We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Three Horseshoes

€€ - €€€, British,
612 Hatfield Road, St Albans AL4 0HP, England
+44 1727 851608
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent35%
  • Very good27%
  • Average17%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible12%
Travellers talk about
“sunday roast” (12 reviews)
“ham” (4 reviews)
“prawns” (6 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, International, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
612 Hatfield Road, St Albans AL4 0HP, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 223 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Oh dear! Only after our family group of 11 sat down, we were told there was no heating! Too late to book such a large party elsewhere, as we'd paid deposit and pre-ordered. After we'd sat in coats with a small electric heater for an...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank rogeronthehill
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at Three Horseshoes, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Rogeronthehill, we regret to hear that you had a negative experience with us, but would appreciate the chance to turn your experience around. If you are willing to give us another chance, please reach out to us at 01727 851608 to speak to our manager...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had been looking forward to our Xmas meal since I booked in Oct, what a disappointment, waiting for ages for main meal, when it arrived, not all specified components which was on the menu, were not on the plate, very small portion, waited ages for...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Mike P
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at Three Horseshoes, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave us valuable feedback following your recent visit. We regret that you had a negative experience with us, but would like to thank you for bringing this to our attention. If you would like to speak to us...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Three of us went for dinner last night. Not too busy, decent table. Then we waited for ages to have our order taken, even longer for drinks, which the waitress accidentally tipped all over us when they did arrive!! Moved to another table, free drinks...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Susiep143
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at Three Horseshoes, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave us valuable feedback following your recent visit. We regret that you had a negative experience with us, but would like to thank you for bringing this to our attention. If you would like to speak to us...More

Reviewed 10 December 2018

While taking my team out for lunch for Christmas last week, I experienced pretty much the worst and most embarrassing experience I've ever had in a restaurant. We waited for food for 2 hours with no communication provided to us about what was going on....More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank elman1239
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at Three Horseshoes, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave us valuable feedback following your recent visit. We regret that you had a negative experience with us, but would like to thank you for bringing this to our attention. If you would like to speak to us...More

Reviewed 2 December 2018 via mobile

The food was very good, however, the servi e was hit and miss and the toilets were appalling. The staff were standing around chatting whilst we were waiting for drinks and only one toilet in the ladies were working. The hand dryer was not working...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank katescats
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at Three Horseshoes, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave us valuable feedback following your recent visit. We regret that you had a negative experience with us, but would like to thank you for bringing this to our attention. If you would like to speak to us...More

Reviewed 26 November 2018 via mobile

Me and my husband popped in for lunch. Tom the bartender was extremely helpful, I’m gluten free and he was very knowledgable and went out of his way too double check what I ordered was gluten free and wouldn’t be contaminated. Customer service was excellent,...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Nikky F
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at Three Horseshoes, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2018

Nikky F, thank you for your kind review; we are happy to pass along your comments to the team here at The Three Horseshoes, Smallford! Thank you, and have a fantastic day!

Reviewed 19 November 2018 via mobile

Our hosts booked a table and informed them that we would be accompanied by our dog. The table was booked for 7pm. We arrived a few mins before and they didn't know about the dog but had booked the table ok. We were shown to...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Biggles105
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at Three Horseshoes, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2018

Biggles105, we're disappointed to hear of the negative experience you had at our location. Thank you for leaving feedback. Please reach out to us at 01727 851608 so we may identify ways to improve your experience.

Reviewed 17 November 2018 via mobile

Unfortunately, despite good quality mains and a member of staff with great customer service, our visit overall left us very disappointed. On arrival, after doing research online, they weren’t prepared for us to ask for the weekend menu as advertised online. No worries as we...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank GillyAnne80
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at Three Horseshoes, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2018

Hi GillyAnne80, I understand where you are coming from as i was the person serving you that day and i can only apologise again. It was just unfortunate timing in the case of the fish and chips! I would very much like you to give...More

Reviewed 13 November 2018 via mobile

Very very disappointed after eating at this pub for Sunday lunch. We had booked a table from the website, which the staff were not aware of on arrival. After waiting 30 minutes I had to go and find the waiter for menus and drink orders...More

Date of visit: November 2018
2  Thank Departure06272663514
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at Three Horseshoes, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2018

Hi Departure, I would very much like a description of the person who said this as this is not the case. Unfortunately this day we had a very bad bout of sickness which left 4 members of staff off, which cannot be helped, especially this...More

Reviewed 11 November 2018

Family reunion with 10 adults pre booked, on arrival the restaurant wasn’t busy so we sat down, 10mins later we had to ask for the menu - not a great start. When we ordered bearing in mind the time was 7:00pm we were informed that...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Steve C
GeneralManagerA538, Manager at Three Horseshoes, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2018

Hi Steve C, thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent experience. We are disappointed to hear that you are not satisfied with your visit. I would really like to speak with you more regarding this matter. Please reach out...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 10 hotels in St Albans
Ramada Hatfield
1,071 reviews
1.75 km away
Hangar Hotel Hatfield
24 reviews
1.96 km away
Beales Hatfield Hotel
726 reviews
1.97 km away
Travelodge Hatfield Central
482 reviews
2.10 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Turkish Kitchen
204 reviews
2.05 km away
Turan Bar & Indian Tapas Restaurant
200 reviews
2.08 km away
Outsidein Restaurant & Talk Bar
117 reviews
1.97 km away
Nando's
187 reviews
2.11 km away
Nearby Attractions
Willows Activity Farm
677 reviews
3.72 km away
Hatfield Park Farm
61 reviews
3.75 km away
Get Wild!
57 reviews
3.26 km away
The Galleria Outlet Shopping
248 reviews
1.95 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
BarnetHertsCabby
11 February 2018|
Answer
Response from Steve C | Reviewed this property |
yes
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$9 - US$18
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Business meetings
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:30
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 612 Hatfield Road, St Albans AL4 0HP, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hertfordshire  >  St Albans
  • Phone Number: +44 1727 851608
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing