We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chaula's

2-3 Little East Street, Brighton BN1 1HT, England
+44 1273 771661
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent51%
  • Very good26%
  • Average7%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible11%
Travellers talk about
“thali” (40 reviews)
“curries” (24 reviews)
“prawn puri” (4 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Indian, Asian, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
2-3 Little East Street, Brighton BN1 1HT, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (364)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 361 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We ‘popped’ in one grey cloudy Thursday lunchtime and ordered the Thali. My sensible other half was trying very much to start his January diet...he didn’t stand a chance as this plate of the most flavoursome Indian food was placed before us. Great flavours, great...More

1  Thank debsdan
Shallu R, Manager at Chaula's, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you so much for your wonderful mentions, your comments are very much appreciated and exactly what we strive for here. Our staff make every effort to fulfill our guest expectations, nice to know our food and service are hitting the spot. See you again...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

This was the second time we have been here and will never go back again. Service is appalling - an hour and half wait for your main course in a near empty restaurant ( it was 6.30pm) and to make it worse there were three...More

1  Thank Christine R
Shallu R, Manager at Chaula's, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Dear Christine, Thank you very much for your feedback, we do apologies for your dining experience was disappointing. please accept my sincere apologies. the issues you mentioned above is been resolved now. I hope you gave us another opportunity to serve you again soon!! Kind...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited for a Christmas meal with work colleagues & came straight from work. I honestly cannot recall being served by two more un-hospitable grumpy waiters as we were met with upon entering this establishment. Food was OK but if the waiting staff cant be bothered...More

Thank Danny M
Shallu R, Manager at Chaula's, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you very much Danny for reviewing us. we do apologise for the experience you had with us. the issues have been mentioned are resolved now. Please provide us another opportunity to serve you again and we assure you that we not let you down...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a nice meal here last December so thought we would go back this December. Oh dear, what a change. Service was ok, but there was only one other table occupied. My main meal was too spicy even though it was meant to be...More

Thank BarbsD
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My second time to this restaurant. The food is good but spoiled this time by a really bad waiter who seemed to have a really bad attitude and forgot our orders. Very disappointing!More

Thank Rick S
Shallu R, Manager at Chaula's, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We are sorry we did not fulfill your expectations. but thank you for acknowledging the positives about our lovely food. we have recently employed a new service staff and the training is ongoing to ensure the service meets our high level of quality and expectation....More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A large group of friends and I visited recently. The waiters were quite unfriendly and not brilliant at remembering our orders (which I guess is understandable given how many of us there were, but there was no apology). They were also 'unable' to cater for...More

Thank jcg295
Shallu R, Manager at Chaula's, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to review us. we are sorry that your dining experience was disappointing. please accept my sincere apologies in regards to the experience you had on your last visit. we have recently employed a new service staff and the training...More

Reviewed 14 December 2017 via mobile

The waiter was surly and uninterested The food was poor and overspiced (even a korma was Madras hot!) Butterfly king prawn was not 1 large butterflied prawn,as I've always previously had,but several breaded prawns accompanied by an odd green sludge My husband's dirty knife was...More

Thank Alison H
Shallu R, Manager at Chaula's, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your time out to review us. We do apologies that we didn't quite hit the mark with you on this one. we are one of the busiest Indian restaurant in Brighton so, I am sure our Food is not that...More

Reviewed 7 December 2017

We enjoyed the vegetarian Thalis we had here a couple of years ago so thought we would revisit the restaurant again tonight. Unfortunately, since our last visit it seems the place has really gone downhill... Although the Thalis were still nice - the staff were...More

Thank Tibbs0675
Shallu R, Manager at Chaula's, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review us. we are sorry that your dining experience was disappointing. please accept my sincere apologies in regards to the experience you had on your last visit. we have recently employed a new service staff and the training...More

Reviewed 5 December 2017

We managed to grab a table on a busy Saturday night after googling the nearest curry restaurant to where we were. We got lucky as the food here was much better than we expected. Nothing too fancy or trying to be something it isn't -...More

Thank dharri1
Shallu R, Manager at Chaula's, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2017

Thank you very much for your time out to review us and it's glad to hear that you enjoy your meal. we got a few new staff members in our restaurant and trying our best to train them as best we can. your comments will...More

Reviewed 26 November 2017 via mobile

There were only 4 people in there when we ordered, after 45 minutes we had to ask where the food was, the man (manager?) sort of apologised and wandered off. By this time there were another 4 people who were getting served faster. The food...More

1  Thank Hobblyd
Shallu R, Manager at Chaula's, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2017

Thank you very much for reviewing us, we do apologies for the inconvenience you faced during you last visit in chaula's. Due to staff shortages we are currently facing, because of this it is having a knock on affect on our business and service is...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 43 hotels in Brighton
Queens Hotel
2,376 reviews
.07 km away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
937 reviews
.08 km away
Hostelpoint-Brighton
242 reviews
.15 km away
The Old Ship Hotel
2,380 reviews
.15 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Terre a Terre
2,332 reviews
.06 km away
Indian Summer
1,228 reviews
.04 km away
Plateau Brighton
800 reviews
.06 km away
Edendum
271 reviews
.04 km away
Nearby Attractions
Old Police Cells Museum
82 reviews
.05 km away
Zorian Artworks
47 reviews
.13 km away
Grosvenor Casino Brighton
58 reviews
.14 km away
Kellie Miller Arts
13 reviews
.10 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Chaula's staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$21 - US$35
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Delivery, Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Buffet, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
17:00 - 22:00
12:00 - 15:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 15:00
17:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 15:00
17:00 - 22:00
Thursday
12:00 - 15:00
17:00 - 22:00
Friday
12:00 - 15:00
17:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 15:00
17:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 2-3 Little East Street, Brighton BN1 1HT, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Sussex  >  Brighton and Hove  >  Brighton
  • Phone Number: +44 1273 771661
  • E-mail
Description
THE ULTIMATE EXPERIENCE IN TRADITIONAL HOME COOKED GUJARATI AND OTHER INDIAN REGIONAL FOOD. We began selling our home cooked food from our grocery shop in Lewes. The reaction was so positive that it inspired us to sell fresh, as well as frozen food throughout shops in Sussex and Surrey. We expanded the business and moved to Station Street in Lewes. Further success inspired us to open CHAULA'S INDIAN RESTAURANT IN LEWES 2007 AND IN BRIGHTON 2012. We believe that Indian cuisine is a combination of subtle taste. Flavours are as varied as the climate and exotic as the people of India. The appreciation of spices and combination is an acquired art and can only be achieved after many, many years of studied blending, cooking and tasting. At Chaula's, value our patron's opinions and concerns in the modern day world of health consciousness- our scrumptious food is prepared only with Sunflower Oil that is low cholesterol and freshly ground spices, without the use of artificial flavours and colourings. WE ONLY USE FRESH CHICKEN AND MEAT. I have worked very hard to perfect this fine art without compromising on taste and authenticity. We are confident that after sampling our culinary delights you would agree that there is nothing but the best at Chaula's. We take pride in welcoming you again and again. WE ARE RENOWNED FOR OUR SIGNATURE DISHES. "THE FOOD OF INDIA, NOT JUST INDIAN FOOD" We hope you enjoy the experience. -CHAULA & JANAK
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing