We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Barrel House

€€ - €€€
European, British, Contemporary
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
59 High Street, Totnes TQ9 5PB, England
+44 1803 849290
Website
Wednesday
Closed
Hours:
Fri - Mon 09:00 - 16:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

68 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 67: English reviews
Cornwall
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2016

We only popped in for a quick pre-dinner pint but we were served cloudy beer - didn't complain because my wife hates a fuss so just didn't bother drinking it. Noticed that all three cask ales being served were cloudy. Bit surprising for a brewwhouse really

Helpful?
Thank kernowboy
Cornwall
Level Contributor
69 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2015 via mobile

We popped in to check out the venue as we were watching a band there (upstairs in the ballroom) that evening. Hummmmm, it's taking shabby chic to the extreem. A sort of price list scrawled on a blackboard and probably the smallest cluttered bar in Totnes or even Devon. Craft beer was nice near perfect in fact but tapping close... More 

Helpful?
12 Thank kernowlobster
Totnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2015

Great food, especially Sunday brunch in a warm and inviting grand house of Totnes. Their micro brewer produces excellent beers too.

Helpful?
Thank BlueGeranium
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2015

Disappointing again.Not much choice of night spots in Totnes so needs must.They get decent musicians and some of the DJ's are good.The problem is the lay out and the unpleasant pushing and shoving around the bar and parts of the dance floor,at £4.50 a pint you don't want to be spilling it.And why oh why do the staff sport those... More 

Helpful?
14 Thank Dave D
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2015

Have visited twice in the past few months, on the first visit we had the American pancakes with bacon and maple syrup and the bacon and brie (I think) panini. Both were delicious (we shared) and good portion sizes - food was piping hot and didn't take long to arrive! Coffee was great, had a chocolate brownie for desert which... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank IBOldfield
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
203 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2015 via mobile

Visited here for breakfast with friends recently. We ordered 6 cooked breakfasts. One arrived within 5 minutes of ordering. The other 5 came between 20-30 minutes later. When the food did arrive it was average and the service was so substandard that we kept having to ask for additional items - things that you'd expect as standard from table service... More 

Helpful?
12 Thank 0908267
sarahkidd1970, Owner at The Barrel House, responded to this review

You and your friends should have checked your facts b4 posting your fake reviews - we have closed the cafe operation and we are Now an evening music venue only. We are pursuing our legal options following this campaign - we know who instigated it - for the purposes of the general public - said person walked into a door... More 

Torquay
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2015 via mobile

So we popped in for lunch, was brutally disapointed as they only vegan options was out of stock, the staff were rude and not at all apologetic! We politely requested a refund and canceled the food order, they looked very unhappy about this and took 20 mins to sort it. Heard such good things but the rude staff and lack... More 

Helpful?
13 Thank TheTeenTour
sarahkidd1970, Owner at The Barrel House, responded to this review

Hi - Im really sorry you were dissapointed - my understanding was that you were actually offered a few options from the menu as most of our food can be adapted for vegans - in particular you were offered the veggie breakfast but without cheese and the soup? Apart from the paninis nearly everything on the menu is or can... More 

Totnes
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2015

This place is certainly unique if you like slow service,long waits,food which is cold when it eventually arrives and a staff who seem to feel it is a privilege for them to deign to serve you. Obviously this is Totnes and part of the charm is the otherwordly lack of discipline or regard for social and commercial norms .....but hey....there... More 

Helpful?
15 Thank Stephen J
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2015

I have been meaning to post this review for some time. I came with friends for an informal meal and had high hopes. We were, frankly, disappointed with how slowly the food arrived. One of our party found that her food was not properly hot but when she told staff, they were unsympathetic and unhelpful. We shall not be revisiting... More 

Helpful?
13 Thank Spurssarah
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2015 via mobile

Always great coming here with wee ones. Loads of space for them to play without getting in the way of others. Good music, well located. Enjoy coming here.

Helpful?
Thank Taz B

Travellers who viewed The Barrel House also viewed

 

Been to The Barrel House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$5 - US$10
Cuisine
European, British, Contemporary
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Seating, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Free Wifi, Reservations
Good for
Groups, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 16:00
Monday
09:00 - 16:00
Friday
09:00 - 16:00
Saturday
09:00 - 16:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 59 High Street, Totnes TQ9 5PB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Devon  >  Totnes
  • Phone Number: +44 1803 849290
Description
The Barrel House Cafe and restaraunt is now closed - the Barrel House Ballroom on the second floor is only open for gigs and private events - please not do leave reviews for The Totnes Brewing Company here - that is a seperate business. We are currently waiting for Trip Advisor to close this account as it does not represent the businesses now occupying the building.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Barrel House and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Barrel House staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?