative |
No im afraid we don't. We just have regular tv no sky either.
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Average prices
US$10 - US$31
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover, Reservations, Private Dining
Good for
Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Groups
Open Hours
10:00 - 00:00
10:00 - 00:00
10:00 - 00:00
10:00 - 00:00
10:00 - 00:00
10:00 - 00:00
10:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 227 Hereson Road, Ramsgate CT11 7EX, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Kent  >  Isle of Thanet  >  Ramsgate
  • Phone Number: +44 1843 593011
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing