We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Butchers Arms

€€ - €€€, British,
Oakridge Lynch, Stroud GL6 7NZ, England
+44 1285 760371
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent80%
  • Very good16%
  • Average2%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“pizza” (20 reviews)
“chicken kiev” (2 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Oakridge Lynch, Stroud GL6 7NZ, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago

Eight of us for a pre Christmas supper. Lovely honest pub food. Just what we wanted. Ticked every box. Service faultless and with a smile. Well done Rob, Suze and team.

Thank Phil H
Philip M, General Manager at The Butchers Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Good morning Phil and gang Thank you for your review and delighted you all enjoyed Look forward to welcoming you all back soon Keep smiling, take care Philip, Alison, Rob, Suze and the team

Reviewed 6 days ago

The excitement was high when we heard this is one of the handful pubs to hold a Michelin star in the UK. We booked 6 weeks in advance and were told we were lucky to get a table. On the day: - no one was...More

1  Thank JackfromParis
Philip M, General Manager at The Butchers Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Good morning JackfromParis I am really sorry to hear you had such a dreadful time, my only issue is that we are not the pub you visited and we do not hold nor want a Michelin Star( too much hassle!!) This is the Butchers Arms...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have visited this country pub many times in the past. It has had a number of different licensees who have made internal changes and put their own stamp on it, so as to speak. No more changes to structure but the latest folks have...More

Thank Stephen M
Philip M, General Manager at The Butchers Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Good morning Stephen M Thank you for your kind review and we appreciate your visit Delighted you all enjoyed and we look forward to welcoming you all back hopefully in the near future Take care, Kind regards Philip, Alison and the team

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Don't get back to Glos very often but went here last Dec and was on the must return list, so last week we did. It was superb last year and again this time. Very friendly with very good food. Thorough recommend.More

Thank Jimmybird
Philip M, Front Office Manager at The Butchers Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Good morning Jimmybird Delighted you made it back but you are taking too long a .......year!!! :) Thank you for your kind words and positive review, sorry to say if you leave until next December we will have moved on by Feb 18 Thank you...More

Reviewed 17 October 2017 via mobile

Booked this restaurant for dinner. Beautiful interior, really welcoming and cosy. Excellent service- big shout out to Philip who was extremely attentive and friendly and really made our evening a wonderful dining experience. The food was delicious ( recommend the chicken and leek pie). Our...More

2  Thank sunni_parmar
Philip M, General Manager at The Butchers Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Good morning Sunni Thank you both for your visit, we enjoyed looking after you and we are delighted you all enjoyed yourselves Hopefully you will come back soon and we will help organise a Taxi!! Keep smiling, take care Philip, Alison and the team

Reviewed 15 October 2017

We used to visit this pub often over 10 years ago, until the landlords ( two brothers) left and the atmosphere & quality changed. However on seeing the great reviews on TripAdvisor we thought we would give it another try for a Saturday lunch. We...More

2  Thank Townfans
Philip M, General Manager at The Butchers Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Dear Townfans Which town are you fans of!! We were delighted to welcome you and equally happy you all enjoyed your return visit Look forward to welcoming you back in the near future Keep smiling, take care Philip, Alison and team

Reviewed 14 October 2017

This is a little gem of a place for a Sunday lunch. In late September , we went as big family group of 8. They had 81 covers in - but you did not feel rushed and the food and service was excellent. The traditional...More

1  Thank Richard P
Philip M, General Manager at The Butchers Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Morning Richard P Delighted you all enjoyed and equally happy you choose here for your Sunday Lunch We look forward to welcoming back soon Take care, keep smiling Philip, Alison and the team

Reviewed 5 October 2017

Best to book for this pub as Sunday lunch is always packed Really friendly and helpful staff, excellent service and the roast was lovely nice and hot ,

Thank Kathy S
Philip M, General Manager at The Butchers Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2017

Hello Kathy S Thank you for your kind and succinct review, does exactly what it says on the tin! Look forward to welcoming you back, the sooner the better as we say in the hospitality business! Take care, keep smiling Philip

Reviewed 5 October 2017

Travelled to stay with friends in the Cotswolds, Oakridge Lynch and couldn't access their home by previous arrangement - the key didn't fit - what to do for two days waiting? Head to the Butchers Arms and ask local advice. Philip and staff outstanding and...More

Thank trailswest2008
Philip M, General Manager at The Butchers Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2017

Hello Trailwest2008 I gather you have made it home safe and sound!! It was all Nick and Caroline's fault, nothing to do with me just to clarify :) We were delighted to look after you it is always nice to cater for someone so laid...More

Reviewed 26 September 2017 via mobile

Stumbled upon The Butchers Arms over the weekend. It was Sunday around 1pm so we popped in to see if we could get a roast. The place was very busy (obviously very popular and can see why now!). All staff were exceptionally friendly and chatty...More

Thank Sam M
Philip M, General Manager at The Butchers Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2017

Hello Sam H I gather you both made it home safe and sound! It was a pleasure to have you both and we appreciated your patience and most of all the laugh and chat Delighted you enjoyed, really appreciate the kind review, look forward to...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Jolly Nice
256 reviews
2.04 km away
The Lamb Inn
302 reviews
2.62 km away
The Bear Inn pub
163 reviews
2.65 km away
The Ram Inn
78 reviews
3.20 km away
Nearby Attractions
Gardens at Miserden
26 reviews
5.71 km away
Museum in the Park, Stroud
178 reviews
7.21 km away
Rodmarton Manor
61 reviews
6.36 km away
Stroud Subscription Rooms
28 reviews
6.63 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Jackie P
14 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Philip M | Property representative |
Sorry for the late reply I did not expect an enquiry through TA you are the first I am aware of Sorry tomorrow being Mothers Day we are and have been fully booked for over two weeks Take care, enjoy your stay in the... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:30
Monday
11:30 - 15:00
18:30 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:30 - 15:00
18:30 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:30 - 15:00
18:30 - 23:00
Thursday
11:30 - 15:00
18:30 - 23:00
Friday
11:30 - 15:00
18:00 - 23:00
Saturday
11:30 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Oakridge Lynch, Stroud GL6 7NZ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cotswolds  >  Stroud
  • Phone Number: +44 1285 760371
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing