We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hythe Bay Seafood Restaurant Dover

Esplanade, Dover CT17 9FS, England
+44 1304 207740
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent53%
  • Very good30%
  • Average11%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“seafood” (90 reviews)
“mackerel pate” (24 reviews)
“dover sole” (39 reviews)
Open Now
10:00 - 22:00 Hours
CUISINES
Seafood, British, Soups, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Esplanade, Dover CT17 9FS, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (890)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 845 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago

Four friends out fo some dinner and The Hythe Bay restaurant looked welcoming. The service was friendly and quick. We soon had drinks and menus to study. The choices were predominantly sea food, which we all enjoy, but other tastes were catered for.Amongst our choices...More

Thank brianbG2201PJ
HytheBay, Owner at Hythe Bay Seafood Restaurant Dover, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you. We hope to see you again in the future.

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

It was my favourite fish and seafood place ever. Recently new staff came across, too young girls, bad customer service, impatient waitress, not really professional and polite. Same menu’ no changes, no waitress manners at this restaurant level and prices. I will give another try...More

Thank Paul J
HytheBay, Owner at Hythe Bay Seafood Restaurant Dover, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

We note your comments but please bear in mind that our prices include VAT at 20% which goes to the Government. We have refurbishment planned for the New Year so we hope you visit again.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Can I start with the staff are great there. The location overlooking the harbour and sea is great. The inside is dated now and the dining chairs are so big and heavy, and I’m fit and healthy. Now to the lunch One risotto, very small....More

Thank RichnLee
HytheBay, Owner at Hythe Bay Seafood Restaurant Dover, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your comments. We hope to refurbish the restaurant just after Christmas and we hope you will visit us then.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We went down from London to Dover to visit the white cliffs and found this very nice restaurant just on the seafront. The seafood was all fresh and good, with a special mention for the grilled sole. It was delicious.

Thank Francesco B
HytheBay, Owner at Hythe Bay Seafood Restaurant Dover, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you. We are delighted that you enjoyed your meal and hope to see you again.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hythe Bay Seafood restaurant in always on our "to do" list when we visit Kent from Canada each year. This last visit did not disappoint. Great atmosphere, excellent service and delicious food. We also appreciated the convenient and spacious parking outside.

Thank Patrick O
HytheBay, Owner at Hythe Bay Seafood Restaurant Dover, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you. We are delighted that you enjoy your annual visits and hope to see you again next year.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We happened upon this restaurant after a 20 minute walk around Dover searching for somewhere to eat. The staff kindly fitted us in without a booking on a busy Saturday evening and we are so glad they did. We had fish, chips and minted peas...More

Thank linshudson
HytheBay, Owner at Hythe Bay Seafood Restaurant Dover, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your kind words. We hope to see you again.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Sadly only very average food at best, with service supplied by a group of youngsters who looked as though it may well be past their bedtime! We didn’t see any senior staff for the duration of our meal there. Starters were ok however I wondered...More

Thank Vacationer609706
HytheBay, Owner at Hythe Bay Seafood Restaurant Dover, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Sorry for your disappointment. All the staff will read your comments.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We love going to the Dover Hythe Bay Restaurant. Food is always good and so is the service. We try something different each time and are not disappointed. Looking out over the harbour is good. Just one complaint...please change the menu more often.

1  Thank CasP51
HytheBay, Owner at Hythe Bay Seafood Restaurant Dover, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your comments, which have been noted. Thank you for your repeat custom. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went on the off chance and had an amazing meal. A really nice restaurant with excellent food. We just shared 4 starters which wasn’t a problem at all and then had amazing deserts. The waiting staff were friendly and attentive, all in all we couldn’t...More

1  Thank carofree
HytheBay, Owner at Hythe Bay Seafood Restaurant Dover, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We selected Hythe Bay Seafood Restaurant in Dover because of its location on the water, and we were certainly not disappointed in that. Not only was it nice to see the sights before sundown, but after sundown the lights from the city were pretty as...More

Thank hsbvim
HytheBay, Owner at Hythe Bay Seafood Restaurant Dover, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you. We are glad you enjoyed your meal and hope to see you again.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 10 hotels in Dover
Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa
1,408 reviews
.20 km away
Travelodge Dover
189 reviews
.54 km away
Premier Inn Dover Central (Eastern Ferry Terminal) Hotel
2,160 reviews
.75 km away
Loddington House
157 reviews
1.02 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Happy Chef
145 reviews
.24 km away
Il Rustico
406 reviews
.42 km away
Aspendos Dover
77 reviews
.48 km away
Nearby Attractions
Dover Museum
209 reviews
.47 km away
Western Heights
90 reviews
.62 km away
St Mary's Church
40 reviews
.61 km away
The Grand Shaft
44 reviews
.21 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Andrei V
1 July 2017|
Answer
Response from G8773ALJanet | Reviewed this property |
Open both for lunch in Dover and deal and yes I would book. If you dine in Dover try to get a window table .....also they have an outside terrace in Dover ...but that is weather dependant .hope you enjoy .
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Full Bar, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Child-friendly, Business meetings, Kids, Groups, Local cuisine, View, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 22:00
Monday
10:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 22:00
Thursday
10:00 - 22:00
Friday
10:00 - 22:00
Saturday
10:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Esplanade, Dover CT17 9FS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Kent  >  Dover
  • Phone Number: +44 1304 207740
  • E-mail
Description
Delightful seafood restaurant situated on the beach at Dover. Fantastic sea views and stunning views of the harbour at night.Al fresco dining in good weather. Spacious and modern with excellent service.Local fisherman's catch used where possible and local produce sourced.Extensive fish menu with non fish and vegetarian options available.Ideal for families, business or relaxed lunch or dinner. Live music often on Saturday evening. Reasonably priced.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing