We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bishop on the Bridge

) #38 of 155 Restaurants in Winchester €€ - €€€ , British,
1 High Street, Winchester SO23 9JX, England
+44 1962 855111
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent27%
  • Very good45%
  • Average16%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“burger” (37 reviews)
“roast dinner” (13 reviews)
Open Now
11:00 - 23:00All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
1 High Street, Winchester SO23 9JX, England
Write a Review
Reviews (465)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 451 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

We didn't eat here, as we only needed drinks. However, we sat outside on the terrace overlooking the river. Very nice in the sunshine. Only negative was our table was a little grubby, and it could have done with a wipe. This didn't spoil things...More

Thank Symeddy
Reviewed 4 days ago

We popped in for a Sunday roast, I ordered the pork and the rest of my friends ordered the beef. Unfortunately we had to send the beef back as it was awful, probably the last of the beef given the time of day, but the...More

Thank lexie878
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I think best to put this review as bullet points. Sorry, but there are too many plus points to this place! * Location, its like a postcard. * Outside seating, over-looking the river. * A Fullers pub. The interior has the old London look/feel to...More

Thank Ranger297
Jane D, General Manager at The Bishop on the Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hey thank you, we don't mind positive bullet points.... I believe the price matches the quality though. and all the other points you made, make it worth while.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

On a 4-day visit to Winchester, the Bishop on the Bridge became our local. We ate there the first night because it was close to our B&B, and really enjoyed it. We ate at another pub the next night that had been recommended to us,...More

Thank BuxtonMaineTraveler
Jane D, General Manager at The Bishop on the Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Ahh thank you, what a lovely review. That's exactly the experience we want all of our customers to have.... I really hope you get the opportunity to visit Winchester again sometime in the future.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited this pub for lunch one Sunday while having a day out in Winchester. Went for the roast as it looked so good - not cheap at £18 per head but was presented really nicely, tasted good and was very filling! We all went for...More

Thank Lorraine B
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great atmosphere- friendly waiter and waitress and the food was yummy! The setting is so Winchester - will definitely be back there soon.

Thank jennyjens2013
Jane D, General Manager at The Bishop on the Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Really glad you enjoyed jour time here with us...maybe next time we may even get you to rate us 5 stars..... lol!!!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This pub, with its riverside location and so close to the town centre, has been a favourite haunt of ours for a number of years, and the food, whilst not exceptional, has generally been perfectly good. Today, however, we ordered a burger, ham hock and...More

Thank Julie M
Jane D, Manager at The Bishop on the Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Whoa!!! I'm not happy about that... Over cooked fish is not something I expect from our team... I will certainly check that out! Give me a call, and maybe I can 'chat' with you to see what 'we can do!!!' :-) I need to make...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I didnt really expect much, but we wanted to sit outside as it was a warm evening. I cant say much about the service as I didnt place any orders but the young lad that served our food was pleasant enough, the drinks were nice...More

Thank supermolley
Jane D, General Manager at The Bishop on the Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

That's a real shame.... I'm actually less than impressed with the new style falafel burger too, and your feedback will only help me with maybe getting it replaced. Coming from a family of vegetarians, I know they don't like to be short changed. As for...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A busy, efficiently run, 'fast/pub food' place in a pretty, central area with a nice patio overlooking the water.More

Thank Deeonhrt
Jane D, General Manager at The Bishop on the Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Glad you enjoyed your visit, although I must say we are not exactly fast food, unless you were talking about speed of service.... haha!! We take great pride in cooking food fresh to order, no microwaves.... so to be honest you may have to wait...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Another excellent lunch in this perfectly situated pub. Always an interesting menu with good service. Will be back.

Thank Rosemary B
Jane D, Manager at The Bishop on the Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

It just keeps getting better and better too.... thank you so much and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Palm Pan Asia
456 reviews
.17 km away
Chesil Rectory
1,156 reviews
.06 km away
Diya
71 reviews
.08 km away
Rick Stein
1,185 reviews
.26 km away
Nearby Attractions
Winchester Cathedral
2,870 reviews
.45 km away
Winchester City Mill
465 reviews
.03 km away
Statue of Alfred the Great
196 reviews
.11 km away
Wolvesey Castle
185 reviews
.25 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Vegigal
Is there parking?
11 August 2016|
Answer Show all 2 answers
Response from Nickyhants | Reviewed this property |
Lots in Winchester but not next to pub that I'm aware of.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Parking Available, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover
Good for
Local cuisine, Groups, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, View, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 22:30
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 00:00
Saturday
11:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1 High Street, Winchester SO23 9JX, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  Winchester
  • Phone Number: +44 1962 855111
  • E-mail
Description
Perfectly placed to explore beautiful Winchester, The Bishop on the Bridge is elegantly situated on the bank of the River Itchen. Try a craft beer from a seat in our garden and enjoy our freshly prepared seasonal food while dining al fresco in the sunshine.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing