We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Greedy Goose

€€ - €€€, British,
Salford Hill | The Cotswolds, Moreton-in-Marsh GL56 0SP, England
+44 1608 646551
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent58%
  • Very good24%
  • Average8%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“pizza” (63 reviews)
“beef” (33 reviews)
“fish and chips” (28 reviews)
Open Now
12:00 - 22:00 Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, International, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Salford Hill | The Cotswolds, Moreton-in-Marsh GL56 0SP, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (562)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 557 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago

We picked The Greedy Goose for a birthday celebration as it was a decent distance for all of our friends to meet in the middle (and camp over night). We're really glad that we did. The food was absolutely brilliant - we had a table...More

1  Thank Dan G
Samantha R, Owner at The Greedy Goose, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Many thanks for choosing to stay and eat with us. It is fantastic to know you all enjoyed your time at The Greedy Goose. Thank you for using Trip Advisor.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

What a lovely pub! We went on a thurs at half 12 not too busy sat outside! The guy who served us was lovely! Food super! Pizza superb! And as I could not eat all if it they boxed it up for me to take...More

Thank sarahlamar
Samantha R, Owner at The Greedy Goose, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Many thanks for your review which we will show to all of our team. We hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lunchtime visit for business. Pre booked, out in the snug, not restaurant. Service was ok. Fish and chips pretty average. No mushy peas! Lots of batter on the fish, very average chips! Large car park.

Thank 99PSB
Samantha R, Owner at The Greedy Goose, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for visiting The Greedy Goose. We aim to offer delicious, good value dishes together with excellent service and are grateful for your feedback which we will discuss with our team. Thank you for using Trip Advisor.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The only good thing was the camping ground was fairly level in places. But camping field was adjacent to a very busy & noisy main road. The facilities for campers were terrible, blocked drainage from the only two showers, toilets only one in operation (gents)...More

Thank steve p
Samantha R, Owner at The Greedy Goose, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

I am very sorry you did not enjoy your stay at The Greedy Goose's campsite. We are currently in the process of creating new toilet and shower facilities and I apologise for the fact that these were not available for you to use.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Somewhat off the beaten track, this is a pub worth visiting. They have great food, even though some menu items are a little unusual. Don’t let that put you off. The chef certainly knows what he/she is doing. We were a party of 10 arriving...More

Thank John H
Samantha R, Owner at The Greedy Goose, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Many thanks for your positive feedback which we will share with Chef Marek and the rest of our team. We hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 15 June 2018

Lovely part of the world but the site is in between an A and B road so loads of lorries and noise. Had a nice meal in the pub in the evening. The next morning we got rushed out of our cabin by a rude...More

Thank kate a
Samantha R, Owner at The Greedy Goose, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for letting us know you enjoyed your meal but I am sorry to hear you were upset by the behaviour of one of our housekeeping team. Thank you for alerting us.

Reviewed 3 June 2018 via mobile

Great food the 2 times we have visited Burgers are by far the best in the area Every thing tasted so fresh and flavor some

Thank Paul T
Samantha R, Owner at The Greedy Goose, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2018

We are very pleased to know you have enjoyed your meals with us. Thank you for using Trip Advisor and we hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 1 June 2018

Our family group ranged in age from 9 to 75 years and the menu had something for everyone. It was easy to book and the 10 of us even had our own private dining room with interesting chairs. The food was very good quality, reasonably...More

Thank jennycarys
Samantha R, Owner at The Greedy Goose, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2018

What a lovely review. We will make sure the team sees your 'thank you' and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Reviewed 31 May 2018

Six of us met at the Greedy Goose for lunch yesterday and the staff could not have been more helpful, charming and professional. The party included two very elderly ladies, one of whom had severe difficulties walking - suppose at 98 she is entitled to...More

Thank rodbs1
Samantha R, Owner at The Greedy Goose, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2018

Many thanks for letting us know you all enjoyed lunch and plan to return. Thank you for using Trip Advisor.

Reviewed 29 May 2018

Stopped in at last minute for an overnight in our campervan. Was very impressed by the level of service, especially from Liam behind the bar. Food was very good, will definitely be back. Thanks.

Thank paulhilder50
Samantha R, Owner at The Greedy Goose, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2018

Thank you for letting us know you enjoyed a good stay with us. We will make sure Liam sees your feedback. We hope to see you again soon.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Moreton-in-Marsh Hotels
The Fox
253 reviews
4.69 km away
Crown and Cushion Hotel
777 reviews
4.70 km away
The Manor House Hotel
1,223 reviews
7.36 km away
White Hart Royal Hotel
2,197 reviews
7.42 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Red Lion Inn
236 reviews
1.84 km away
The Red Lion
420 reviews
3.96 km away
Daylesford Organic Farm Cafe
606 reviews
3.99 km away
Wild Thyme Restaurant and Rooms
547 reviews
4.61 km away
Nearby Attractions
Rollright Stones
287 reviews
3.25 km away
The Cookery School at Daylesford
33 reviews
3.88 km away
St Nicholas Church
27 reviews
4.89 km away
The King’s Head Inn
6 reviews
6.70 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Kriskos
7 June 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Samantha R | Property representative |
Dear Kriskos - Sorry but the cabins don't have ensuite or loo facilites. Toilets are shared with the pub and there are two showers(a new 'block' of showers is being created).Breakfast is not provided but the pub restaurant... More
1
Vote
Claire G
24 April 2018|
Answer
Response from Keith W | Reviewed this property |
I think there are two steps down from the dining area but it is possible to eat in the lovely bar which is on the same level as the toilets. Best ring and check with Matt, the owner.
1
Vote
Jimaryholl
9 February 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Samantha R | Property representative |
The Greedy Goose still has a campsite. There are also custom-made wooden cabins available to book. Visit the website to have a look at what is on offer (search for thegreedygoosemoreton)
2
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Private Dining, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Groups, Romantic, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 21:00
Monday
12:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 22:00
Thursday
12:00 - 22:00
Friday
12:00 - 22:00
Saturday
12:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Salford Hill | The Cotswolds, Moreton-in-Marsh GL56 0SP, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cotswolds  >  Moreton-in-Marsh
  • Phone Number: +44 1608 646551
  • E-mail
Description
The Greedy Goose is a perfect retreat for anyone wanting to enjoy good quality food and drink. You can expect a very warm welcome whether you are meeting family, friends or need a unique venue in which to host an event. Inside this pretty Cotswold pub, you will find a space to suit every social occasion from cosy corners, a private dining room and a stylish restaurant. Good food is available for lunch and dinner and parties, celebrations and receptions can be catered for. There is a delicious selection of beers and wines to choose from and a lovely walled garden in which to enjoy a drink outside. If you love nights under the stars, the 25-pitch campsite and four custom-made cabins make The Greedy Goose an ideal base from which to tour the beautiful Cotswolds.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing