We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Brewers Arms Pub

€€ - €€€, British,
Burnside | Martinstown, Dorchester DT2 9LB, England
+44 1305 889361
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent71%
  • Very good24%
  • Average3%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
Open Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Burnside | Martinstown, Dorchester DT2 9LB, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (448)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 446 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago

Called in for lunch and received a warm welcome from the staff. The dog got a biscuit and we were delighted with the excellent food. Well cooked, well presented and a good choice. Bit disappointed in the beer the range of bitter on sale was...More

Thank Everesttallxx
Brewers Arms B, Owner at The Brewers Arms Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hey guys, Thanks for the review and your kind words - watch this space with regards to bottled beers - we are in the throes of changing from IPA's to richer Ruby/porter styles in line with the season! Hopefully we'll see you again soon!

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Bought drinks at the bar and then had a look at the menu. Ordered a burger and root veg pancake. The burger was overcooked and tough and the pancake was more fritter than pancake. Gave feedback when paying so they offered to take drinks that...More

Thank jimpauline
Brewers Arms B, Owner at The Brewers Arms Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Jim & Pauline, thanks for your feedback. Unfortunately Facebook has decided to call us a gastro pub (I'm trying to change this) we prefer family run village freehouse. We've had some excellent reviews for food, service and atmosphere as a pub/restaurant, but I can...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

On one of our Dorset Days out we came upon this pub and decided to give it a go . Wow superb and the welcome and service was First Class in every way and delivered with a sense of humour. The food was excellent ,one...More

2  Thank Wokboy60
Brewers Arms B, Owner at The Brewers Arms Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi guys - sorry we missed you and so pleased that you were well looked after in our absence. We are so lucky to have a great team that understand the importance of offering good service. Thank you for your kind words and hopefully we...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here overnight and from the welcoming arrival to the smile on departure everything about Ben, his staff and the way the Brewers is run is how a village pub should be. Add to that good food, beer and wine, accommodating an allergy, spacious...More

Thank STulip169
Ben C, Owner at The Brewers Arms Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hey Sarah - thanks for the kind words, I hope your day went well, the weather was lovely! Hopefully see you again. Many thanks.

Reviewed 24 September 2018

Since we were last here the pub has changed hands. They have kept the majority of the original menu and the food is just as good as ever. Service with a smile. Huge portions. When you book you can choose between eating in the restaurant...More

Thank janetgonegardening
Ben C, Owner at The Brewers Arms Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2018

Hi Janet, Thanks for you kind words and I'm pleased you had a nice visit - just in case you were I'll advised we have been here 2 years now. I appreciate you may not have been back for a while tho, but didn't want...More

Reviewed 16 September 2018

I can't understand why this pub has such good reviews for the food. It boasts 'Home Cooked Food' outside and it looks good but it’s very disappointing. We had the crab cakes and the free range chicken burger. Two crab cake balls were served with...More

Thank Alan R
Ben C, Owner at The Brewers Arms Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2018

Hello Alan, Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to the Brewers Arms. I take nothing away from your opinions, and feedback is always important to us. However, your comments and speculations are inaccurate throughout. We always encourage feedback from customers while...More

Reviewed 14 September 2018

We were lucky enough to get a last minute booking on a Thursday night and we were not disappointed with the fabulous food & staff. We both had steak for our meals I would recommend it. It was a fabulous piece of ribeye that came...More

Thank Amber M
Ben C, Owner at The Brewers Arms Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2018

Hey Amber, thank you for your review - so pleased you enjoyed the rib-eyes, it's my favourite too! See you again hopefully!

Reviewed 28 August 2018 via mobile

Lovely little village pub. We had a simple but tasty lunch & good service. Loved the layout making it feel really spacious & airy.

Thank MissFoodLover1
Ben C, Owner at The Brewers Arms Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2018

Thank you lover of food! Hopefully we shall see you again for more of the same!

Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

Took our family of 8 for Sunday roast. Lovely friendly welcome, quick with service. Get the impression a locals pub, which made for a great atmosphere. Would highly recommend.

Thank Vicky O
Ben C, Owner at The Brewers Arms Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2018

Hello Vicky, thanks for your kind words and so happy you enjoyed your roasts - we have a great local crowd and it certainly helps with the ambiance of the place - thankfully they are all happy the share their local 😊!

Reviewed 17 August 2018 via mobile

Stopped here for lunch while waiting for our holiday let to be ready. Very friendly staff and great menu choice. Big portions, quality feel to the actual menu making it feel like a high price restaurant almost, clean toilets and set in a lovely little...More

Thank Brian B
Ben C, Owner at The Brewers Arms Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2018

Cheers Brian! Glad you enjoyed your time with us - I hope the holiday went well and fingers crossed you'll be back again soon!

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 6 hotels in Dorchester
Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel
450 reviews
4.83 km away
Premier Inn Dorchester
1,083 reviews
4.84 km away
Junction Hotel
134 reviews
4.87 km away
The Casterbridge
179 reviews
5.34 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Poet Laureate
246 reviews
3.51 km away
Bonjour
77 reviews
3.25 km away
The Georgie Porgie Pie & Burger Co
255 reviews
4.50 km away
The Potting Shed
30 reviews
3.24 km away
Nearby Attractions
Dorset CycleLife
5 reviews
2.99 km away
Wolfeton House
21 reviews
4.76 km away
Shire Hall Historic Courthouse Museum
92 reviews
4.94 km away
The Keep Military Museum
239 reviews
4.63 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Tony B
30 November 2017|
Answer
Response from 457leannec | Property representative |
It certainly is - we shall have the fire burning away for your arrival and a small treat for the dog when you arrive - please make sure that you book though - its getting very busy with Christmas fast approaching.
0
Votes
Dogfriendly123
11 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from rickjs | Reviewed this property |
There is no charge for a dog staying with you
0
Votes
sylviarippon
14 June 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from ep2008 | Reviewed this property |
The owners are very friendly and even if this is not something they necessarily "do" I am sure they would be happy to sort something out for you.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$12 - US$21
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Reservations, Validated Parking
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 16:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Burnside | Martinstown, Dorchester DT2 9LB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Dorset  >  Dorchester
  • Phone Number: +44 1305 889361
  • E-mail
Description
Traditional country pub with large car park in the beautiful village of Martinstown just outside Dorchester. Homemade, locally sourced food, real ales and dog friendly. Two fully ensuite spacious Bed and Breakfast rooms - one with wheelchair access and wet room. Quiz Nights, Curry Nights, Sunday Roasts and weekly food specials.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing