We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

O'Neill's Bournemouth

231 Old Christchurch Road, Bournemouth BH1 1JZ, England
+44 1202 312174
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent32%
  • Very good38%
  • Average14%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible12%
Travellers talk about
“side salad” (2 reviews)
“salmon” (2 reviews)
“great pub” (6 reviews)
Open Now
Hours
CUISINES
Irish, Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
PRICE
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
231 Old Christchurch Road, Bournemouth BH1 1JZ, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Love this pub whenever I'm in Bournemouth it's my first stop. All the staff are awesome very friendly and personable. Apart from one that I find rude and unprofessional but hey ho I still think the place is awesome. I would highly recommended this pub...More

Thank Tony W
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at O'Neill's Bournemouth, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Tony W, thank you for the high star rating! We look forward to your next visit! Take care!

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Went out for a meal had to wait about 50 minutes. And when the food came it was cold.we both had colcannon which the cabbage was raw . I had the stew which was very cold . Could let any one know as it was...More

Thank michaelabullock1
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at O'Neill's Bournemouth, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We are sorry you did not enjoy your experience, We hope to see you again in the very near future where we can hope to make it a 5 star visit. Thanks John

Reviewed 12 August 2018 via mobile

Stopped here for a few drinks whilst having evening out with work colleagues whilst on business in the town. Drinks were pretty cheap however bar staff were surly, looked like they were going to a grunge festival and later in the evening refused to serve...More

Thank bulldog19
General Manager A, Manager at O'Neill's Bournemouth, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2018

Good evening Bulldog19. I am disappointed you had a negative experience with us last time out. Without such feedback it is hard for us to grow as a business and we appreciate you taking the time to write such a detailed review. In particular, I...More

Reviewed 8 August 2018 via mobile

First the positive things and they are just one the terrace .. I've been to this supposed pub a few times ... the employees are not friendly ... at the end of the week there is never ice for drinks and they are not really...More

Thank ClaudiaAndreiaA
GeneralManagerA765, Manager at O'Neill's Bournemouth, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Claudia, We are sorry your visit did not meet your expectations, we will take all of your comments on board. thank you for your review. See you again soon John

Reviewed 19 June 2018 via mobile

Visited the pub for lunch with my partner recently and sat outside in huge beer garden. Fantastic pizzas and good prices for the area. Young girl working on lower bar with bright coloured hair was very helpful and suggested we tried the hop House which...More

Thank musiclover09
General Manager A, Manager at O'Neill's Bournemouth, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Good afternoon musiclover, I have already written a response to your review but it's showing as not posted. I'll write another one but I apologise in advance if you have already received one. Thank you very much for rating us so highly :) Hophouse is...More

Reviewed 12 June 2018 via mobile

After a great start following the really nice re-ferb the food has gone well down hill , the tatooed bar maids are rude and ageist The place looks grubby , the sports coverage is good but really much too loud Get your act together or...More

1  Thank romaine2013
General Manager A, Manager at O'Neill's Bournemouth, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Good evening Romaine, We at O'Neill's are extremely disappointed about your latest experience with us. In particular we are not happy with the service you received, nor the food you ate. We will be speaking to all our staff about this and hope next time...More

Reviewed 11 June 2018

Very good atmosphere at any time. You can go for a burguer (as we did) and a beer at the bar, then you can watch the best of the sport (boxing, football) or grab a drink and enjoy the good weather in its nice terrace...More

Thank Bea B
General Manager A, Manager at O'Neill's Bournemouth, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Good evening, Thank you very much for your positive review. We are glad you enjoyed every aspect of your visit. We hope to see you again. Many thanks Jimmy

Reviewed 1 May 2018

I visited O'Neills for a bar meal and to watch the football one evening when I was visiting my head office in Bournemouth. I ordered a mixed grill and settled down with a pint of Peroni waiting for the football to start. My food was...More

Thank smiler1956
General Manager A, Owner at O'Neill's Bournemouth, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2018

Good afternoon, We at O'Neill's are delighted you enjoyed your time with us on your last visit. Although we are slightly disappointed your mixed grill wasn't to a great standard the first time round we are happy you received excellent service and that the situation...More

Reviewed 4 April 2018

We had been planning on Wetherspoons but didn’t like the look of it so ended up here. Looks like it has been recently decorated and seemed tidy if a bit spartan. Only one cask ale on tap which was a bit disappointing. Food was OK...More

Thank helenakitt
General Manager A, Manager at O'Neill's Bournemouth, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Hi Helena, Thank you for your 3 star review, during the week we only have one or sometimes two cask ales on as these are not a massive seller, Our food is a country mile better than Weather spoons. it is mentioned in 3 different...More

Reviewed 19 March 2018 via mobile

Top compliments to the staff who under the busiest times were polite friendly attentive and ensured that everyone was served with a smile. Guinness was smooth and the clients were all on top form. Cheers

Thank Lee B
General Manager A, Manager at O'Neill's Bournemouth, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

Hi Lee, Thank you for your great comments, St patricks day in the pub was fantastic and everyone was super happy, Our Guinness is fantastic and we hope to see you again in the near future. Thanks John

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 66 hotels in Bournemouth
Roundhouse Hotel Bournemouth
1,030 reviews
.09 km away
Burley Court Hotel
299 reviews
.12 km away
The Mayfair Hotel - Oceana Collection
346 reviews
.14 km away
Grosvenor Hotel
1 review
.15 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Hungry Oven
194 reviews
.03 km away
Dosa World
423 reviews
.01 km away
Korean Grill
158 reviews
.06 km away
Noodle bar bournemouth
246 reviews
.06 km away
Nearby Attractions
Russell-Cotes Art Gallery & Museum
1,873 reviews
.56 km away
O'Neill's Bournemouth
18 reviews
.00 km away
Heroes Bournemouth
12 reviews
.03 km away
Sharkey’s Pool
34 reviews
.09 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from O'Neill's Bournemouth staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$9 - US$14
Cuisine
Irish, Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 00:00
Monday
09:00 - 00:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 00:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 00:00
Thursday
09:00 - 00:00
Friday
09:00 - 02:00
Saturday
09:00 - 02:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 231 Old Christchurch Road, Bournemouth BH1 1JZ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Dorset  >  Bournemouth
  • Phone Number: +44 1202 312174
  • E-mail
Description
You'll always find a warm welcome at O'Neill's in Bournemouth. Ours is a place where you're free to go with the flow. Where great food and drink is always served with a smile. And where, no matter whether you're a regular or a newcomer, our friendly team will make you feel at home. Irish pubs are known for their hospitality - a point we love proving here at O'Neill's in Bournemouth. We are one of the best pubs in Bournemouth for Irish food, drink and atmosphere. Come and see for yourself - drop by for a bite to eat, to watch some sport, to enjoy our live music or just for the craic. Slainte!
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing