We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Royal William

€€ - €€€, British,
Cheltenham Road | Cranham, Painswick GL6 6TT, England
+44 1452 813650
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent48%
  • Very good23%
  • Average14%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (23 reviews)
“sundae” (3 reviews)
“garlic bread” (3 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, International, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Cheltenham Road | Cranham, Painswick GL6 6TT, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The food is pretty average and in fairness is well priced. Nice place for a drink or a sandwich but not really a place to go for a treat.

Thank Lark2713
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Easy to park, service and food good and price reasonable. Only moan is we were refused entry into the Restaurant with my friend's Guide Dog and sent to bar area. I believe this to be discrimation and against the Law.

Thank Jan E
Reviewed 6 November 2017

We visited the Royal William pub on Saturday evening with friends who have visited before. We were served by a young man, who when asked what the available ales were, had to go and check as he wasn't of age. Drinks were served, although the...More

1  Thank Fiona L
LCPC, Owner at The Royal William, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Many thanks for taking the time to review your visit and I am truly sorry to hear that you would neither recommend or return in he future. I am not one for excuses however I do feel compelled to at least commend the new staff...More

Reviewed 27 October 2017

Well done to Tony, Chris and all the staff at The Royal William for providing an excellent meal and very friendly, well organised service for 60+ members of Gloucestershire Federation of Women’s Institutes in October 2017. A colleague and myself had organized a walk in...More

Thank Gill B
LCPC, Owner at The Royal William, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your kind words. We will pass your comments on to our team. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you all again soon.

Reviewed 24 October 2017 via mobile

Booked a table here for Sunday lunch. It took a while for anyone to notice us and to seat us. Upon being seated we were told there were no roasts/Carvery available. Quite disappointing, wasn't mentioned on the phone when booking. They took our drinks order...More

Thank Dr W
LCPC, Owner at The Royal William, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Dr W, We are truly sorry to read about your experience and can only apologise. Sunday was an extremely busy day and we were simply overwhelmed by the level of trade. In part, due to an impressive addition into the Top five Gloucester Live's list...More

Reviewed 27 September 2017 via mobile

We stopped into the Royal William for lunch while walking the Cotswold Way. Even though we were a couple of minutes early for opening time, we received a warm welcome and were immediately shown to a table. We were tempted by the lunch special of...More

Thank buzzinn1
Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

Had the cheese and bacon burger fro m the menuu and absolutely loved It! Cheese melted onto the burger with crispy bacon. Wow wow wow I can still taste it now :-)

Thank gareth4900Tetbury
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

A help yourself sunday carvery so if you're hungry you can pile it on. Good meats, you can have some of each. Nice roast potatoes, Yorkshire puddings, stuffing balls and gravy all good. Vegetables were cooked al dente but were barely warm so weren't very...More

Thank myverdict
LCPC, Owner at The Royal William, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review our business. Helpful comments

Reviewed 10 September 2017

The meals were lukewarm and badly presented, to include a so say salad, which consisted of warm, yes warm shrivelled up lettuce and nothing else. The Lamb and Mint burger was overcooked and served in a roll which had seen better days. The staff were...More

1  Thank st00ba
LCPC, Owner at The Royal William, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2017

Many thanks for taking the time and trouble to leave us such a helpful review. I can only assume you are from a local competitor as no mention of your badly presented and lukewarm meals were raised during your visit. A clear attempt to ruin...More

Reviewed 31 August 2017

Visited on a Saturday lunchtime for a quick lunch. Had an exceptional mackerel salad and liver/bacon which were good value (might have expected to pay more for lesser quality food). Good choice of local beers inc 'Royal William' (excellent). Good service. Friendly local pub. Went...More

Thank J1mJ1mJ1m
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Patchwork Mouse
254 reviews
.69 km away
Falcon Inn Pub
480 reviews
.80 km away
The Bistro at Cardynham House
207 reviews
.73 km away
Olivas
170 reviews
.68 km away
Nearby Attractions
Painswick Rococo Garden
539 reviews
.71 km away
Prinknash Bird And Deer Park
430 reviews
3.34 km away
St Marys Painswick
125 reviews
.81 km away
Museum in the Park, Stroud
178 reviews
5.26 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
clivewitts
17 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from gareth4900Tetbury | Reviewed this property |
yes from 12 until 9pm monday to friday
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$7 - US$36
Meals
Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Child-friendly, Business meetings, Kids, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Cheltenham Road | Cranham, Painswick GL6 6TT, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cotswolds  >  Painswick
  • Phone Number: +44 1452 813650
  • E-mail
Description
Food served daily from 12.00 Until 9.00
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing