We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Reservoir

€€ - €€€Asian, Thai,
1 Howard Road, Brighton BN2 9TP, England
+44 1273 321400
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent58%
  • Very good21%
  • Average9%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“sunday roast” (4 reviews)
“pork” (3 reviews)
“pad thai” (3 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Asian, Thai, Pub, Bar, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
1 Howard Road, Brighton BN2 9TP, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

We actually had a take away and it also seemed very popular to sit down in the pub. I'm not surprised as the food was excellent and authentic!

Thank rajd68
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We went to what was one of my favourite pubs on Saturday evening (7 th April) having had good food there before. I went to the toilet which was filthy and smelly: I noticed that the doors and banisters were also dirty. I complained to...More

Thank brightonianm
Reviewed 16 February 2018

The Reservior serves a damn good thai curry, but we ventured down there on a friday night (8pm) and the music was so loud (and bad) that it was painful! I politely asked the bar man to turn it down (just a notch) and the...More

Thank tinaplus3
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

Decided to try as heard good things from friends. Wasn't disappointed had a mixed starter but not keen on fish cakes so asked to swap for something different, this was no problem at all. We had the mixed started then shared a pad Thai both...More

Thank Jasonoliviaella
Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile

Ordered food. Waited an hour. My partner went to the bar to ask where it was. Told 20 minutes. 40 minutes later it's not here, so I go the bar and ask. Barman denies it was ever ordered. Offers no apology and doesn't seem to...More

1  Thank Jenny0901
VickySticky, General Manager at The Reservoir, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2017

Hi Jenny, Thanks for the review. I'm sorry you had such a disappointing experience at The Res. I have tried to paint a picture of what led to this point by speaking to both the members of staff who were working that night. (Saturday). From...More

Reviewed 19 March 2017

Staying in Brighton for the weekend we were looking for a place for Sunday lunch - for four - having not booked! Having tried two pubs, without success, we came across The Reservoir, who were very accommodating. The roast beef, pork, and the vegetarian options...More

Thank kenbaines
VickySticky, General Manager at The Reservoir, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2017

Thank you very much for your helpful review. Much appreciated! We hope to see you again if you're in town.

Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

The roast I got didn't really justify the price. The meat was very average - I like a slab of pork not thin slices that have a tenancy to dry out. The gravy was also very thin and weak on taste and the potatoes felt...More

Thank vic79uk
Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

Well worth a visit, the food was good, and service was quick and friendly despite the pub being very busy. Added to that, some nice beers, and a range of well behaved dogs which is always good

Thank Ian J
Reviewed 1 February 2017 via mobile

Amazing cute pub with lovely staff. But the Thai food is authentic, tasty and reasonably priced. My favourite pub to go to for food

1  Thank h0llymcc
Reviewed 8 December 2016 via mobile

I've been coming to the Reservoir since moving to the area last April and I used to order a Thai from this place nearly every weekend! I loved their Panang Curry and Tom Kha soup. Last few months I haven't bothered ordering food because they...More

Thank Jesicca M
VickySticky, General Manager at The Reservoir, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2016

Hi Jessica, thank you for your review of The Reservoir. I'd like to firstly apologise for your disappointing experience of the food in particular. Let me try and figure out where we went wrong and hopefully regain your confidence as a customer; the Thai kitchen...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 43 hotels in Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
2,542 reviews
.93 km away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
1,602 reviews
1.08 km away
My Brighton
2,332 reviews
1.10 km away
Elysian Hotel
2 reviews
1.25 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Geese
174 reviews
.30 km away
Village
43 reviews
.06 km away
The Greys Pub
64 reviews
.32 km away
PizzaMe
23 reviews
.13 km away
Nearby Attractions
Kemptown
399 reviews
.51 km away
St Bartholomews
112 reviews
.72 km away
Brighton Racecourse
89 reviews
.59 km away
The Open Market
112 reviews
.62 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Reservoir staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1 Howard Road, Brighton BN2 9TP, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Sussex  >  Brighton and Hove  >  Brighton
  • Phone Number: +44 1273 321400
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing