We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Old Bakery Tearoom

4 Fountain Court Digbeth Street | 4, Fountain Court, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1BN, England
+44 1451 832172
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent88%
  • Very good9%
  • Average1%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“scones” (144 reviews)
“salad” (47 reviews)
Closed
Hours
CUISINES
Cafe, British, Healthy, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
4 Fountain Court Digbeth Street | 4, Fountain Court, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1BN, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (634)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 633 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago

We popped in to this cosy tearoom, not for tea but for lunch. Wanted some good home cooking rather than another fussy meal. Absolutely lovely! Although they had run out of my husband's first choice (soup) and the quiche was not quite what I wanted...More

Thank 37randj
Alan S, Owner at The Old Bakery Tearoom, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hello 37randj Lovely to see you. With having everything prepared and fresh does mean that there can be the odd occasion when we have sold out of some items - so sorry your husband missed out on the soup! Glad that your "second choices" were...More

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Had their homemade scones and strawberry jam with Dorset clotted cream. Delicious! Owner/server was friendly and helpful without hovering.More

Thank AJCronin
Alan S, Owner at The Old Bakery Tearoom, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi AJCronin Great to be able to welcome you here and really pleased that you enjoyed your English experience! I really appreciate your comments about hovering - it's a very fine line between ensuring that you are paying enough attention to guests and over doing...More

Reviewed 6 days ago

Scones cream and jam fantastic. Hot pot of tea and warm scones what more could one want. Very good service.

Thank Bill R
Alan S, Owner at The Old Bakery Tearoom, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hello Bill R Thank you for stopping by and appreciating our service and quality. The scones are made freshly here every day and continue to be popular. Simple but very effective! Have safe travels. Many thanks. Alan & Jackie

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were driving through the Cotswolds and found this on Tripadvisor when we decided we fancied some lunch. What a find it was! It's set back from the street through a little alley containing a couple of shops. Parking wise, we parked on the housing...More

Thank Adrian H
Alan S, Owner at The Old Bakery Tearoom, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi Adrian H Thanks for finding us out and pleased that you enjoyed your lunch and cream tea. Great combination! The cream teas continue to be really popular and with homemade scones made freshly here every day, jam and thick clotted cream, it has to...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were so fortunate to find an open table for lunch at The Old Bakery Tearoom. The owner was so welcoming and helpful and our sandwiches were freshly made and customised for us. The cakes, salad dressings, chutney and cranberry sauces are all homemade. I...More

Thank Donna B
Alan S, Owner at The Old Bakery Tearoom, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Donna B It's always a pleasure to welcome guests from over the pond! we are always happy to customize our meals, and as each one is prepared individually this is all part of customer service! As you found, as much as possible is made...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We happened upon the tea room almost by chance, however we were definitely not disappointed, lovely ambience light and welcoming but with a touching history to add. We were initially only going to have drinks but after witnessing various dishes being served we ordered food,...More

Thank duncang55
Alan S, Owner at The Old Bakery Tearoom, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi duncang55 We are a bit tucked away but also well signed, but it is always encouraging when guests happen in by chance. Even better when they are tempted by seeing what we serve - words on a page are nothing like seeing with your...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Before visiting Stow we checked trip advisor as always and decided The old bakery tearoom was going to be our lunch stop. We were lucky to get a table immediately, and were given a warm and friendly welcome. Throughout the visit there was great witty...More

Thank Elec_rep
Alan S, Owner at The Old Bakery Tearoom, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Elec_rep It's encouraging when visitors use TripAdvisor and find that the reviews and comments are true and accurate! We do encourage guests to book or ring ahead, especially if they are coming a long way, but glad we could give you all an enjoyable...More

Reviewed 8 April 2018

Wonderful food served with extremely friendly service and behind it all a really moving and heart warming story.More

Thank Annie4452
Alan S, Owner at The Old Bakery Tearoom, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Hi Annie4452 Thanks for stopping by on your day out. We've been here for over twelve years now and have had the privilege of seeing many new faces every day. It's always encouraging when anyone comes in with fresh eyes and makes lovely comments such...More

Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

Had a lovely cream tea, but too much for me to eat. Very friendly, lovely and clean. A great find. Dog friendly.More

Thank 333caroline2017
Alan S, Owner at The Old Bakery Tearoom, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Hi 333caroline2017 Thanks for finding us! Tucked away but well signed. The cream teas have always been a generous size - but it's a great challenge! We're always happy for people to share a cream tea if they want - but you don't want to...More

Reviewed 2 April 2018

This tearoom is really welcoming and everything laid out very nicely. I received a warm welcome and enjoyed coffee and a wonderful (and huge!) toasted teacake. Recommended.More

Thank Gary F
Alan S, Owner at The Old Bakery Tearoom, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Hi Gary F Thanks for your appreciative comments. It's always great to have guests come in with "fresh eyes" and enjoy all that we do. The teacakes are very popular!! Hope you had a good visit to the rest of the area. Best wishes, Alan...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 8 hotels in Stow-on-the-Wold
Sheep on Sheep Street
353 reviews
.07 km away
Stag Lodge
48 reviews
.16 km away
The Old Stocks Inn
411 reviews
.17 km away
Stow Lodge Hotel
362 reviews
.20 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Hive
284 reviews
.04 km away
New England Coffee House
333 reviews
.07 km away
Treebus
352 reviews
.03 km away
Nearby Attractions
St. Edward's Church
201 reviews
.11 km away
Stow Visitor Information Centre
20 reviews
.14 km away
Fosse Gallery
26 reviews
.22 km away
The Borzoi Bookshop
16 reviews
.18 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
ssach85
1 May 2017|
Answer
Response from Alan S | Property representative |
Good morning We are able to cater for you - indeed we served a family just last week with the same dietary requirements. Its a little more restricted but still good! Please let me know dates, times and number of people... More
1
Vote
Siobhan W
21 February 2017|
Answer
Response from Alan S | Property representative |
Hi. Dogs are very welcome. We do accept bookings if you would like to be sure of a table in advance. Thanks.
0
Votes
penta2012
25 September 2016|
Answer
Response from Alan S | Property representative |
We can adapt our regular menu where possible. It is fairly limited as cheese and eggs are widely used but can offer good salad and potato options. We have entertained vegans pretty often in the past. Thanks.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$3 - US$20
Meals
Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Drinks
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Accepts Discover, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Monday
10:00 - 16:30
Tuesday
10:00 - 16:30
Wednesday
10:00 - 16:30
Friday
10:00 - 16:30
Saturday
10:00 - 17:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 4 Fountain Court Digbeth Street | 4, Fountain Court, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1BN, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cotswolds  >  Stow-on-the-Wold
  • Phone Number: +44 1451 832172
  • E-mail
Description
We are an owner operated traditional tearoom. Much of our menu is made here on the premises, including Soups, Dressings, Sauces, Jams and of course all of our cakes and scones.We make everything from basic ingredients, not pre prepared mixes.Our coffee and tea is Fairtrade. The coffee is freshly ground and we use loose leaf tea, with the exception of herbal teas. We aim to source our produce locally as we believe in supporting local suppliers where possible.We also provide a wide selection of Gluten Free meals, including homemade Gluten Free scones, so a cream tea can be had by everyone!Vegetarian options are always available. We are visited by many customers time and time again, along with strong support from locals who live in the town. Regular hours are 10am to 4.00pm (5pm Saturdays). Please note we are closed on Sundays and Thursdays.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;