We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Royal William

) #4 of 7 Restaurants in Painswick €€ - €€€ , British,
Cheltenham Road | Cranham, Painswick GL6 6TT, England
+44 1452 813650
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent49%
  • Very good23%
  • Average14%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (24 reviews)
“sundae” (3 reviews)
“noodles” (2 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, International, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Cheltenham Road | Cranham, Painswick GL6 6TT, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (196)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 196 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

nice location but is by a main road if sat outside. the outside area is really pretty with pleanty of places to sit. the food was nice, the service was great

Thank kirsty r
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Fantastic staff. My husband said his Chicken, Leek and Ham pie was the best he had ever eaten. The Caribbean Cheesecake and Lemon sundae were absolutely gorgeous. All attended to by Tina and her lovely staff. Could not fault this at all. We will definitely...More

Thank Linda C
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

How nice to be able to cook my steak how I want it. The waitress was very polite and helpful. The food was wonderful as well. Thanks for making my birthday fantastic!

Thank gareth4900Tetbury
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

On our way home from a holiday in Portland we chose a route which avoided Glastonbury so came across the Royal William. I recalled that many years ago I had sent a steak back as it was overdone. This time it was quite different. The...More

Thank Benecke
Reviewed 2 June 2017

Have just had the most dreadful meal!!! Waited almost half an hour, only for my meal to be completely inedible!!! I think we had been forgotten about...After complaining and not eating anything on my plate we were told there would be no charge for any...More

1  Thank JACsparkle1
LCPC, Owner at The Royal William, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

I would like to start by saying sorry but really not sure that this is a valid review. I have no details of any forgotten meals. I certainly have no feedback an inedible meal so therefore I can only assume as a first time reviewer...More

Reviewed 30 May 2017 via mobile

We eat here as often as we possibly can! We've eaten here all weekend and we have to say it's just been Brilliant. The staff at this pub are second to none, they can't do enough for you, seriously lovely people whom always have time...More

Thank Laura-Jayne P
LCPC, Owner at The Royal William, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Many thanks for your kind words. Sometimes it is nice to be appreciated for trying our best and have someone thank you instead of trying to get something for nothing. I am so pleased that we have exceeded your expectations and we look forward to...More

Reviewed 27 May 2017 via mobile

We visited the Royal William today on our way home. It was a lovely warm and inviting pub, with lovely landlords who cannot do enough for you. All food is cooked beautifully and perfectly, it is full of taste and seasoned well. Definitely worth a...More

Thank Kimberly H
LCPC, Owner at The Royal William, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Many thanks for your kind words. I am so pleased that we have exceeded your expectations and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 24 May 2017 via mobile

Came out for a dinner, had a garlic bread starter and disappointingly there was no garlic to be seen! For £6 I would of expected something great. Mentioned about it not being very nice the waitress just told me they had had complaints about it...More

1  Thank Theenglishlad
LCPC, Owner at The Royal William, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Many thanks for taking the time to send us your thoughts. Sadly I am unaware of the issues you mention regarding the garlic bread as the feedback we have received has been nothing but positive. Lately we have had some supply issues with our garlic...More

Reviewed 23 May 2017

Enjoyed a lovely meal with family over the weekend . Hot rocks steaks were brilliant, as was the fish & chips, chicken pie & butternut squash tart. Chips were just right - crispy on the outside soft in the middle. Over-generous with new potatoes but...More

Thank Jeniffer C
LCPC, Owner at The Royal William, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Many thanks for your kind words. We will endeavour to try harder on our veggie options. This is always difficult for us to come up with new and exciting vegetarian dishes and we will always welcome suggestions. Kind regards

Reviewed 22 May 2017

Spotted this pub on Google, looking for a place to eat for 3 of us after a morning's walking around Cranham. Weather fine and ate on patio. Wide menu and we chose carvery. Good quantity with reasonable quality all round and very well priced at...More

Thank Ashley J
LCPC, Owner at The Royal William, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Many thanks for your review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit and that you have taken the time to share your views. Feedback is always appreciated especially when it is positive. We look forward to seeing you again, Many thanks.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Patchwork Mouse
244 reviews
.69 km away
Falcon Inn Pub
446 reviews
.80 km away
The Bistro at Cardynham House
191 reviews
.78 km away
Olivas
161 reviews
.69 km away
Nearby Attractions
Painswick Rococo Garden
510 reviews
.74 km away
Prinknash Bird And Deer Park
397 reviews
3.35 km away
St Marys Painswick
114 reviews
.80 km away
Museum in the Park
158 reviews
5.24 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Royal William staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$7 - US$35
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Cheltenham Road | Cranham, Painswick GL6 6TT, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cotswolds  >  Painswick
  • Phone Number: +44 1452 813650
  • E-mail
Description
Food served daily from 12.00 Until 9.00
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing