We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Waffle House

St. Michaels Street, St Albans AL3 4SJ, England
+44 1727 853502
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent44%
  • Very good36%
  • Average12%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“brunch” (49 reviews)
“waffles” (650 reviews)
“banoffee” (41 reviews)
Open Now
08:30 - 18:00All hours
CUISINES
Belgian, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
St. Michaels Street, St Albans AL3 4SJ, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (1,061)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 1,045 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Too over priced for what you get . Nearly £2.00 for one scoop of ice cream . Staff didn’t look happy,very solemn looking. There was no real warmth when welcoming you. Oh and the sign about the dogs by the till . Very bossy!!!! Glad...More

1  Thank mscants
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

What a great location in St Michaels village is the St Albans Waffle House.Right on the bridge overlooking the river.The Waffles are very tasty and reasonably priced and the kids love them.The perfect destination for a lovely summers evening and right next to the park...More

Thank Paul D
Reviewed 6 days ago

The big breakfast barely tickled my tummy! And it doesn't come with sausage or beans?? really should come with some sausage at least otherwise you might as well call it the mediocre breakfast. The sweet waffles do taste nice and I would go again, I...More

Thank Lettucechild
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

It could be a great place to visif if you could reserve a table. But that is not the case. You have to stand and queue for ages and it is very hard for the disabled or elderly.

Thank Valda E
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My wife and I ate here with another couple on a Monday for breakfast. Amazing setting for a cafe!! We all ordered different variations of breakfast with waffles, but ALL the waffles were over cooked, dry, and not all appealing which was bitterly disappointing as...More

Thank briansoconnor
Reviewed 1 week ago

We have been to the waffle house for breakfast many times, there is always plenty of choice and lots of different specials on! The staff are really friendly and there is always a nice atmosphere. The coffee is decent and the milkshakes are delicious. They...More

Thank 799chloe
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Went yesterday for a birthday breakfast. And it was amazing! Quick service with polite friendly staff. Will definitely be back again

Thank dawnanderson87
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Whilst we had to wait in a queue outside the restaurant for a little while, until a table was available, it was worth it. Savoury and sweet, the choice is extensive and totally delicious.

Thank Tracy Y
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Best Waffle House , home made freshly cooked , kids love it. Only thing is as it is popular place , every time we visit, there is always long queue.... but it is worth it

Thank Enkhtuya D
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We went to the Waffle House for a snack with some friends for the first time, and I presume will be the last. Was no sympathy at all. Staff was rude and I haven’t seen a smile at all. We got the waffles, texture wasn’t...More

1  Thank Filipa V
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Pudding Stop
419 reviews
.83 km away
Number 23
367 reviews
.79 km away
George Street Canteen
93 reviews
.79 km away
Nearby Attractions
St Albans Cathedral
1,665 reviews
.75 km away
Verulamium Park
751 reviews
.40 km away
St Albans Clock Tower
276 reviews
.91 km away
Verulamium Museum
342 reviews
.28 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
STerry22
12 April 2016|
Answer
Response from AJ4DL | Reviewed this property |
Yes you can if you eat/stay in the patio area. The dogs need to be on a short leash and stay off the tables & chairs. The restaurant are happy to provide a dog bowl with water.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$5 - US$16
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
View, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
08:30 - 18:00
Monday
08:30 - 18:00
Tuesday
08:30 - 18:00
Wednesday
08:30 - 18:00
Thursday
08:30 - 20:00
Friday
08:30 - 20:00
Saturday
08:30 - 20:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: St. Michaels Street, St Albans AL3 4SJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hertfordshire  >  St Albans
  • Phone Number: +44 1727 853502
  • E-mail
Description
Welcome to The Waffle House St Albans, located within a working 16th century watermill overlooking the river Ver. A family business since 1978, we specialise in sweet and savoury Belgian waffles individually cooked to order and using many organic and free-range ingredients. Come and enjoy a tempting selection of breakfast, lunch and afternoon/early evening waffle dishes, brought to you with our friendly, relaxed service.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing