We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Prince of Wales Pub

Certificate of Excellence
Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
47 Clarence Square, Brighton BN1 2ED, England
+44 1273 324391
Website
Today
12:00 - 21:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 22:00
Mon 12:00 - 16:00
Tue - Sat 12:00 - 21:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

55 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 50: English reviews
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Cracking food, good service and a friendly atmosphere - . Menu was varied and the food was freshly cooked.

Helpful?
Thank John C
Austria / UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were visiting Brighton from Austria and fell upon this pub on our first very tiring day after travelling. IIt was small and so friendly. Everyone was friendly with one another and everyone seemed to know the landlord. It was karaoke evening and everyone had a go (except us). The atmosphere was great. Although we were tired, we liked it... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gee_Zug
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2016

Decided to have one for the road here as it was right next to the bus stop..... walked into their karaoke night and ended up staying longer than planned as everyone was having so much fun, great entertainment value. I've always thought this looked like an old man's pub, I now know that it most definitely isn't!! Missed the bus,... More 

Helpful?
Thank ZoeBailey72
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2016 via mobile

Staff very friendly, great atmosphere, food was gorgeous and great vfm, AND Spitfire Gold on tap!! What more could you ask for?? 😁

Helpful?
Thank glennyb331
Level Contributor
68 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2016 via mobile

We visited the PoW and rented their Karaoke room in the basement. And it was great! We were a group of 12 guys and were made very welcome by the landlord and locals. They really looked after us and we couldn't be more happy. Much much cheaper than a local Karaoke bar. Ideal for a stag group that want to... More 

Helpful?
Thank dgh1234
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2016

The Prince of Wales - Shepherd Neame is a pub located in the city center, next to the bus stop. Decoration is classical, nothing metal or cyber feel. It suits a group of people drowning in live music (not loud to break your ear drum), talking with folks nearby, tasting the essence of beer, enjoying typical English snack or English... More 

Helpful?
Thank wwkysw
Castleford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2016

I visited this venue for Sunday lunch, and hosts were very friendly upon arrival and made me very welcome. When my roast beef dinner arrived, I could not believe the portion size, and I was definitely beaten on this occasion. The food was excellent, and I will look forward to visiting this pub again in the future.

Helpful?
Thank Darren J
Worthing, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2016

We love coming here when we take the train in to Brighton. The staff are always friendly and the beer is always great. Being the pub is quite small your only issues sometimes is getting a table. We tend to plan our visit when we know there will be some available.

Helpful?
1 Thank ukglenn999
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2016

Stopped here for a drink and some lunch with a friend as we were visiting the city for the day. The lady behind the bar was very friendly and our lunch was surprisingly good and nicely presented. The décor/furnishings and atmosphere in the place left a lot to be desired though, well worn doesn't even begin to describe it. It... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank j0die66
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

My friends and I got the worst treatment in this pub. We heard about the place through trip advisor and we have it a shot, as we got in the euro game was playing on the TV. We were 5 people and only two of us ordered drinks, the manager came to us saying "if you aren't ordering anything else... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tom M
Azzdex, Owner at Prince of Wales Pub, responded to this review

'Timing is everything' ...and this incident was untimely.... All the staff and customers alike pride ourselves in being welcoming, accommodating and friendly to all visitors, which I feel sure is borne out by the good response we generally receive from TripAdvisor guests. We had just settled our Sky Sports subscription at over £1200 per month and were discussing the value... More 

Travellers who viewed Prince of Wales Pub also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Prince of Wales Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$2 - US$19
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Television, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa
Good for
Cheap Eats, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:00
Monday
12:00 - 16:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 21:00
Thursday
12:00 - 21:00
Friday
12:00 - 21:00
Saturday
12:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 47 Clarence Square, Brighton BN1 2ED, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Sussex  >  Brighton and Hove  >  Brighton
  • Phone Number: +44 1273 324391
Description
Small familly pub serving food from 12 noon to 9pm daily. We Have Karaoke on Monday & Friday nights from 8pm. Open Mic night is on Wednesday night from 9pm and Live Music on Thursday & Sunday night from 8pm. Saturday night we have a DJ from 8pm. Live Sport is shown on our 3 screens and we show BT Sport and Sky Sports. Private hire Karaoke room now available for up to 15 people.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Prince of Wales Pub staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?