We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Horse & Jockey

Certificate of Excellence
€€ - €€€
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Botley Road | Curbridge, Southampton SO30 2HB, England
+44 1489 796654
Website
Today
08:00 - 00:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 08:00 - 22:30
Mon - Fri 08:00 - 23:00
Sat 08:00 - 00:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

256 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 256: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

I stopped as I had time to kill and had a lovely meal, food was great. Service excellent. Good old fashioned pub! Eat by the river and enjoy the English countryside.

Helpful?
Thank Nicola T
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Just had lunch here today after a walk in the countryside. The blue cheese burger was well presented and absolutely melt in the mouth delicious. The fish and chips that my wife had was a generous portion which also went down very well. This was our first visit and it won't be our last.

Helpful?
Thank Ian O
Wendy T, Owner at The Horse & Jockey, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you to the Horse and Jockey again soon. More 

Fareham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Having eaten here on several occasions in the past we were extremely disappointed when we ate here last week. The menu was very plain. There were no specials and when the food arrived, the presentation was non-existent. To top it off one of us requested a gluten free option for each course but something went wrong as they had a... More 

Helpful?
Thank mail245
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had a lovely walk along the river hamble , and popped into the Horse & Jockey ,made very welcome by staff, very pleasant and helpfull . Had a good roast dinner plenty of meat and vegetables ,well cooked , Would eat there again and recommend .

Helpful?
Thank Linda S
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I stopped in here today with my daughter and our dog after a walk in the woods. Sadly it was absolutely awful, sausage and mash with veg for my daughter and chilli for me. Honestly it was the worst food I have had in a pub in a very long time. Especially as we had waited an hour for it... More 

Helpful?
Thank hannahmj32
1 review
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This has to be the worse pub food in a very, very long time. My family and I walked through the bluebell woods and thought it would be nice to finish with lunch at the pub alongside. How wrong we were! I ordered a jacket potato with prawns to be safe, as I had not eaten here before, and it... More 

Helpful?
Thank Samantha W
Wendy T, Owner at The Horse & Jockey, responded to this review

I'm sorry that you feel this way. All of our food is freshly cooked, we do not serve "re heated muck'. It is a shame that you did not speak to someone while you were here, so that any problem could be addressed on the spot. We usually have nothing but praise for our burgers. As for the potato there... More 

1 review
Reviewed 16 April 2017

Just had a delicious Sunday roast. Brilliant service and friendly staff. They have a gluten free menu which was lovely to see. The food is not the cheapest in the area but the quality and size portions cannot be beaten. Will definitely be returning. Thoroughly enjoyed our experience.

Helpful?
Thank Christine J
Isle of Portland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2017

This is the first time I have felt obliged to write a poor review. We booked lunch for four at the Horse & Jockey two days ago. It was a very warm Sunday so the pub was busy which may account for the very slow service. I assume there were a lot of people eating outside as it didn't seem... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank S G
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2017 via mobile

Lovely, welcoming environment in a lovely location. Quiet but clearly popular. Service was efficient and with a smile. Gentleman serving ensured we had everything we liked. Great range in the menu and food was delicious! Presented beautifully too. 10% off next visit within 28 days. Great for those more local! Would definitely recommend.

Helpful?
Thank SouthWestFoodie7
Gosport
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2017

Just went here today with my partner and two friends. They all opted for a Cheddar or ham ploughman's which consisted of some sweaty cheese, limp salad leaves, some red cabbage slaw, a tiny pot of chutney, half an apple and two small cherry tomatoes with a small piece of French stick, all served on an old chopping board!! For... More 

Helpful?
Thank sare1

Travellers who viewed The Horse & Jockey also viewed

Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Been to The Horse & Jockey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, View
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 22:30
Monday
08:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 23:00
Thursday
08:00 - 23:00
Friday
08:00 - 23:00
Saturday
08:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Botley Road | Curbridge, Southampton SO30 2HB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  Southampton
  • Phone Number: +44 1489 796654

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Horse & Jockey and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Southampton, United Kingdom

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Horse & Jockey staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?