We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Brewers Arms Pub

€€ - €€€, British,
Burnside | Martinstown, Dorchester DT2 9LB, England
+44 1305 889361
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent71%
  • Very good24%
  • Average3%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
€€ - €€€
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Burnside | Martinstown, Dorchester DT2 9LB, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (414)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 413 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Visited without a booking and was lucky to be able to get a table, friendly bar lady who along with the locals made us feel really welcome. The meal was fantastic, really tasty and well cooked. Wish we’d found it on earlier visits to the...More

Thank Martin B
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have been to this pub many times as I love sitting outside in the courtyard. The staff/owners are very friendly. Drinks, whether beer or non-alcoholic, are excellent. I have two issues: 1 The lunch menu is quite dull (sandwiches, baked potatoes and a plougherman’s...More

1  Thank AL_reviewer_2014
Leanne C, Owner at The Brewers Arms Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Guys, Thank you for your comments. The lunchtime menu is a guide for quick lite bites, the full menu is available both lunch and evening and does include a burger. I'm sorry you didn't get the correct portion size for the salad - I...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Always a warm welcome, at this homely, local village pub. Well positioned for a stroll behind the streets of this ancient Winterborne. Dependable food. Not exciting but pretty good value. Staff very cheerful and helpful. But please note Brewers Arms, your coffee needs attention! Week...More

Thank Kristin777374
Ben C, Owner at The Brewers Arms Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Kristin, Thanks for your kind words. Your feedback on the coffee has been noted and we shall ask for more feedback from all customers. Many thanks Ben

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a very attractive pub, old but light and airy with simple decor, rather Scandinavian. The staff were very welcoming and greeted my dog with a treat. Dogs are welcome in part of the restaurant. I had the small helping of fish cake and...More

Thank ann a
Ben C, Owner at The Brewers Arms Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Ann, So pleased you enjoyed the pub and the decor, the fish cakes are a favourite for many and as for the pie - well I blame Mary Berry for that debate! Thanks again and hopefully see you soon!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A place to meet that was half way between Hampshire and Devon was needed so that the family could celebrate a 70th birthday. We chose The Brewers Arms and it turned out to be a great choice. Great atmosphere, good home cooked food of generous...More

Thank John A
Ben C, Owner at The Brewers Arms Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

So pleased you had a good celebration and we looked after you ok. Here's to the next 70! 😊

Reviewed 15 April 2018

We had a lovely meal here, pre-booked a table for 9, 6 adults 3 children, such a lovely atmosphere, nothing was too much and the food was really good, after dessert we played cards at the table whilst drinking tea, my husband and daughter found...More

1  Thank Sheryl-lynne L
Ben C, Owner at The Brewers Arms Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Thank you! Glad you enjoyed your time with us!

Reviewed 15 April 2018

Table for 9 people, we all had our food at the same time, piping hot. The roast dinner was lovely, with a wide range of veg. My husband had the now famous steak and Stilton pie and was not disappointed! The children had their own...More

Thank Kittycor80
Ben C, Owner at The Brewers Arms Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

We are so pleased you had a good afternoon guys! Thanks again!

Reviewed 8 April 2018

This pub is brilliantly dog friendly. The staff gave ours treats, so she wants to go again! Great food, lovely staff and nice outdoors area if the sun comes out. We were lucky on our first visit and got the last table in the bar...More

1  Thank barbwNewbury
Reviewed 28 March 2018 via mobile

Had a lovely evening meal with my other half and our 3 year old. Staff were very welcoming and friendly, as well as the other local patrons. Food and drinks were very good and quickly served. Well recommended.

Thank Adam W
Reviewed 3 March 2018 via mobile

My friend and I came here for lunch with our old friend David, a local resident. Upon entering one immediately feels the warmth and welcoming ambience amidst a really well designed and pleasing interior. We were introduced to the charming landlord/proprietor with whom I enjoyed...More

Thank PutneySW
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 6 hotels in Dorchester
Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel
414 reviews
4.83 km away
Premier Inn Dorchester
1,010 reviews
4.84 km away
Junction Hotel
122 reviews
4.89 km away
The Casterbridge
173 reviews
5.34 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Poet Laureate
220 reviews
3.51 km away
Bonjour
71 reviews
3.25 km away
The Potting Shed
26 reviews
3.24 km away
Bramble Cafe & Deli
124 reviews
3.04 km away
Nearby Attractions
Dorset CycleLife
5 reviews
2.99 km away
The Keep Military Museum
212 reviews
4.63 km away
Wolfeton House
15 reviews
4.76 km away
Maiden Castle
312 reviews
2.81 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Tony B
30 November 2017|
Answer
Response from Leanne C | Property representative |
It certainly is - we shall have the fire burning away for your arrival and a small treat for the dog when you arrive - please make sure that you book though - its getting very busy with Christmas fast approaching.
0
Votes
Joyce L
11 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from rickjs | Reviewed this property |
There is no charge for a dog staying with you
0
Votes
sylviarippon
14 June 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from ep2008 | Reviewed this property |
The owners are very friendly and even if this is not something they necessarily "do" I am sure they would be happy to sort something out for you.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$12 - US$22
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Reservations, Validated Parking
Good for
Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 16:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Burnside | Martinstown, Dorchester DT2 9LB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Dorset  >  Dorchester
  • Phone Number: +44 1305 889361
  • E-mail
Description
Traditional country pub with large car park in the beautiful village of Martinstown just outside Dorchester. Homemade, locally sourced food, real ales and dog friendly. Two fully ensuite spacious Bed and Breakfast rooms - one with wheelchair access and wet room. Quiz Nights, Curry Nights, Sunday Roasts and weekly food specials.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;