We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hythe Bay Seafood Restaurant Dover

Esplanade, Dover CT17 9FS, England
+44 1304 207740
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent53%
  • Very good30%
  • Average11%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“seafood” (96 reviews)
“mackerel pate” (24 reviews)
“dover sole” (39 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Seafood, British, Soups, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Esplanade, Dover CT17 9FS, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (902)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 856 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago

I very nearly didn't book the Hythe Bay for an early Sunday lunch because I was worried about a number of the comments in other reviews. However we did and were very pleasantly surprised. The place is lovely, the views are great and the service...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank greenfarmkent
HytheBay, Owner at Hythe Bay Seafood Restaurant Dover, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you. We are so pleased that you gave us a try and enjoyed your visit. We hope to see you again.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A young waitress called Yasmin served me and wife with type professionalism , it’s such a credit to see a young lady take so much care in her work , with a attitude like that she will go along way in life ! Look forward...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank shaunkelly1977
HytheBay, Owner at Hythe Bay Seafood Restaurant Dover, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you for your comments, we are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Perfectly pleasant young staff at the table who had no concept of front-of-house, back-of-house. The schoolyard “banter” easily heard across the (Friday Eve) empty, un-atmospheric “restaurant”. Staff talking about their poor wages and work hours. At 1 point adding to the awful decorations sellotaping a...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank WhitehavenTich
HytheBay, Owner at Hythe Bay Seafood Restaurant Dover, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you for your comments, Management are suitably embarrassed. We are refurbishing the restaurant in January.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We visited this restaurant yesterday for some lunch. We booked online and when we arrived we were seated with a great view out over the harbour. Our waitress Georgia was superb and couldn’t do enough for us, especially taking great care of our children, who...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Barnesy73
HytheBay, Owner at Hythe Bay Seafood Restaurant Dover, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Was in the mood to pamper myself a little after two very hectic weeks. The restaurant is just a short walk from my hotel. It was slow at the time as it was middle of the week and early. Service was excellent and what I...More

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank lbhorton1953
HytheBay, Owner at Hythe Bay Seafood Restaurant Dover, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your meal with us.

Reviewed 29 October 2018

We had dinner here one night the meal was very good good views good staff would eat here again good menu.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Gary D
HytheBay, Owner at Hythe Bay Seafood Restaurant Dover, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2018

Thank you. We look forward to being able to welcome you again soon.

Reviewed 28 October 2018 via mobile

Went on a Saturday afternoon .after a lovely cliff top walk The RESTURANT is laid out very well plenty of space in between the tables , Very light due to space and great big glass windows ,what you can see all the ferries coming in...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank webby58
HytheBay, Owner at Hythe Bay Seafood Restaurant Dover, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2018

Thank you for your positive comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you again.

Reviewed 24 October 2018 via mobile

They managed to over cook the halibut but the skin was soggy. That gleam on the plate is not a shiny plate but rather water swill from undrained vegetables. It needed a sauce but wasnt expecting to be water from the vegetables. Very dissappointing resturant.

Date of visit: July 2018
1  Thank Vacationer825821
HytheBay, Owner at Hythe Bay Seafood Restaurant Dover, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2018

Thank you for your comments, which have been noted. We are sorry that you were disappointed with your visit.

Reviewed 24 October 2018

My wife and I had lunch at this restaurant.Had a table by the window overlooking the beach, excellent view.Started with a very nice portion of mussels , then Fish and Chips for main. Both meals were very tasty and would recommend this restaurant. Service was...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Christopher G
HytheBay, Owner at Hythe Bay Seafood Restaurant Dover, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2018

Thank you. We are pleased that you enjoyed your meal and hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 23 October 2018 via mobile

We called in this seafood restaurant for a drink the staff was very friendly and helpful and directed us to a seat outside overlooking the bay which was beautiful we only stayed for a drink but we did intend to come back later but unfortunately...More

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank T W F
HytheBay, Owner at Hythe Bay Seafood Restaurant Dover, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2018

We are glad that you enjoyed your visit and hope you return in the future.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 10 hotels in Dover
Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa
1,439 reviews
.20 km away
Travelodge Dover
245 reviews
.54 km away
Premier Inn Dover Central (Eastern Ferry Terminal) Hotel
2,184 reviews
.75 km away
Loddington House
157 reviews
1.02 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Happy Chef
157 reviews
.24 km away
Il Rustico
410 reviews
.42 km away
Aspendos Dover
100 reviews
.48 km away
Nearby Attractions
Dover Museum
212 reviews
.47 km away
Western Heights
92 reviews
.62 km away
St Mary's Church
41 reviews
.61 km away
The Grand Shaft
44 reviews
.21 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Andrei V
1 July 2017|
Answer
Response from G8773ALJanet | Reviewed this property |
Open both for lunch in Dover and deal and yes I would book. If you dine in Dover try to get a window table .....also they have an outside terrace in Dover ...but that is weather dependant .hope you enjoy .
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Full Bar, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, View
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 22:00
Monday
10:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 22:00
Thursday
10:00 - 22:00
Friday
10:00 - 22:00
Saturday
10:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Esplanade, Dover CT17 9FS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Kent  >  Dover
  • Phone Number: +44 1304 207740
  • E-mail
Description
Delightful seafood restaurant situated on the beach at Dover. Fantastic sea views and stunning views of the harbour at night.Al fresco dining in good weather. Spacious and modern with excellent service.Local fisherman's catch used where possible and local produce sourced.Extensive fish menu with non fish and vegetarian options available.Ideal for families, business or relaxed lunch or dinner. Live music often on Saturday evening. Reasonably priced.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing